Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb album
I can't understand why there's been negative reviews on this site because this album is superb.

If you're a fan of the Final Cut & The Wall (my two favourite Floyd albums) then you'll really enjoy listening to this album.

The Pros & Cons of Hitch Hiking was recommended to me by a friend and looking at reviews i very nearly didn't buy it, don't make...
Published on 20 April 2006 by Mr. Robert J. Williams

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of perspective needed...
I count myself as a really big fan of Pink Floyd and of Roger Waters. It's obvious that his was the main creative spark behind the band's "purple patch" of brilliant 70's albums, but equally obvious that he needed the musicality and soul of Gilmour and Wright to moderate his excesses and bring some coherence. This poor album is a perfect example of this. Freed from the...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by Marchespie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb album, 20 April 2006
I can't understand why there's been negative reviews on this site because this album is superb.

If you're a fan of the Final Cut & The Wall (my two favourite Floyd albums) then you'll really enjoy listening to this album.

The Pros & Cons of Hitch Hiking was recommended to me by a friend and looking at reviews i very nearly didn't buy it, don't make that mistake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12:02 pm Writing this review, 8 April 2010
Well well well where do you start. Right to start with I think that Pink Floyd are just a rock band without Happy Roger, and Roger Waters is just a song writer without Rick, Dave and Nick. Oh why did you have to break up. I would have loved to see what this album would have turned out like if it was a Pink Floyd album rather than a Water's solo effort. I'm sure it would have been a lot better as I have always found Clapton boring. But saying that I have still given this 5 stars and that is because I find the whole thing pure genius. Even though Clapton is anoying me in the back ground.
This is a strange album and to those who have never heard it and know nothing about it. I will start by saying is there 1 song or 12 songs on this album its hard to say. Also my favorite songs on this album is 4:35, 4:50, 4:58, and 5:01 and come to think of it 5:11 quite good. (told you it was strange) So if you are curious then I surgest you get your wallet out I think you will be weirdly suprised.
Also have you ever had a Lamborghini passed through your head if not then get some head phones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standing the test of time, 6 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. R. Englander "mutedcensor" (Farnham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The pros and cons oh hitch-hiking was originally given mixed reviews, with alot of focus on the lack of any discernable melody through the album.
However, as a singular piece of work the music has stood the test of time and doesn't sound dated; something that Radio Kaos has suffered from somewhat.
With regards to the tracks themselves, personally I think Every Strangers Eyes is one of Roger's finest tracks but it really is the kind of album that you have to listen to in totality where the sum of the parts is perhaps greater than the individual tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waters at his best., 22 Jun 2006
By 
Despite the fact that I bought this album on release back in the 80's I still listen to this again and again as it remains as fresh and exciting now as it did then.

Without doubt this remains Waters' best piece as a 'solo' artist. It's lively, witty, dark and soulful; the music rolls along from light touches to rock anthem. Perhaps the inclusion of Clapton's guitar lends something and the result is a great work in the style of Floyd but with Waters' sense of 'operatic show'.

If you like Pink Floyd or Eric Clapton buy this; if you enjoy a real album that weaves interesting lyrics with strong guitar and melody then buy this. If you like Take That - don't. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dismiss At Your Peril!, 22 Aug 2007
By 
As a devout Floyd/Waters fan I'm fed up with so called music critics constant dismissal of this album as nothing but a failed attempt at recreating `The Dark Side Of The Moon' or `The Wall'. They have so missed the point, Roger does not need to recreate passed successes as he's a very rich man who lets face it does not need to work again, he continues to do so because he is a creative genius with a gift of story telling through his music. This album needs to be listened to over and over again, I'm still discovering something new 23 years later!

Pros shares lyrical and musical themes to The Wall its true as Waters wrote and demoed the piece for the Floyd as far back as 1979, Gilmour has since commented that it "was more of the same" as 'The Final Cut' with critics claiming there were a "lack of tunes" which I find amazing.

There is a running theme throughout the peice, the same melody recurs on five of the twelve tracks. Waters vocals have always come under fire, so what, he hasn't got the best voice but it is perfect for the music he writes, the shrieking and manic wails have always enhanced his more torturous songs, The Final Cut's `The Gunners Dream', The Wall's `Nobody Home' and Pro's 'Arabs With Knives'.

With the 'Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking' Roger Waters takes the concept album to new heights on this 1984 masterpiece, his first album after leaving Pink Floyd. The songs represent scenes of a bizarre dream or nightmare, whichever way you want to visualise it. Waters brilliantly captures the strange and surreal experience of drifting in and out of a dream, with periods of tranquillity and lucidity, accompanied by hysterical and warped passages of confusion with moments of satire and humour.

The dream has Waters confronting deadly Arabs in Germany, a steamy sexual romp in a field with a gorgeous backpacker depicted on the album cover, a crumbling and boring family life, hell`s angels, truckers, hamburger joints, housewives, and strangers. Waters main gift of story telling is that he draws you into his vision by blurring the scenes between real life and the sub-conscious. His use of recurring themes gives the peice consistency.

As the mood swings, Clapton's guitar perfectly describes Roger's vision, whether with bursts of awe inspiring guitar solo's or delicate acoustic playing of the finest order. His playing sets the mouth watering especially on `Sexual Revolution' `For The First Time Today' and `The Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking'

Other musicians involved are virtually the same as 'The Final Cut', Katie Kissoon, Madelaine Bell and Doreen Chanter provide the female vocal harmonies that have graced all of his solo works. This album contains to me one of Roger's best songs, 'Every Strangers Eyes' has some of his best lyrics which have a typical cascade of images that depict the characters Roger is trying to portray.

An album of astonishing vision and ability and should not be dismissed by any discerning music critic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clapton transforms Waters, 28 April 2006
This is a cracking album from Roger Waters. I've only recently discovered it and I'm glad I did. His lyrics are standard Waters fare for this album, which means you'll get generally intelligent stuff, but with some, at times, daft sounding lines. Still, that's a minor gripe. The most impressive thing about this album is how his music is transformed by a change in guitarist. Now, I like David Gilmour. In fact, I think the man's guitar playing is magnificent, but Eric Clapton's lead guitar in the Pros & Cons of Hitch Hiking is stunning and at the same time, completely different from anything you'd associate Floyd or Roger Waters with. There is many a highlight on the album, but the most impressive thing about it is how Waters runs each track into the next so smoothly. Something the Wall failed at and the Final Cut almost had down to a tee had it not been for 'Not Now John'.

If you're a fan of Roger Waters or Floyd I'd recommend this without a shadow of a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roger Walters second solo Lp, 25 Aug 2007
Offically the first solo Lp by Pink Floyds Roger Walters, but unofically most fans recognise that its really his second, as the Final Cut was more or less his first as the other 3 members had little or no imput.
A great listen on headphones or pumped up loud on the stereo. also check out 1987's Radio K.A.O.S and 1992's Amused to Death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful album..., 3 Jun 2007
...Very similar in sound to 'The Final Cut' (a Pink Floyd album in name only, really), so if you like that, you'll probably like this.

The musicianship is excellent, but as it features Eric Clapton on guitar, what do you expect?

It's a fairly dark album - more like 'The Wall' lyrically, in that its major theme is, basically, how relationships screw you up. Waters has been accused of misogyny - to me, he's just had a pretty bad time when it comes to relationships.

The high points, for me, are the title track and 'Every Stranger's Eyes'.

Definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The pros and pros of hitchhiking, 3 Mar 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
After leaving Pink Floyd, Roger Waters gathered together a collection of world class musicians and gave us this show and album.
Michael Kamen - later to be famous as a film music composser, shares producing credits with Roger. Kamen also arranges and conducts the Natinal Philharmonic Orchestra and plays piano. On lead guitar Roger has the best in the form of Eric Clapton, here is a hired hand role. In interviews later Eric seemes to regret this move, but he was working with Michael Kamen with whom he would write the music for The Edge of Darkness and Lethal Weapon.
The best percussion player arround, Ray Cooper joins the line up as does David Sanborn on Saxophone.
With backing vocals by Madeline Bell and Katie Kisson, and even a speaking part for Jack Palance, this coundn't fail to impress.
The music is stronger than the 'Final Cut', Roger's last album with Pink Floyd.
At this low price, buy this CD now and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why bother with the rucksack, 29 Jan 2010
By 
Bought this on vinyl at the time and saw RW play it live.
I even bought the T shirt and as a student, got up one day and wore the T shirt then without thinking had go to down to a small local shop to get some bread or something and the old lady who ran the shop (probably in her 70's) looked at the T shirt and said "If I were her I wouldn't bother with the rucksack"! After my initial embarrassment I was glad she saw the funny side of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews