Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
Haydn is one of the most prolific composers of our time and his works rank amongst the most elite in the classical genre, to own any of his works or most of his works as in this box set is a privilege and a joy.

I have had this in my basket for quite a while, but there seemed to be different listings and different prices for this box set on Amazon which was...
Published on 29 July 2010 by Uenna

versus
8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caveat emptor - not the complete works of F J Haydn
Haydn was one of the most prolific composers in music history. His complete works cannot be accommodated on 150 compact discs, so l hope Amazon realise this is only a selection of his works, albeit a substantial one, and post a correction before people are mislead.
Published on 27 Nov 2008 by A Pedant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 July 2010
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Haydn Edition [Boxset] (Audio CD)
Haydn is one of the most prolific composers of our time and his works rank amongst the most elite in the classical genre, to own any of his works or most of his works as in this box set is a privilege and a joy.

I have had this in my basket for quite a while, but there seemed to be different listings and different prices for this box set on Amazon which was quite confusing. I checked on the Brilliant Classics website and found that there is only the 150 Cd box set edition released so far. The two listings on Amazon are for the same box set but have different prices. With further detective work I found this for 91 Euros on amazon.de.

This Collection is brilliant! The card board sleeves housing the discs are colour coded in soft pastel colours, to signify the different works. This is apparently volume one according to the sticker on the box set, which will be accurate as not all the works here are complete.
The complete works include: Symphonies, Violin Concertos, Organ concertos, Trumpet Concerto, Horn Concerto, Cello Concertos, Lira Concertos, Piano Trios, Folksongs, Songs, Baryton trios, piano sonatas and Klavierstuck.

The other works in the collection are: Piano concertos, Massess - Stabat Mater, Die Schopfung, Die Jahrzeiten, La Vera Constanza, Die Fuererbrunst, La Fildelta premiata, L'infedelta delusa, Il Ritorno do tobia, Die Sieben letzte worte, English Canzonettas, String quartets, work for lute and strings, concertini and divertimenti for piano trio and violin sonatas.

There is a bonus cd-rom - Joseph Haydn: Craftsman and genius, booklet notes by Richard Wigmore in English, German, French, Spanish and Italian. Also included are sung texts of oratorios and songs.

This is truly a great box set and I am eagerly awaiting the volume two, if there will be one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music by the Musician's Musician, 13 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Haydn Edition [Boxset] (Audio CD)
This is a superb collection of recordings, presenting most of Haydn's extraordinary music. The Symphonic, Concerto and String Quartet repertoire recordings are all excellent, as are the superb folksong settings and miscellaneous chamber works. The recordings of the complete Baryton Trios are simply outstanding, with music just sublime and which compels revisiting again and again. There is enough here for a lifetime of musical pleasure, education and enjoyment in the achievement of Haydn, truly dubbed the Musician's Musician. A wonderful celebration of his anniversary year. Unreservedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 12 July 2013
By 
George (Solihull, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Haydn Edition [Boxset] (Audio CD)
This set is easily worth buying for the complete symphonies, piano sonatas and baryton music. There are a few frustrating omissions however. This set does not contain all of Haydn's string quartets; unfortunately only half of Op. 76 is here provided. (I recommend Complete String Quartet.. for an excellent version of the complete string quartets). In addition, Brilliant could not seem to find room for the Nelson Mass (another of Haydn's most popular compositions!). So although this set may need to be supplemented with a few additional purchases, it is still an excellent way to get hold of most of Haydn's back catalogue at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Haydn fans, 2 Oct 2009
By 
P. A. Godfrey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn Edition [Boxset] (Audio CD)
At last, recognition for the greatest composer ever!
I have to say I found the symphonies and string quartets disappointing. Adam Fischer, seemed to think he was conducting CPE Bach with violent changes of tempo and volume and I gave up in despair after the wreckage of symphony no. 26. Hubert Bucherger, the first violinist in the quartets had an alarming desire to improvise all over the place which ruined them for me. However you can easily obtain excellent performances of both symphonies and quartets elsewhere - I recommend Haydn: The Complete Symphonies for the symphonies and the Aeolian Quartet for the quartets.
But the real jewel is being able to hear all the choral and lesser known works, in particular the baryton trios. Beautiful performances throughout - these alone make the whole set worthwhile.
Some of the string quartets are missing but since you're going to buy another set ;-) that's no problem!
No Haydn geek can be without this collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn Edition [Boxset] (Audio CD)
This is an excellent collection of Haydn's works. He was prolific in his day and I'd doubt if all the works are here. Nonetheless it is a worthwhile purchase and sits proudly in my collection. The CDs color coded and this is very helpful and welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caveat emptor - not the complete works of F J Haydn, 27 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Haydn Edition [Boxset] (Audio CD)
Haydn was one of the most prolific composers in music history. His complete works cannot be accommodated on 150 compact discs, so l hope Amazon realise this is only a selection of his works, albeit a substantial one, and post a correction before people are mislead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haydn Edition [Boxset]
Haydn Edition [Boxset] by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews