Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its System, exactly how we know it!, 23 April 2003
Well, I had to get this album the week it came out. As a huge follower of System, it was one that just belonged on my rack next to their self titled and Toxicity.
First time I listened to it, I didnt know what to expect as I had read it was all the tracks that didnt fit onto the previous two. When Chic'n'stu came on, it struck me as their typical style, using oddities to represent different meanings, but the track as an opener was doomed from the start with predesesors as Suit Pee and Prison Song being the targets to live up to. The rest of the album, gave the feel that it was more of a system compilation instead of an album, and it is true that the tracks definetly wouldnt of fit on the previous albums. The rest of the disc was filled with awesome but misfitted tracks such as Boom! and I-E-A-I-A-I-O.
By the end of the album, aside from feeling like I had been battered by a sound barrage that System manages with all of its songs, I was pleased to have bought it. The awesome powers of self-titled and Toxicity needed a follow up with directed meanings, which I feel STA! did. And it was good to finally have F**k the System on CD.
I say, if your a System follower, GET THIS ALBUM. If your not, start from the beginning. This is System for the systemoholics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Show's SOAD's Quality, 29 Mar. 2003
By 
Mr. GJ Borrows "[green eyes]" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As you can see, I've given this album 5 stars. Then you may be shocked to here that this is SOAD'S worst album to date, thus showing an incredible quality. People may say I should say this is C- album with A* tracks, but I can't!
This album was a trawl through the archives. Actually, it wasn't so much of a trawl, because Johnny isn't on it, and if you've heard it, you'll be disappointed it wasn't included. The album shows a more acoustic side to SOAD with tracks such as Ego Brainand the immense Roulette portraying an unknown finger picking quality of Daron Malakian.
Speaking of Daron Malakian, in this album, his vocality is a lot more present, on some tracks duetting with Serj's powerful voice to give a more edgy effect. Shavo (bass), has a better bass line, especially with Innervision and Mr. Jack. percussion is keeping things tight, with some originality thrown in to shake of the air drummers like myself.
Overall, the standout tracks for me are Innervision, Mr. Jack, Ego Brain and my favourite from the album, Roulette. However, for some strange reason, they have chosen to realese Boom! for their first single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite an album, but still pretty good!, 2 Dec. 2002
System of a Down have said that this album is not merely a collection of B sides and rarities that have been available on the internet, but rather a fully fledged album that is the follwo-up to Toxicity. This reviewer disagrees.
The album itself is almost faultless classic System - the raucous shouts of Serj, the amazing guitar from Malkian and the independant streak of Armenian-ness about it."Chic N Stu" is a comical opener about going to the fridge and getting a slice of pizza. Add a touch of System magic, and its tranformed into a song concerning the manipulation of consumerism through advertising! Stand out tracks off the album include: "F*** The System" (lovely nonsensical Serj at his best) and "Innervision".
Whilst most of the album is solid System stuff, we get the feeling that rather than being rather memorable, some of the tracks just slip away a little becoming rather forgettable even after a few plays. The album also lacks the sense of a flowing album that its predecessor 'Toxicity' has.
However for the aduent fan, or lovers of 'Toxicity', this is a must-have. The CD comes in 4 different designs by each band member (Serj's is the best) and the CD has no inlay card. The idea is you place the CD in your PC and log onto the System site to access a special area where you can find all the lyrics and credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steal This Album, 27 Oct. 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Although less coherent than their other albums dues to it's 'unplanned' and outtakes nature, this is still a powerful album from an outstanding band. You still get the raw riffs and lyrics, all packaged in SOAD unique style. I love this album, as I do all their music, and would say it is worth it for 'Boom' alone, just listen to the lyrics on it and be blown away. An intelligent, rockin' band, with a lot to say in as fun a way as possible. Highly recommended.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 23 Jan. 2004
By 
Andy (Lpool, UK) - See all my reviews
If you like deep lyrics, then this is your album. The lyrics are unbelievable as well as very political, you can only tell if you listen hard as some are hidden in the melee of drum and stop/start style guitars of SOAD. This album is a true credit to SOAD, it is ten times better than toxicity and twice as good as their first one (which is incredible in itself). You need this album! If you've not listened to these guys before, you need to, you're missing something huge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Album, 2 Jan. 2003
By 
Sam (Surrey, United kingdom) - See all my reviews
When i was told of SOADS new release i couldnt wait! Being a massive soad fan for years now i was not dissapointed! From the opening song "chick "n" stu" you just know that this will be a classic! Serj has injected a strong armenian influence into a majority of the songs on this album and it does make the difference! Also Malakian plays a more vocal role in this album, as well as playing harmonic and punchy guitar riffs. However, for a first time SOAD listener, i dont recommend steal this album. This is because of the fact that these songs are essentially outtakes of TOXICITY. Thus, Many listeners might not like the songs. This album is essentially for "experienced" fans!!For first-time listeners, i recommend Toxicity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the rest, 5 April 2003
Many people here saying if your not already a SOAD fan, then get Toxicity first. Also, it is outtakes from toxicity.
This is not altogether true - some of the tracks were simply not ready for the release of toxicity, so ended up here.
This was the first SOAD CD I heard, and I was immediately hooked.
This is a great album to get to know SOAD by. Forget what you've read and steal it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Was a gift, 2 Sept. 2013
By 
M. Gonzalez - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steal This Album! [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
It was a gift for my Daughter and she is very happy well she is a fan of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOAD - Steal This Album, 5 Sept. 2003
EXCELLENT!!! what can i say! when toxicity came out, i thought they would have a tough job to do a better album than that......
but they've proved me wrong! can't fault them, it's quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Back. And they're kicking ass., 26 Nov. 2002
If you were fortunate enough to actually track down a copy of this album, you'll already know that SOADs third offering is a blend of the heavy Armenian influences of their eponymous first album and the more melodic vocal work of Toxicity.
If you haven't, go and get it. This album takes everything that makes System Of A Down so uniquely brilliant that it is a must for both the faithful and the unconverted.
Just don't steal it. We wouldn't want metal fans getting a bad reputation now, would we!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steal This Album! [Explicit]
Steal This Album! [Explicit] by System Of A Down
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews