Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


138 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Freeview
If, like me, you don't trust yourself to get Sky because you're scared you'll never leave the house again, so you thought Freeview was a good alternative but now find it really isn't, allow me to introduce one of the few gems you can actually get on Freeview.

Squeezed in between E4s almost incessant diet of, like you know, teen dramas (One Tree Hill, The OC,...
Published on 20 Feb 2009 by Dan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
The show gets better with each season.
Published 5 months ago by Melissa


‹ Previous | 120 21 22 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Very pleased with the product, came exactly as advertised in the minimum amount of time estimated. The product came sealed in it's thin cellophane wrapper, along with the exterior packaging. I also really like the series and would recommend to a wide audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great series, little bonus material, 28 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This series is funny and entertaining : 5 stars

But there are nearly none bonus features on the dvd: 3 starts

--> 4 stars in the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's late!, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Il I've Big Bang Theory so I know it'll be good but I needed the boxset today (it's been 3 working days) because I have arranged a sleepover to watch it. I was told it would come today, it still hasn't so I'm disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Bang Review, 31 Dec 2009
By 
G. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This product was exactly as was advertised. I knew all I needed to about what I was buying and delivery was prompt and the product was safely packaged. I would have no issues using this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Joke, 13 Dec 2008
By 
I. Dawson "DDude" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
BBT has one Joke. The lead characters are Physicists. They use scientific terms, alienating most other people, and are giant geeks. This is a wonderful thing. They are not so over the top as to seem a parody, but more the extreme of our, relatable, interests. This is a great joke, seeing theoretical physicists interact just is hilarious.

Sadly, this is THE joke. The interaction between the characters is not as strong as in many other sitcoms, nowhere near to Scrubs or Friends. The relationships are not fully implemented. The lead story is a chase by our protagonist for the girl-next-door, but his caution, while relatable, does not make this plot progress with any speed during the series. Most of the characters are single, and they more or less stay that way throughout the series. There is very little seinfeld-esque puns on dating conventions. Another flaw, is that this is a very small cast, bereft of the supporting characters that could catalyst episodes. And there is no farce.

This may not sound that great. The show would not be extra-ordinary - using canned laughter and staged sets to give the show a traditional sitcom feel. And most of the show is based upon this style; it is a perfunctory, funny, relatable sitcom.

But with this one extra joke, one which sets it a notch above many other shows. Theoretical Physicists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing intelligent about this comedy, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Wibblah (Westminster, London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I have to fall in with the minority of other reviews here. This is at best something to eat up some time when you can't do anything else. I have due to frequent traveling managed to catch a few episodes on long haul flights but would never seek it out if given alternatives.

Essentially it seems to be a take on the IT Crowd with some characters with (apparently) higher IQ's. Each episode follows a bunch of geeks in their never ending quest to meet girls whilst the rest of the world pokes fun at their inability to relate to normal people and situations.

I really don't understand the high ratings it's been given however, since each episode aside from the setting seems no different to any other below average US sitcom. The jokes are heavily led-in and sometimes painfully unfunny on the whole, but on occasion warrant a laugh. I can only put this down to some problems with the Amazon recommendation engine; clearly most people love this show which is great but for me this is really filling time at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 67 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Funny at first, but difficult to cope over time, 6 April 2009
By 
M. Fearnley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I came to this series "live" on the telly, a couple of episodes in. For several episodes, I found this very enjoyable, and being a nerd myself, I appreciated the geeky humour.

The characters are all funny, and they're never "too" mean to each other. But unfortunately, apart from that, I couldn't really find any redeeming features in them. They all seemed quite self-obsessed, without any real empathy for anyone else, and after a while, I just found that a bit tiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overrated geek sitcom, 14 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
For those of you who find the idea of the "geek" hilarious, you will probably enjoy this laugh-and-point sitcom. Maybe it gets more laughs in America where the "nerd" type is more part of their culture.

The premise is potentially amusing- two science nerds have a beautiful blonde neighbour, but as we all know, people who are good at science are socially backwards, so comedy ensues. A good sitcom should be funny to everybody, rather than relying on jokes that will go over our heads so we don't realise that they're not actually funny. Sheldon is just completely obnoxious. In Frasier, Niles was a snob but he wasn't obnoxious. Seriously, why do people find this show funny? Because the laugh track doesn't match up with the noise the audience at home are making.

I will say though that the title is quite good and the episode titles are neat. Shame the season isn't better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 26 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The DVD quality was surprisingly poor. Speckly picture making it hard to view. Not my DVD player as every other disc plays in excellent quality. Good series though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Low quality of video, 6 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Surprisingly terrible quality of video. Almost like one of those old VHS tapes watched over and over.

Certainly not good DVD quality and takes away from the pleasure of a good comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 22 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009]
The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] by Johnny Galecki (DVD - 2009)
£6.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews