Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll make you laugh
From Dalliance to Octupussy not one bad track on the album, in fact there are too many stand out tracks to justify a rational review. Recently I met up with a couple of friends & we did our top ten tracks of all time - it was a toss up between Cordurouy, Dalliance, Heather & Rotterdam. But along with the Pixies Doolittle this is a complete album, songs do not stand out,...
Published on 13 May 2004 by superfurry badger

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best, but worth buying
Bought this album as I was seeing the band on tour, and I didn't have it in my collection. It is definitely worth a listen, but it's no Bizarro or George Best.
Published 15 months ago by S. J. Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll make you laugh, 13 May 2004
This review is from: Seamonsters (Audio CD)
From Dalliance to Octupussy not one bad track on the album, in fact there are too many stand out tracks to justify a rational review. Recently I met up with a couple of friends & we did our top ten tracks of all time - it was a toss up between Cordurouy, Dalliance, Heather & Rotterdam. But along with the Pixies Doolittle this is a complete album, songs do not stand out, they are an integral part of a time & an atmosphere. Whereas Bizarro was a collection of post punk angst ridden love songs, Seamonsters is far more positive & Steve Albini has transformed quirky Englishness into bitter tales of love, gained & lost played at breakneck speed. They would never be this good again (with the sole exception of "Click,click from Watusi) I saw them twice in 1992 & they remain the best band I ever saw live. If you like the Smiths get George Best, which has humour wedded(no pun intended) with distinctive guitar. But if you want to hear out & out rock - tales of love, lost, never attained, or spurned buy this album. Dave Gedge is still recording fantastic material with Cinerama but Seamonsters is a must have, an album far heavier than Nevermind, knocks spot of Nevermind, & uses more feedback than even Hendrix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the many highpoints of the early 90's..., 8 Aug 2001
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seamonsters (Audio CD)
The reissue of 'Seamonsters' is extremely welcome, as my tape is just about worn out...So, here we are- that brilliant ten track album, complete with the b-sides of the 'Dalliance', 'Lovenest' & the '3 Songs' e.p. of 1990...For anyone that appreciates Steve Albini's 'production' (recorded by...)- here is one of his best jobs. As good as his previous work with Pixies, Jesus Lizard & Breeders; up there with his own Rapeman/Shellac records...The Weddoes had taken their jingly-jangly blend of C-86, The Smiths etc. to their limit on the brilliant 'Bizarro'. The guitar destruction of 'Take Me' is evidence of this; they also seemed to have tired of the pop-side of songs like 'Nobody's Twisting your arm' & 'My favourite Dress'...You have to move on, or you will stagnate (as the Weddoes would find out after 'THe Hit Parade')...The indicators of the shift the Weddoes would make are shown on the 'Brassneck'& '3 Songs' e.p.'s. These were their first work with Steve Albini and the harsh guitar-work sounded at odds with lazy baggie mish like 'I'm Free' or 'Groovy Train' (the current re-cycled vomit)...This has more in common with the noises of MBV's 'Glider' or 'Bleach' by Nirvana (another harsh guitar record, with hooks & emotions beneath)...'Dalliance' is the opener (and one of the singles of the decade!)which starts & builds to a guitar-mass closer to Sonic Youth or the dub-guitar hell of XTC's 'Travels in Nihilon' or 'No Language in our Lungs'. By the time the final wave of guitars come in, you are blown away; this is the best loud music! (Oh, and the songs another one of those Gedge heartbreakers!)...The record just flows- oh, here is another classic ('Suck') & another ('Dare'). This is Indie music, with balls!...The centrepiece of 'Lovenest' into a fresh annihlation of 'Corduroy' is best; this is the crowning moment of the Weddoes career...A real heartbreaker; as MBV they seemed to be annihilating guitars (which is why the pop that followed always seemed a bit of a compromise). My only confusion is why the 'Brassneck' ep is on the 'Bizarro' reissue- as 'Don't talk just kiss', Albini's 'Brassneck' & their forward thinking cover of (then unknown) Pavement's 'Box Elder' would make more sense here...Saying that, 'Crawl' & their fantastic cover of 'Come up & See Me (Make me Smile)' piddles over the original 78...This record would influence PJ Harvey's 'Rid of Me' and would provide evidence that British guitars were once great (I'm thinking of Spacemen 3, My Bloody Valentine, Cocteau Twins, Julian Cope's 'Safesurfer'; Joy Division; XTC...)If you feel you have to buy 'Nevermind' or 'Screamadelica' - those bastions of Millennium lists, 'Pet Sounds'/'Revolver'/'Bends'-type reverance; get this too. Really, at the correct volume it will blow your mind & wipe up the floor of your emotions. The polar opposite of the excellent 'HIgher than the Sun'; if you listen to both you have an idea of the fine balance between agony & ecstasy. PURCHASE NOW!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please: ENTER, 5 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Seamonsters (Audio CD)
What can I say about 'Seamonsters'??

This album blew me away on release and still does to this day. 1 of my top 5 albums of all time.

This album came out just as 'Madchester' was on the wain,and shoegaze was de rigour, but David Gedge was always a step ahead, beautifully crafted songs from the heart. Songs about REAL things. The album, that to me, most connects to how it is to be a man and the heartbreak that we cannot express. The condition of being unable to express emotion using language.

It's really what ISNT said in this record that makes this album so powerful and really sets up countless imitators in the 90's. They never did it as well, or as so heartbreakingly as the Weddoes.

This is an essential album. Steve Albini gives, to me, his career defining production moment, something he would never recapture, even 'In Utero' pales. I'm sure Kurt knew this.....

Is there hope? maybe. Maybe not.

Buy. Listen. Then listen again. Feel.

Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The albini treatment, 6 Mar 2006
By 
David Johnson "El Burrito" (Buenos Aires) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seamonsters (Audio CD)
I love this. I hadn´t listened to it or owned for years and so decided to snap up the re-vamped version. It´s worth every penny.
A few eyebrows were raised when The Wedding Present recorded with Steve Albini but here you can see why it did them a power of good.
Albiní takes the cotton wool off this band, David Gedge´s lyrics have moved on a bit here and are not so simple. This album is more brooding than the earlier Wedding Present efforts
and this is highlighted by the understated yet manacing,"dalliance." I love the power chord in,"blond," and the tinny drumming on,"rotterdam," a typical Albini production tweak. This is a great song, I love the honesty of David Gedge´s strained vocal. "Lovenest," koos along, all the songs feel more inventive musically than the previous Wedding Present stuff. The bursts of guitar noise add a great touch.
This lovely collection of songs hasn´t dated in the slightest and I think you have to give credit to the brilliant production on the album for that.
I also love the bonus tracks. "Make me smile," for example is given a real a real blistering working-over. I also like "Niagara" and "Dan Dare." This is noisy guitar pop at it´s very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best guitar albums ever!, 21 Nov 2010
By 
M. Harrison "Johny Cash" (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seamonsters (Audio CD)
This album is just fantastic and thankfully Gedge is still playing songs from it live. There are very few albums that, once you reach the end, you just have to turn the stereo off because nothing can follow it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...but it's not all doom and gloom..., 4 Aug 2002
This review is from: Seamonsters (Audio CD)
This was the album when the weddoes left behind the C86 jangly guitar formula which had served them so well and turned to a more sombre sound. The album has the atmosphere of an illicit tryst indoors in a torrential rainstorm, and is awash with tales of doomed romance and betrayal; but it's not just an album to listen to when the world's against you; the bonus tracks include one of the cheeriest things they ever recorded (make me smile). In fact, if you fancy a good sulk, it's probably best to program your CD player to stop at track 10.
I've awarded it 5 stars, but, to be honest, I'd award most Wedding Present albums 5 stars. If your going to buy this (which I really think you should), you should probably also buy Bizarro to hear the other side of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Albini does C86, 2 Jun 2003
By 
McBilbo (Tylers Green, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seamonsters (Audio CD)
Just when the Weddos looked to be running out of steam and rehashing the same tunes, they enlisted the talents of Steve Albini. His production skills combined with the material the Weddos had written created on of the finest guitar albums ever recorded. A mix of catchy rifts and avent garde guitar work make this a true tour de force. It is almost impossible to rate any of the tracks individually as they are all of such a high standard but Dalliance and Heather do stand out for me. This album is a must buy for any fans of guitar based music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seamonsters (Audio CD)
Thoroughly recommend this mid-period work from The Weddoes. If you like their earlier stuff then you will not be disappointed with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stupendous, 8 Dec 2012
By 
S. A. Thorne "thornebaa" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seamonsters (Audio CD)
A long loved album from my past- found the old tape gathering dust so I bought it again. A fabulous buy with a lot of extra tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best wedding present album, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seamonsters (Audio CD)
every track on this is superb.perhaps i like it so much because its a lot heavier than thier other stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabc9524c)

This product

Seamonsters
Seamonsters by The Wedding Present
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews