Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album for a new fan to check out.
This album is ten of Mott The Hoople's best songs and is really the best album for someone who is new to the band and would like to get an idea of the bands general sound. It is a compilation of the bands later hits. It features Mick Ronson on 'Saturday Gigs' and the single version of 'Roll Away The Stone'. This album is great because a new fan can hear the bands...
Published on 17 Sep 2000 by dajawh@hotmail.com

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy The Double-Disc Instead
If you've never heard this band, you do owe it to yourself to check them out.
The critics loved Mott, partly because they seemed to regard the band as a fantasy of Dylan fronting the Stones. Obviously, the material never met that implied quality, but Mott were a very good rock band, even if over-rated.
Be wary of this compilation. It emphasises their Spinal...
Published on 14 Jun 2004 by Joe Moer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album for a new fan to check out., 17 Sep 2000
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album is ten of Mott The Hoople's best songs and is really the best album for someone who is new to the band and would like to get an idea of the bands general sound. It is a compilation of the bands later hits. It features Mick Ronson on 'Saturday Gigs' and the single version of 'Roll Away The Stone'. This album is great because a new fan can hear the bands overall sound without having to spend to much money. The songs are chosen well and it is a great album tou can listen and enjoy over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 3.99 I've ever spent..., 2 April 2007
By 
M. Allgood (Blighty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
..this did not leave my stereo for three months. 'nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get what it says on the label, 31 July 2010
By 
Douglas Stuart (Nottm, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Good piece of 70's nostaglia. Would recommend Ian Hunter laest 2 solo albums - Shrunken Heads & Man Overboard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy The Double-Disc Instead, 14 Jun 2004
By 
Joe Moer (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you've never heard this band, you do owe it to yourself to check them out.
The critics loved Mott, partly because they seemed to regard the band as a fantasy of Dylan fronting the Stones. Obviously, the material never met that implied quality, but Mott were a very good rock band, even if over-rated.
Be wary of this compilation. It emphasises their Spinal Tap-ist flaws, viz. pretentious self-important balladry, cheesy nostalgia and ham-handed camp.
A few more pounds will get you the double-disc anthology "Ballad Of Mott The Hoople" which has 33 tracks and argues their merit convincingly - particularly as it has enough tracks to ignore the flaws and still enjoy some great rock music.
If you want to spend less cash, get the "All The Young Dudes" album which is their strongest. (It includes "Jerkin' Crocus", unfortunately not compiled here - possibly due to one very politically incorrect line.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SOARING SEVENTIES ROCK, 13 Feb 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Mott made great music in the early seventies with their blend of hard, almost metal-rock and intelligent lyrics. All The Way From Memphis is a typical rock ‘n roll road saga, Hymn For The Dudes is quite tender, almost spiritual, All The Young Dudes is their stunning interpretation of the Bowie composition and Roll Away The Stone is a slab of rollicking rock. The live track Ballad of Mott is a complex, soulful ballad with beautiful organ infusions, The Golden Age Of Rock ‘n Roll something of a tour de force with its traditional rock riffs and energetic vocals, while while Foxy Foxy is an impressive power ballad. The album ends on a sad note with Saturday Gigs which is a history of the band and their comments on the changing fashions, including witty remarks about glam rock. Yes, there WAS life before punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars part of my younger days, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
good album but at times did not seem to keep me
interested. saw a profile on tv about mott the hopple
which was interesting, which was why I purchased the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best from Mott, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A superb cd with some great bonus tracks. I didn't realise how good this band where. It's a number one for the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 30 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. A. Dixon (gb) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A band I missed when younger. Worth a listen. I realised that I did not have any mott in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mott the hopple, 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Excellent cd and fast delivery recommended cd It brought back so many happy memories of being a teenager and all the mad things we got up to😍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
There are lots of greatest hits etc albums for most bands but this one seems to have all the hits I remember
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Mott The Hoople
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews