Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long wait, well worth it
How can Shawn Colvin still be relatively unknown in this country? Her stong, individual voice, her uniquivocal song writing ability surpasses even itself this time. The open track is unmissably Shawn Colvin, and while the albumn is reminiscent of Steady On and Poloroids there seems something new there as well. If I was to buy only one albumn this year, it would be this.
Published on 28 Mar 2001 by rachael.london@colch-inst.ac.uk

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another slice of humble folk pie thanks to Shawn Colvin
A few small repairs' received lots of attention and critical acclaim in the US. It has been one of my favourite albums of the last 5 years. 'A Whole New You', the long awaited follow up, re-affirms Shawn`s tallent as one of the most soulful folk singer/songwriters of recent times. A 'whole new you' has some lovely moments where a blend of subtle, laid back harmonies and...
Published on 15 April 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long wait, well worth it, 28 Mar 2001
This review is from: Whole New You (Audio CD)
How can Shawn Colvin still be relatively unknown in this country? Her stong, individual voice, her uniquivocal song writing ability surpasses even itself this time. The open track is unmissably Shawn Colvin, and while the albumn is reminiscent of Steady On and Poloroids there seems something new there as well. If I was to buy only one albumn this year, it would be this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An under appreciated artist, 23 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whole New You (Audio CD)
I had heard the title track on the radio so many times but I never managed to catch the title. Only after tuning ever radio to the same station did I eventually find out who it was. I immediately logged on to Amazon to see if I could get a copy. It hasn't been out of the player since. A fantastic mixture of songs from the 'pull yourself together' attitude of the title song to the hauntingly sureal 'Another plane came down'. A CD filled with beautiful and gentle 'chilled out' tunes. Shawn's voice is reminicent of Suzanne Vega and Alanis Morrisette. A perfect accompaniment to to a cosy night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 24 April 2001
This review is from: Whole New You (Audio CD)
I have just bought this CD and have been blown away by it.A long standing Sean Colvin fan, I think this is her best work to date.There's not a bad song on the CD, every one a well crafted gem.If you like Sean Colvin at all and appreciate good music, go out and buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most talented artists in years, 6 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whole New You (Audio CD)
I recently went to see Shawn Colvin in concert in Newcastle upon Tyne, England. I went expecting to be disappointed as this album is so terrific. Let me tell you this lady sings like an angel!! She is as good in the flesh as on this album. Matter of Minutes is well deserving of praise! She is on a par with Eva Cassidy and Janis Ian. All I can say is listen to it and I promise you that you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes - get it!, 20 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whole New You (Audio CD)
If you like Shawn then this will seal it for you. The first 3 chunes make it worth buying, although there are one or two not SO good numbers. It will also suit you if you have never heard Shawn before but like Eddi Reader, Tori Amos, Milla, Maria McKee, Beth Orton, Sarah McL. and so on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another slice of humble folk pie thanks to Shawn Colvin, 15 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whole New You (Audio CD)
A few small repairs' received lots of attention and critical acclaim in the US. It has been one of my favourite albums of the last 5 years. 'A Whole New You', the long awaited follow up, re-affirms Shawn`s tallent as one of the most soulful folk singer/songwriters of recent times. A 'whole new you' has some lovely moments where a blend of subtle, laid back harmonies and accoustic guitar gently reveal some melodically memorable tunes. The highlight being the wonderful title track. Unfortunately, as the album plays the tunes become more melodically and muscially complex and sadly less memorable. Nevertheless, the end track 'I`ll say sorry' is another beautiful subtle piece, where Shawn sings over the luke tones of a baby grand. But the song lasts only two minutes. Its is a real shame because the over complex and slightly irritating 'bonefields' and 'bound to you' seem to play for infinity. A strange album that shows a lot of promise but never lives up to its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok .....but a bit, well, dull?, 19 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whole New You (Audio CD)
I discovered Shawn Colvin with "Fat City" - great album with some hair tingling moments. "A few small repairs" was very good but this album is, I have to say, rather sameish and just a little dull. Well produced and Shawn has a fantastic voice but I think she needs to get back to her songwriting roots.
So, a good listen but it won't set the world alight. Could do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whole New You
Whole New You by Shawn Colvin
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews