Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have if your heart lies in the electronic world.
A fan since the night I saw Paul, Andy and a tape machine called Winston on a rainy night at the Glasgow College of Technology 22 years ago this is an album to walk through two decades of keyboards, drum machines and electronic experimentation. The moody side of Humphries and the pop orientated side of McCluskey often fought it out on vinyl to produce some stunning tracks...
Published on 27 Oct. 2000

versus
1 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm...not really neo-romantic
Overall, this album is fair - do not perceive me wrongly. Electronic tracks are abound. However, compared to other contemporary neo-romantics, such as Ultravox/Visage etc this album just feels superficial. It doesnt hold as much artistic vision as Ultravox's 'Rage In Eden' or John Foxx's music. It is much more commercial sounding, and rather repitively dull and...
Published on 20 Mar. 2003 by rdebourgh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have if your heart lies in the electronic world., 27 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The OMD Singles (Audio CD)
A fan since the night I saw Paul, Andy and a tape machine called Winston on a rainy night at the Glasgow College of Technology 22 years ago this is an album to walk through two decades of keyboards, drum machines and electronic experimentation. The moody side of Humphries and the pop orientated side of McCluskey often fought it out on vinyl to produce some stunning tracks that never saw the light of day as a single. But the singles ride high as some of the best crafted pieces of pop around. Starting with the elegant simplicity and rawness of Electricity the album rushes through the groups life with the grace of Mr McCluskey's dancing. Trust me if you don't like any of the tracks come back to it a little later. I am still discovering and rediscovering tracks that either make we want to sing or want to dance (or often both). If you like simple music , well executed with a passion - buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best OMD Singles Collection., 10 Jun. 2006
By 
DJ Control (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The OMD Singles (Audio CD)
The Best OMD compilation released to date and available with an excellent disc of bonus remixes. This set is worth tracking down if you can find one. Disc one has all of OMD's singles in order of release, disc two contains 11 remixes from 1998 & 2003 and most of them give a faithfull nod to the original innovators of British Synth Pop. Special mention should be made of the Reworked "Souvenir" by Moby and the Sash tweek of "Enola Gay". Though this set is hard to find as it was only released in France, it's worth the search/price. You won't be disappointed.

post note A new OMD collection has been released, Messages: OMD Greatest Hits, this release is also good value as it comes with a dvd containing a large slice of their music videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Synth heaven, 30 April 2006
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The OMD Singles (Audio CD)
Synth innovators at first, OMD ended up purveying standard melodic pop without that experimental edge. This is well demonstrated on this singles collection, where early tracks like Electricity, Messages and Enola Gay have a rawer sound, through their golden period as represented by classics like Joan of Arc and Maid of Orleans (From Architecture & Morality), down to the fluffy pop of Walking On the Milky Way.

They were ahead of their time in the early 1980s, along with artists like Eurythmics, Numan, Kraftwerk and Yazoo that were mining the same synth groove, and I always loved their often sombre and majestic take on things. Never quite as weird as some of the above or groups like Suicide, they always stayed in the melodic realm so you could hum their tunes.

Not everything here will go down in pop history, but when OMD were good, they were brilliant and there is enough evidence on this album to merit five stars. The album should appeal to a wide spectrum of people - both those who love melodic pop and those into synth sounds, like fans of Depeche Mode or the Pet Shop Boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailing on the Seven Seas so blue, 10 May 2009
This review is from: The OMD Singles (Audio CD)
Pioneering 80s synth band cum breezy pop stars, OMD were easily one of the best bands of their era. Hailing from Liverpool - and still going strong today - the group released several critically acclaimed (and commercially successful) albums before internal politics split them up in the early 90s. Reforming for a one-off tour 10 years later, OMD were themselves surprised at how well they were received (I went to see them at Sheffield City Hall and they were awesome!) so stayed together, and released this comprehensive retrospective. With everything from the overblown but catchy 'Forever Live and Die' (the original band's last big hit) to the seminal 'Telegraph' (their first big hit), this CD is great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELECTRONIC HEAVEN, 3 Sept. 2003
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The OMD Singles (Audio CD)
Synth innovators at first, OMD ended up purveying standard melodic pop without that experimental edge. This is well demonstrated on this singles collection, where early tracks like Electricity, Messages and Enola Gay have a rawer sound, through their golden period as represented by classics like Joan of Arc and Maid of Orleans (From Architecture & Morality), down to the fluffy pop of Walking On the Milky Way. They were ahead of their time in the early 1980s, with only artists like Numan, Kraftwerk and Yazoo mining the same synth groove, and I always loved their often somber and grave take on things. Never quite as weird as some of the above or groups like Suicide, they always stayed in the melodic realm so you could humm their tunes. Not everything here will go down in pop history, but when OMD were good, they were brilliant and there is enough evidence on this album to merit it five stars. Should appeal to a wide spectrum of people – both those who love melodic pop and those into synth sounds, like fans of the Pet Shop Boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Omd. The singles., 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The OMD Singles (Audio CD)
Superb, as an introduction to anyone who may have heard the odd Omd song and thought "that's good I wonder what else they do", well this is just some of their more popular bits and will give you a taster of what else they do and what you can expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OMD review, 17 May 2008
This review is from: The OMD Singles (Audio CD)
Excellent compilation though I have 1 gripe. Red Frame White Light, where is this track? For a compilation advertising itself as The OMD singles this is a striking ommision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The OMD Singles (Audio CD)
I bought this for the few songs I recognised from years ago and liked. Then I also discovered many other brilliant songs. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars omd, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The OMD Singles (Audio CD)
This is a great band under rated talented but the great music lives on pandoras box simply the best buy this cd you wont regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MP3 Download, 26 July 2012
By 
Mr. Michael Pugh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The OMD Singles (MP3 Download)
This is the first time I have purchased an mp3 download from Amazon and I can say I have not been disappointed. As soon as the purchase was approved the download became available so I was able to download my album without any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The OMD Singles
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews