Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing anime series
Anyone who has any interest in the world of anime is sure to have heard of Full Metal Alchemist. Having previously been released over 13 single DVD installments, the UK now sees the first 4 discs in one collection with series 1 part 1. Fullmetal alchemist is a classic anime series and it remains consistently good from beginning to end. These first 4 discs cover the first...
Published on 31 Oct 2008 by J. Snook

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars FullMetal Alchemist Season one part one
Not what I expected.
The series it's self is flawless, however, the fact that two boxsets are avaliable and this entire series consists of around 51 episoded, I expected part one to feature around 25 episodes, instead, it only features 16!
The bonus features are pretty artwork and the l'arc en ciel song video 'ready steady go' (very addictive).
Published on 8 Dec 2009 by Queen Stars


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing anime series, 31 Oct 2008
By 
J. Snook "Ichigo_2020 - Anime Buff" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Season One Part One [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who has any interest in the world of anime is sure to have heard of Full Metal Alchemist. Having previously been released over 13 single DVD installments, the UK now sees the first 4 discs in one collection with series 1 part 1. Fullmetal alchemist is a classic anime series and it remains consistently good from beginning to end. These first 4 discs cover the first 16 episodes of this brilliant anime.

In the world of Fullmetal Alchemist, people can use the power of alchemy to transform something into something else as long as the ingredients are of equal value. The story begins with brothers Edward and Alphonse Elric failing to resurrect their mother from the dead. Although the brothers are aware that human alchemy is forbidden, they go through with it anyway and face dire consequences when Alphonse loses his body, and Edward literally pays the price of an arm and leg when these limbs are taken from him. Learning from their mistakes, Edward recieves a mechanical arm and leg wheraes his brother, who's body no longer exists in their world, has his soul attached to a suit of armour. The siblings then set off on a journey to find the philosophers stone that is believed to have the power they need to get their bodies back to normal.

What we get is an entertaining action adventure show that is has the effortless ability to combine intense action with gripping drama. As well as being beautiful and thought provoking, the series has the ability to shock while at other times it will put a smile on your face. Fullmetal also excels at creating interesting and heartfelt characters that are sure to go down in history as some of the most memorable characters ever in an anime. The relationship between the siblings, as well as other characters they encounter throughout the show is one of the series' main strengths. Furthermore, the series has the ability the thrill with some truly spectacular action scenes.

One thing that will stick with you after watching this boxset is the excellent soundtrack of some seriously catchy j-rock theme songs as well as in-episode tunes. Many of these songs are constantly on circulation on my music player. Both Japanese and English languages are present in this collection, and I must say that both are exceptional. The Japanese language is obviously the more authentic option for fans of the anime genre, however, the English dub is truly phenomenal in it's own right. Another thing that deserves a mention is the fantastically detailed and attractive art and animation created by the studio 'bones'. They have done a truly good job of transferring the manga created by Hiromu Arakawa into a jaw droppingly beautiful anime.

The presentation of this set is something to be admired. These DVDs are presented in a nice DVD boxset that has a metallic embossed look to it. It looks really good, just be careful with it because finger prints show up pretty badly on it. Inside the box is two sections - the first has episodes written on it and the second has guidebooks. The guidebooks are basically the booklet that came with each single DVD volume. Each booklet is roughly 20 pages long and contains an introduction from series director Seiji Mizushima, character profiles and some lovely artwork. The segment entitled 'episodes' is a fold out section embroidered in lovely metallic gold, (again be careful of smudging) and is designed with some attractive artwork from the series. It contains the 4 discs from the this collection and has a list of episodes on the left hand side. The DVDs in this set contain the same special features that were on the single disc releases, these include textless songs, Production art, japanese commercials, image galleries, as well as a Larc~en~ciel music video.

Fullmetal Alchemist is a series that will convert people to liking anime. As the series progresses through each episode, (coming in at roughly 22 minutes each) it is difficult not to become attatched to the characters and to the epic journey that they must undergo. This first DVD Boxset does a good job of introducing the basic story, characters and themes as well as swiftly captivating it's audience right up to the last frame. This first Fullmetal alchemist DVD boxset is identical to the one released in north America, and it really does the series justice. There will be another 3 boxsets, which should be released over the course of 2009 right up to the end with season 2 part 2 and the movie. So if you have never seen Fullmetal alchemist before, there has never been a better time to experience this truly brilliant anime series. Season 1 Part 1 could be one of the most important anime releases of 2009 and With a manga series that is still being made and a sequel series in the near future, Fullmetal is going to continue growing in popularity in the UK.

I usually tend to pick out at least some negative points when posting a review, however, that is easier said than done with Fullmetal. It is the quintessential anime series and it deserves to be on everyones shelf, regardless of whether they are anime fans.

In short: buy Fullmetal Alchemist season 1 part 1 - It's good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 May 2009
By 
Antony Hogg (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Season One Part One [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say. Being a fan of the most popular Anime, Ghost in the Shell, Akira etc. i haeard that this was a really good series. From the first episode you are gripped by the premise of the story, and the way in which the two main characters interact. Also very impressed by the quality of the animation, very high production values. Overall I will be buying all of the sets, as they contain some great booklets accompanying each DVD. Do yourself a favour and buy this series, you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars FullMetal Alchemist Season one part one, 8 Dec 2009
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Season One Part One [DVD] (DVD)
Not what I expected.
The series it's self is flawless, however, the fact that two boxsets are avaliable and this entire series consists of around 51 episoded, I expected part one to feature around 25 episodes, instead, it only features 16!
The bonus features are pretty artwork and the l'arc en ciel song video 'ready steady go' (very addictive).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweeeeeeeeet, 17 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Anthony Murray "You Cant Run From Death B... (Ballynahinch, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Season One Part One [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be the greatest anime I have ever seen, I found it by accident and am glad I did. Fullmetal Alchemist is amazing and the english voice-overs are perfect compared to some other animes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great series, hideous conversion, 31 May 2010
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Season One Part One [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, the video. It 'appears' to have been converted from NTSC to PAL by decimating deinterlaced 59.940fps footage down to 25fps, and then interlacing it again. Whether this is the case or not, the result is that most vertical and horizontal pans have jerky motion as there are frames missing (the end credits are especially bad). Most people probably won't notice, don't have the setup to notice (such as a progressive display), or won't care even if they do notice, but it drives me bonkers!!! I will therefore be replacing with the Japanese or US version (will wait to see if a suitable Blu-Ray comes out first though).

Secondly, the Japanese audio track is Dolby 2.0 encoded at 224 Kbps, and sounds great and thus I have no complaints there.

So, overall, its a great series, and certainly one to have in any collection. Its just a shame that, imho, they've botched the video conversion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars /cry, 8 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. Emma Jane Fortune "MJ" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Season One Part One [DVD] (DVD)
I'm guttered that amazon was unable to send me season one part one, due to seller is no longer stocking the DVD set. Now I have season two part one, but no season one part one. Its took them an estimated 2 months to let me know. However I did get a nice apology email.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fullmetal Alchemist Season One Part One [DVD]
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews