Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Satanists and stoners!
I first heard of Tenacious D many years ago, and thought that they'd sound absolutely rubbish. A comedy actor singing rock? How often has that actually worked?
But it really, really does! Black is incredibly talented at both singing and rocking it up on guitar, and the songs themselves - a strange mix of comedy lyrics and excellent REAL rock music (not like some of...
Published on 15 Feb. 2005 by H. Derbe

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was expecting good things from this, but I was disappointed. I think the reason for this was that i've owned the work of Bad News (Rik Mayall et al - 1980s) for a long time - which has great songs and is clever and properly funny. I didn't find much in Tenacious D's offering funny at all. "Tribute" is a good song and genuinuely amusing, but if you're expecting the rest...
Published on 3 Aug. 2009 by Zaphod Beeblebrox


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n� Laugh!! An Essential album... no kidding., 31 May 2005
By 
David Calcano (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
I honestly never expected to have such a fantastic time by listening to this album, the lyrics are hilarious, and the music is GREAT! Jack Black has an amazing voice ... just hear the melodies of 'F*** Her Gently' he sings with a lot of feeling, even the voice only parts within the songs (yes, there are some) are so well placed within the context of the music. The melodies are truly spontaneous and sometimes beautiful, making a contrast with the lyrics content at all times.
Probably you would think I am mad... but believe me this record is that good, I never got tired of listening to it.
... You won't regret a cent...
Let the music play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILLARIOUS & very good musically too !!, 5 Aug. 2002
By 
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
The musical performance of this album is that of an excellent Rock album. It is worth of being in any rock fans album collection on this merit alone.
Add to this that it is also very very funny and your on to an all time winner. Yes it's not a polite album, as you will see from some of the track titles. But if your not easily offended and retain your sense of humour then you will love and adore this album.
My only critisim is that they should have included their song "I'm the only gay eskimo", which of all the stuff they have done is in my opinion their funniest by far. Hopefully it will be in the next album, and rest assured I will be one of the first to buy their next album.
THIS IS A MUST HAVE ALBUM and will always provide the listener with a smile. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't laugh at this you need to cheer up., 31 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tenacious D [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Good grief, where do you start with this? The D come in with a two pronged attack here, combining side achingly good comedy with a shedload of musical talent, and it's hard to figure out which is better. I don't know if the Foo Fighters magic has rubbed off on them, but Tenacious D have this ability to make music that haves you putting your CD player on repeat, notably Tribute and City Hall. Jack Black, as unstable as the poor soul is, has charisma leaking out of every orofice, and this album would probably appeal to the Simpsons watching not-so-high-brow-comedy generation of listener. Incidentally, check out the video to f*%k her gently if you can.....trust me, tribute was just the tip of the iceberg......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best band in the world??, 12 Aug. 2002
By 
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
jack black, actor, funnyman, and now rock star? certainly he can sing and play guitar, and his lyrics and songs are eyewettingly funny, and with star turns on the album from the likes of Foo fighter Dave Grohl the mix of rock, comedy and sheer energy make a very good package. however, i can't help but wonder what jack black and kyle gass would be capable of if they didn't rely so much on the comedy element of their music. this is worth buying if you like laughing a lot, its also worth getting if you love heavy riffs, and well thpought out utnes, but on the other hand its worth buying if you want to listen to a band that have a potential to fill, they claim to be the best band in the world, and they can live up to this if they did but one serious tune.
the likes of tribute and wonderboy come close to this (in that there is very little swearing on them) and they stand out because of this. that said, for a rock comedy record, this is THE cross over record to buy, musicaly outstanding, comicly brilliant and good to play air guitar to with out feeling at all silly. all in all a good record to relax with on your own or with a few mates, sharing the laughs and the rock. buy it if you like music and love comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 28 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
Well first of all I wouldn't say that the album is quite worth 5, but I'd say its worth 4 and a half. The combination of KG's brilliant guitar playing and JB's unexpectedly brilliant singing works just right, especially in Tribute and Wonderboy. The hilarious classical interlude in Rock Your Socks just shows how amazingly talented KG is. Nearly all of the songs are catchy, and the tracks which just involve talking mostly provide an introduction to the next song (Hard F***ing is followed by F*** Her Gently, Friendship Test is followed by Friendship, and Karate Schnitzel is followed by Karate).
I can't help thinking that Tenacious D are potential number one artists, but the constant desire to make people laugh may actually be their downfall. Both these immensely talented guys would definitely go far if they wrote a remotely serious song, but unfortunately I can't see them doing a sensible song as JB is famous as a comedian (his part in Orange County, for example).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANTLY FUNNY & A DREAM TO LISTEN TOO, 3 Oct. 2002
By 
Wild (A PUB, Retford Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
If your easilly offended don't buy it. If you don't like swearing don't buy it. But if not this will probably be the best album you will EVER buy!
The music is excellent, the perfomances without flaw, they could be a brilliant rock band solely on this merit. But what you get is humour Joe Black style. If you've seen his films you'll know what to expect, and he does not disappoint. F**K her gently is rude but hilarious. Heck all the tracks are excellent and guaranteed to make you smile and probably laugh out loud too.
I've collected some Tenacious D MP3, and my only critisism is that good as this album is, it isn't their best stuff. If you can get hold of "I'm the only gay eskimo" or "Jesus Ranch" or even "The History of Tenacious D" those tracks will truely knock your socks off. MEGA BRILL STYLE!
To sum it up, I bought this album and it is the best album I own and I have literally 500 plus. Musically its brilliant and a dream to listen to at any time, but when you take the time to listen to the lyrics then you'll howl with laughter. I'm not keen on the skits, the talky sketches, they are humourous (C**K Pushups for example), but I prefer their musical stuff.
Buy This album and you won't be disappointed. But you want sheer brilliance track down "I'm the only gay eskimo" by Tenacious D and see what I mean. These guys rock big time, and I can not wait for the next album.
Who wrote this, me baby me, that's who!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good on so many levels...but rude!, 11 Feb. 2004
By 
R. M. Smith (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
When I first received this, I liked it and gave it 4 stars. After a few weeks it was on the shelf having been superceeded. However, yesterday I decided to stick it on...and I am glad I did because despite the explicit lyrics, this is a fantastic album on so many levels. First (and perhaps most importantly) the music is superb. I think this is something I didn't fully appreciate when I first listened to it. I was probably listening to JB's lyrics more than the music. Speaking of those lyrics, they are very funny although not suitable for those with a dislike for swearing and/or crude jokes. So, after listening to it a few more times I have revised my rating to the full 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A promising start from 'THE D', 25 Oct. 2002
By 
MIKE (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
As you can image everyone was slightly worried when the loud and boisterous star of 'High Fidelity'and 'Shallow Hal' teamed up with his friend Kyle Gas(KG) and decided he wanted to be a rock star BUT their fears were needless. Black has joined up with a large and extremely talented group of musicians including the ex Nirvana drummer; David Grohl adding to another of his numerous musical projects including the Foo Fighters and Queens of the Stonage. The result was a highly charged, exciting new rock band who, although their songs have relatively little meaning deliver some dam good music along the way.
The album does require a few listens before the musical talent involved truly breaks through the surface and the antics of Black and Gas provide some humour. Those looking for a deep and meaningful experience can look elsewhere and if you are in any way offended by strong language leave this well alone. There are several tracks that just involve short conversations between the two which some may find tedious and unnecassary though can be extremely funny in parts and most are based around obscene topics! (which i quite enjoy)
However fans who are not bothered by this i believe will very much appreciate this record. Black prevails with a sound and powerful singing voice and Gas excels with constant hair-raising guitar riffs and solos. The album serves out several flashes of melodic genius.
In my opinion the debut single 'Tribute' set the standard seen throughout the record and some of the later numbers such as 'The Road' 'Double Team'and the finale 'City Hall' offer inspiring interventions of softer and more defined acoustic ballads and jumping straight back into fast paced classic rock n' roll powered by numerous well toned riffs and solos making their Genre had to classify.
This debut brings a breath of fresh air for any fans of unbridled and well structured rock with no emotional stings attached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The '2 Kings' prove worthy of their throne!, 26 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
As you can image everyone was slightly worried when the loud and boisterous star of 'High Fidelity' and 'Shallow Hal' teamed up with his friend Kyle Gas (KG)and decided he wanted to be a rock star BUT their fears were needless. Black has joined up with a large and extremely talented group of musicians including the ex Nirvana drummer; David Grohl himself adding to another of his numerous musical projects including the Foo Fighters and Queens of the Stonage. The result was a highly charged, exciting new rock band who, although their songs have relatively little meaning deliver some dam good music along the way.
The album does require a few listens before the musical talent involved truly breaks through the surface and the antics of Black and Gas provide some humour. Those looking for a deep and meaningful experience can look elsewhere and if you are in any way offended by strong language leave this well alone. There are several tracks that just involve short conversations between the two, which some may find tedious and unnecessary though can be extremely funny in parts and most are based around obscene topics! (Which I quite enjoy)
However fans who are not bothered by this I believe will very much appreciate this record. Black prevails with a sound and powerful singing voice and Gas excels with constant hair-raising guitar riffs and solos. The album serves out several flashes of melodic genius.
In my opinion the debut single 'Tribute' set the standard seen throughout the record and some of the later numbers such as 'The Road''Double Team'and the finale 'City Hall' offer inspiring interventions of softer and more defined acoustic ballads and jumping straight back into fast paced classic rock n' roll powered by numerous well toned riffs and solos making their Genre had to classify.
This debut brings a breath of fresh air for any fans of unbridled and well-structured rock with no emotional stings attached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JB & KG are TD, and they rock, 25 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
This album rocks. Not only are the lyrics hilarious (if slightly lewd!) but the music is really addictive and you'll be humming the tunes for the rest of the day. And the following day. I highly recommend the Tenacious D DVD (try saying that after a few tequilas!) also. Featuring short, and slightly gross film clips, TV appearances, video clips and Tenacious D live at the Brixton Academy, it provides some small idea of what might have been on JB and KG's minds when they wrote the lyrics, and gives you indelible images in your mind for next time you listen to the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tenacious D [Explicit]
Tenacious D [Explicit] by Tenacious D
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews