Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A combination of youth and experience bring enormous rewards, 13 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an immensely stimulating and enjoyable set of the Beethoven Piano Concertos . The combination of Barenboim and Klemperer in 1968 was inspired . The elderly and frail conductor bringing all his skill as a seasoned and serious Beethovenian with the New Philharmonia to create a real conversation with the young Barenboim .

There are lots of highlights - the slow movement of No2 , the finale of No4 and the opening of No1 all are marvels but most of all the wonderful performance of the Fifth Concerto . Barenboim's playing , fresh from his Beethoven sonata cycle - is dazzling , triumphant and almost unbearably moving by turns .

A fabulous bargain and likely to have you hooked on Beethoven for life if it is your first experience of his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the heart - from the heart, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Per Arne Rudberg "P-A Rudberg" (Vallentuna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This recording is to me the ideal recording of this music. I'm totally convinced by Klemperers natural flow of the music and his clear reading. Here is nothing exaggarated or artificial.
And Barenboim leaves me almost speechless. How can such a young musician have that deep understanding of this music? There is a balance and a consequence in his playing that make me say: "Yes, this is how it should be!" And the sheer joy in his playing is unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album to Treasure, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If I were to lose all my individual recordings of the Beethoven PCs, then this would be fine.
Excellent performances. Sound quality is good. You cannot expect modern overwhelming high-bit digital quality, but not necessary to enjoy well-balanced recordings. Barenboim's playing is exemplary, with faultless runs and Klemperor controls the speeds admirably - no sense of slowness in his tempi.
Most enjoyable all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Beethoven by the masters., 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
True Beethoven by the masters of the art. Quality sound. The Choral Fantasia bonus makes this a possible first choice for anyone considering a box set purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beethoven: Piano concertos Nos 1-5/Choral Fantasia, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beethoven can do no wrong for me and this recording does him full justice. I am holding my breath most of the time. It gives me goose bumps. The delicate touch on the piano and synchronosity of the orchestra speaks of a depth of appreciation of Beethoven's composition which could rarely be surpassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement of Records, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the way Daniel Barenboim plays, the 3rd is my favourite.I brought these to replace my records, and am very satisfiewith the cd's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beethoven piano concertoes, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This must one of the best version of these concertoes on disc. I originally had them on vinyl and then I was impressed by the partnership between Klemperer and Barenboim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trusty EMI Classics, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an excellent value purchase and my trust in the EMI Classics was well placed. This is a hugely enjoyable interpretation of Beethoven's first 5 piano concertos - highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OPA, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had the original LP s of this excellent performance with Daniel Barenboam at his best. I was a bit apprehensive when ordering the CD version. I must say that it was excellent without any loss of clarity during copying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3948cc0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews