Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (191)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


139 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Freeview
If, like me, you don't trust yourself to get Sky because you're scared you'll never leave the house again, so you thought Freeview was a good alternative but now find it really isn't, allow me to introduce one of the few gems you can actually get on Freeview.

Squeezed in between E4s almost incessant diet of, like you know, teen dramas (One Tree Hill, The OC,...
Published on 20 Feb. 2009 by Dan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
The show gets better with each season.
Published 8 months ago by Melissa


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

139 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Freeview, 20 Feb. 2009
By 
Dan (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
If, like me, you don't trust yourself to get Sky because you're scared you'll never leave the house again, so you thought Freeview was a good alternative but now find it really isn't, allow me to introduce one of the few gems you can actually get on Freeview.

Squeezed in between E4s almost incessant diet of, like you know, teen dramas (One Tree Hill, The OC, 90210 and even Reaper on poorer episodes), lurks the fabulous Big Bang Theory.

Describing it as a series of 19 minute (yes, seriously folks - it must be good if the US networks figure they can squash 11 minutes of ads around it and still keep their audience) episodes in the life of two geeky scientists who live opposite a blonde waitress is as inadequate as saying Fawlty Towers was about a cross bloke in a hotel.

Firstly, the character of Dr Sheldon Cooper really is up there amongst the all-time great comic creations. Coupled with his much put-upon flatmate Leonard, they are eerily reminiscent of the great line in master and servant comic double acts from Laurel and Hardy to Steptoe and Son (but with better teeth). I don't know if the creators always intended it this way, but I suspect they suddenly found they had this unbelievably eccentric, idiosyncratic, gauche character with a brain the size of a planet and simply knew they had to wrap the whole series around him. How else can one of the funniest episodes be simply about all the other characters avoiding him because he has a cold?

Then, the four supporting characters are all well realised and much more than just foils for Sheldon, which is where so many character driven comedies fall down. I particularly love Howard, the seven stone jewish Love God and his very shouty (but never seen) mother.

Best of all, though, is the incredibly tight script. For those of us who mourn the passing of the great US TV wordplays - The West Wing, Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, NYPD Blue, Deadwood and even back to the likes of Murder One in the mid 90s - this is a real breath of fresh air. Not a word is wasted, not an inflection missed and occasionally even the line not spoken is very, very funny.

As the box blurb says, this is comedy with affection, where no-one is especially mean to anyone else in the search for funny lines and where you will probably recognise and identify with bits of each of the characters. So, if you're scanning your Free-To-Air TV schedule with dismay that there's no Shameless or Dexter on, ignore the Mock the Week repeats on Dave (how many times can you watch them???), give Big Bang Theory a try and discover another rare Freeview gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WHOLE NEW UNIVERSE OF INTELLIGENT LAUGHS!, 8 Dec. 2009
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Well into its fourth season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is consistently brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now a 24 years old theoretical physicist PhD with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.
Best moment (a very hard choice to make): shouting at his sister, who was telling people that her brother is a "rocket scientist", that she might as well be telling them he is working at the bridge toll-booth!

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself, he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny.
Best moment: negotiating with Leslie Winkle (a fellow plain-looking but witty physicist and Sheldon's nemesis) their ...annual intercourse session to achieve "therapeutic sexual release" .

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD yet (and Sheldon never lets him forget it). An electrical engineer whose crowning achievement is a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle (and is now working on its liquid waste management solutions). The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, still lives with his mother, insists on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Best moment: diverting a military drone from its way to spying on the Russians, only to locate the house where America's Next Top Model is filmed - and be able to drop by and hit on the vulnerable one that gets kicked out that week!

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich doctor who drives a Bentley.
Best moment: after falling to give his name to Sheldon's beautiful sister, he comes back to get the flier requesting human test subjects for an experimental anti-shyness drug.

Finally, Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends - and from her neighbors.
Best moment: filling in a long medical questionnaire with Sheldon at the hospital. "Headaches?" "Well, I'm getting one now!"

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winning formula!, 29 Oct. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Take the snooty perfectionism of Niles from 'Frasier' and crank it up a good few notches; add a generous helping of Dustin Hoffman's Rain Man, including the lack of social skills; sprinkle liberally with the abrasive haughtiness of Doc Martin; add a twist of both Kenneth Williams from the 'Carry On' films and Julian Clary; then top with a light dusting of Mr. Bean and what do you get?

The answer is Sheldon Cooper, gifted theoretical physicist and geek extraordinaire, as arrogant, self-centred and narcissistic as he is childlike and loveable, and who is undoubtedly one of the finest comedy characters of all time - so much so that even the way he knocks on the door is hilarious!

Sheldon is what makes this brilliant sitcom really shine, but he is also aided and abetted by a motley ensemble of fellow geeks: the neurotic Raj, who can't talk to women without first necking some alcohol (and who reminds me of the hilarious 'Indian Keith' in 'Celebrity Juice'); the sleazy Howard, who is as obsessed with sex as he is unsuccessful at getting any, and who still lives with his belligerent, overbearing mother; and Leonard, who is just as pathetic as the rest of them, but who is their link to Penny, the 'blonde across the hall', and the world of 'normal people'.

I'd seen snippets of 'The Big Bang Theory' on TV and was generally unimpressed, but it was only when I watched it properly that, beneath the cheesy American feel (not least of which is the incessant and rather irritating laughter of the studio audience), I realised its utter brilliance. As epic and loveable as 'Friends' and 'Frasier', and as quirky and hilarious as the US version of 'The Office', this is a comedy that will rightfully take its place among the greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The nerds next door, 1 April 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
All the episodes of the first season of sitcom The Big Bang Theory are presented here in one dvd box set, with all seventeen episodes spread across three discs.

The show centres on two physicists who are roommates. Leonard and Sheldon. The latter is super smart but has no social abilities whatsoever. They're a classic comedy double act. With Leonard being the straightman to Sheldon's idiosyncracies.

Both are total nerds who have comic book collections and watch plenty of cult tv's and movies. But their life changes when free spirited girl Penny moves in across the landing.

Add in their friends Howard - super smart and super confident when it comes to talking to the ladies [although not so super when it comes to getting a girlfriend as a result of that] and indian Raj - too shy to talk to women - then you have a classic comedy line up. As the worlds of the nerds and the more normal one of Penny's collide. With hilarious consequences.

Each episode runs only nineteen minutes [approx] but that does help because it makes the scripts very tight and economical, and not a line of dialogue is wasted. There's plenty of science and comic and movie references, that should raise a smile to anyone familiar with them. And even if you're not they're still pretty funny as jokes anyway.

Even the characters who could be annoying, such as Howard and Sheldon, are endearing enough despite that.

Sharp comedy, good characters, and a lot of fun. It makes for a great box set.

The dvds have the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Norwegian, Polish, Swedish.

Those who have a problem with flashing or fast moving images may want to be wary of the title sequence.

The only extra is a seventeen minute long feature about the creation of the show and the cast. The bulk of this is clips from first season episodes, but the interviews are pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's smashed beyond repair, what are you gonna do with it?" "What else? Sell it on eBay as slightly used.", 5 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Ahh, The Big Bang Theory, where do I begin?

First off, I hate most sitcoms. I find Friends repetitive and Chuck just irritates me beyond belief.
But this is something else.

Interestingly, I came across the Big Bang Theory on a flight home from Sydney to Heathrow. It was the first episode of season two. Amazed at how funny it was, I bought the whole of season 1 and watched it all in one day. It's freaking hilarious for five simple reasons:

1) Sheldon Cooper, one of the leads, is extemely intelligent but lacks basic social skills. He is quite horrible to people without realising and only Leonard, his roommate, can put up with him.
2) The banter between Sheldon and Penny. This should come under point 1), but the banter is so funny that it merits its own category. Penny, a waitress, never understands what Sheldon is talking about, so Sheldon patronises her all the time making fun of her supposedly limited intellect. This annoys Leonard because he really fancies Penny.
3) The intelligent jokes told. The jokes aren't like jokes in other sitcoms, you have to know a certain amount of Maths / Physics to know some jokes.
4) Rajesh Cuthrapali and Howard Wolowitz. An Indian who is terrified of women and can't speak around them and a horny Jew who lives with his mother.
5) All the little characters that come in. Missy, Sheldon's attractive twin sister, Sheldon's mum, Howard's never seen but heard mum, Rajesh's parents on his webcam, Leslie Winkle and the owner of the Chinese restaurant are just a few extra characters that make the sitcom ten times funnier.

I have pre-ordered season two because I love The Big Bang Theory so much.

Just to summarise, watch an episode on Youtube or something if you haven't seen it yet, and if you like it buy it because you're missing out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly brilliant, 24 Nov. 2008
By 
Simon Oxley "Soxley" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I'm not normally a fan of american 'canned laughter' sitcoms, but this programme had me howling. Being a bit of a geek myself I completely empathised with Leonard (and more worryingly, Sheldon at times). If you don't mind a raucous laughter track after every line give it a try, it's one of the most well written and intelligent sitcoms I've seen in a long time. I hope the american TV fatcats don't do what they normally do when they occassionally stumble onto a gem, cancel it after 2 series'.

Live long and prosper, Big bang theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant!, 16 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The Big Bang Theory is just about the best comedy show I've enjoyed in a long time. The other reviewers say it all much better than I can, just to say I've watched every episode - and watched them all again, and still laugh out loud and want more! The characterization is just brilliant, I love Sheldon for all his flaws and quirks. ( Jim Parsons acting is superb. )
You can't help but feel sorry for Leonard, who always seems to lose out in relationships, especially with the lovely Penny. He tries so hard and is so likeable.
The desperate Howard is so creepy, but it's hard not to hope he gets the girl, any girl!! And Raj, again, is such a nice guy, but hopeless to the point of not being able to speak around females, unless drunk, and then he turns into superstud! It's all so wonderfully written, acted and produced. It's totally addictive and every episode is a short feast to be enjoyed again and again. If you love great comedy and nerd-ish oneliners, along with clever storylines and superb characters and acting, this is as good as it gets. Enjoy!
PS, When Sheldon asks the guy, " What kind of computer do you have, and don't say a white one." That's about my limited knowledge of computers, and I know even less about physics, and I still adore this excellent show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, funny and extremely enjoyable, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
Callistoangel (Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A bunch of nerds, a cute girl, an apartment block with a lift that doesn't work - how much fun could it possibly be? Well, actually, it's lots of fun. The Big Bang Theory has been running on E4 for sometime now but that doesn't reduce its appeal in the slightest.

Leonard and Sheldon are housemates who also happen to be genius-types (although Sheldon might dispute that anyone other than he is misidentified). Sheldon has absolutely no social skills, no recognition of social norms and believes that he is a superior being. His housemate Leonard is somewhat less lacking in social skills and has a massive crush on the cute blonde girl, Penny, who has moved in across the way. Add to the mix Raj and Howard, an Indian with a complete inability to talk to women and a sex-mad Jewish guy who still lives with his mother, and hilarity ensues. The episode where they go to a fancy-dress party at Penny's apartment is one of my favourites.

This is smart, witty television. There is no nastiness, just good-natured humour. A knowledge of fantasy and science-fiction will help a lot, as a lot of the references are to those genres.

The episodes are short but never fail to result in a genuine laugh-out-loud response.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Both Worlds, 23 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I find some comedies to be very funny, reeling out gag after gag, but failing to keep you engaged with the charaters or plot lines, and leaving you bored after a few episodes. A perfect example is "Will and Grace" which was hilarious, yet devoid of warmth or depth and I find a lot of US comedies like this.

Other comedies are more light and entertaining, not always that funny but with strong characters and storylines. I think this fits a lot of Brisith comedies, but a good US example is "Friends", a comedy which could go an episode without being that funny, while remaining exremely watchable and fun.

The Big Bang Theory is the first comedy i've seen which perfectly combines both. Sure, there are elements to this comedy i don't like - Howard's creepiness and the occasional recourse to embarassment humour fo example - but for the most part this serious is incredibly funny AND highly addictive. Sharp lines, strange situations, sharp observational humour and social commentary and brilliant use of phsyical comedy are all combined with a progressive story line, likable characters and a real sense of depth and compassion.

Watch and watch it in the right order if you want to get the most out of it. Hopefully you'll love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Physics For The Masses, 10 Feb. 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The Big Bang Theory is about two well educated guys sharing a house - Sheldon, a physics genius, who's just not very street wise at all, and has a lot of quirks; and Leonard - still a geek, but he's more versed in the ways of dealing with society and other people. He still isn't perfect though.

His friends are bizarre too, Raj cannot talk to women unless he's had a few drinks and Howard is just a bit creepy at times, but he seems to be a good friend to Sheldon and Leonard.

When Penny (Kaley Cuoco - 8 Simple Rules) moves in across the hallway, the boys are a bit baffled by her and not sure what to do. Leonard decides he wants to be with Penny, but Raj just can't talk to her, and Howard just annoys her, and she is just not used to Sheldon's bizarre ways. Penny herself is a waitress at The Cheesecake Factory - and has a great personality. She can be a bit materialistic at times, but she's the usual 20 something girl.

This show is usually good, but at times you feel the cast don't gel as well as they should. The laughter track is absolutely annoying and you learn to filter it out. My favourite has to be Leonard as he seems a bit more human - but Sheldon is rather annoying at times and you just wish you could get him to snap out of it. Penny is also great, and Raj is really funny.

My favourite episode has to be the one where they convince a Korean boy not to come to the faculty - as Sheldon becomes impossible when the boy insults his work.

The DVD is really poor though - not even DVD9s - you get 3 DVD5 disks which only fill 80% of the disk. The picture is rather compressed and not as good as it was on TV, and HD viewers are going to be very disappointed with the transfer. There are no extras but piles of subtitles - so you should find the language you need easily. It's really disappointing, plus the mix is only 2.0 - whereas on Channel 4 it was full 5.1, which made the swooshing sound as they moved from scene to scene a bit more glorious, now it's just a let down.

Good show, shame about the less than average DVDs. I'm giving the 4 stars for the show, the DVD deserves no stars at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009]
The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] by Johnny Galecki (DVD - 2009)
£6.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews