Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


138 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Freeview
If, like me, you don't trust yourself to get Sky because you're scared you'll never leave the house again, so you thought Freeview was a good alternative but now find it really isn't, allow me to introduce one of the few gems you can actually get on Freeview.

Squeezed in between E4s almost incessant diet of, like you know, teen dramas (One Tree Hill, The OC,...
Published on 20 Feb 2009 by Dan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
The show gets better with each season.
Published 2 months ago by Melissa


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

138 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Freeview, 20 Feb 2009
By 
Dan (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
If, like me, you don't trust yourself to get Sky because you're scared you'll never leave the house again, so you thought Freeview was a good alternative but now find it really isn't, allow me to introduce one of the few gems you can actually get on Freeview.

Squeezed in between E4s almost incessant diet of, like you know, teen dramas (One Tree Hill, The OC, 90210 and even Reaper on poorer episodes), lurks the fabulous Big Bang Theory.

Describing it as a series of 19 minute (yes, seriously folks - it must be good if the US networks figure they can squash 11 minutes of ads around it and still keep their audience) episodes in the life of two geeky scientists who live opposite a blonde waitress is as inadequate as saying Fawlty Towers was about a cross bloke in a hotel.

Firstly, the character of Dr Sheldon Cooper really is up there amongst the all-time great comic creations. Coupled with his much put-upon flatmate Leonard, they are eerily reminiscent of the great line in master and servant comic double acts from Laurel and Hardy to Steptoe and Son (but with better teeth). I don't know if the creators always intended it this way, but I suspect they suddenly found they had this unbelievably eccentric, idiosyncratic, gauche character with a brain the size of a planet and simply knew they had to wrap the whole series around him. How else can one of the funniest episodes be simply about all the other characters avoiding him because he has a cold?

Then, the four supporting characters are all well realised and much more than just foils for Sheldon, which is where so many character driven comedies fall down. I particularly love Howard, the seven stone jewish Love God and his very shouty (but never seen) mother.

Best of all, though, is the incredibly tight script. For those of us who mourn the passing of the great US TV wordplays - The West Wing, Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, NYPD Blue, Deadwood and even back to the likes of Murder One in the mid 90s - this is a real breath of fresh air. Not a word is wasted, not an inflection missed and occasionally even the line not spoken is very, very funny.

As the box blurb says, this is comedy with affection, where no-one is especially mean to anyone else in the search for funny lines and where you will probably recognise and identify with bits of each of the characters. So, if you're scanning your Free-To-Air TV schedule with dismay that there's no Shameless or Dexter on, ignore the Mock the Week repeats on Dave (how many times can you watch them???), give Big Bang Theory a try and discover another rare Freeview gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Bang Theory- Season 1, 15 May 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
To be completely honest I didn't really like `The Big Bang Theory' when I saw it on TV first. I found the idea interesting and some of the jokes funny, but never really laughed out loud. Then I saw an episode from a later series and found it hilarious and went back to this with a fresh eye and I found it a LOT more appealing. Following genius' Sheldon, Leonard and their friends who live in a nerdy parallel universe to everyone else, this has some great science based jokes. Sheldon is easily the funniest character with his literal interpretation of everyday events and his cold, logical reasoning, but the other characters raise many a laugh as well. The actor who plays Wolowitz is especially funny as a perpetually horny nerd. To see how they want to interact with `normal' people (especially the hot neighbour Penny) is quite endearing as they battle between their high IQ look of the world and wanting to be involved in regular social situations and this makes for plenty of funny scenarios. Each episode is only about 18 minutes long and these are great to put on when you have a few minutes spare. If you know a bit of basic science then these jokes will be all the more funny, but it is in no way a prerequisite. Well worth a look and if you don't like it first time round it's worth trying again. Never has geek chic been so funny.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WHOLE NEW UNIVERSE OF INTELLIGENT LAUGHS!, 8 Dec 2009
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Well into its fourth season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is consistently brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now a 24 years old theoretical physicist PhD with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.
Best moment (a very hard choice to make): shouting at his sister, who was telling people that her brother is a "rocket scientist", that she might as well be telling them he is working at the bridge toll-booth!

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself, he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny.
Best moment: negotiating with Leslie Winkle (a fellow plain-looking but witty physicist and Sheldon's nemesis) their ...annual intercourse session to achieve "therapeutic sexual release" .

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD yet (and Sheldon never lets him forget it). An electrical engineer whose crowning achievement is a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle (and is now working on its liquid waste management solutions). The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, still lives with his mother, insists on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Best moment: diverting a military drone from its way to spying on the Russians, only to locate the house where America's Next Top Model is filmed - and be able to drop by and hit on the vulnerable one that gets kicked out that week!

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich doctor who drives a Bentley.
Best moment: after falling to give his name to Sheldon's beautiful sister, he comes back to get the flier requesting human test subjects for an experimental anti-shyness drug.

Finally, Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends - and from her neighbors.
Best moment: filling in a long medical questionnaire with Sheldon at the hospital. "Headaches?" "Well, I'm getting one now!"

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly brilliant, 24 Nov 2008
By 
Simon Oxley "Soxley" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I'm not normally a fan of american 'canned laughter' sitcoms, but this programme had me howling. Being a bit of a geek myself I completely empathised with Leonard (and more worryingly, Sheldon at times). If you don't mind a raucous laughter track after every line give it a try, it's one of the most well written and intelligent sitcoms I've seen in a long time. I hope the american TV fatcats don't do what they normally do when they occassionally stumble onto a gem, cancel it after 2 series'.

Live long and prosper, Big bang theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Both Worlds, 23 May 2009
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I find some comedies to be very funny, reeling out gag after gag, but failing to keep you engaged with the charaters or plot lines, and leaving you bored after a few episodes. A perfect example is "Will and Grace" which was hilarious, yet devoid of warmth or depth and I find a lot of US comedies like this.

Other comedies are more light and entertaining, not always that funny but with strong characters and storylines. I think this fits a lot of Brisith comedies, but a good US example is "Friends", a comedy which could go an episode without being that funny, while remaining exremely watchable and fun.

The Big Bang Theory is the first comedy i've seen which perfectly combines both. Sure, there are elements to this comedy i don't like - Howard's creepiness and the occasional recourse to embarassment humour fo example - but for the most part this serious is incredibly funny AND highly addictive. Sharp lines, strange situations, sharp observational humour and social commentary and brilliant use of phsyical comedy are all combined with a progressive story line, likable characters and a real sense of depth and compassion.

Watch and watch it in the right order if you want to get the most out of it. Hopefully you'll love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Physics For The Masses, 10 Feb 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The Big Bang Theory is about two well educated guys sharing a house - Sheldon, a physics genius, who's just not very street wise at all, and has a lot of quirks; and Leonard - still a geek, but he's more versed in the ways of dealing with society and other people. He still isn't perfect though.

His friends are bizarre too, Raj cannot talk to women unless he's had a few drinks and Howard is just a bit creepy at times, but he seems to be a good friend to Sheldon and Leonard.

When Penny (Kaley Cuoco - 8 Simple Rules) moves in across the hallway, the boys are a bit baffled by her and not sure what to do. Leonard decides he wants to be with Penny, but Raj just can't talk to her, and Howard just annoys her, and she is just not used to Sheldon's bizarre ways. Penny herself is a waitress at The Cheesecake Factory - and has a great personality. She can be a bit materialistic at times, but she's the usual 20 something girl.

This show is usually good, but at times you feel the cast don't gel as well as they should. The laughter track is absolutely annoying and you learn to filter it out. My favourite has to be Leonard as he seems a bit more human - but Sheldon is rather annoying at times and you just wish you could get him to snap out of it. Penny is also great, and Raj is really funny.

My favourite episode has to be the one where they convince a Korean boy not to come to the faculty - as Sheldon becomes impossible when the boy insults his work.

The DVD is really poor though - not even DVD9s - you get 3 DVD5 disks which only fill 80% of the disk. The picture is rather compressed and not as good as it was on TV, and HD viewers are going to be very disappointed with the transfer. There are no extras but piles of subtitles - so you should find the language you need easily. It's really disappointing, plus the mix is only 2.0 - whereas on Channel 4 it was full 5.1, which made the swooshing sound as they moved from scene to scene a bit more glorious, now it's just a let down.

Good show, shame about the less than average DVDs. I'm giving the 4 stars for the show, the DVD deserves no stars at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see!!!, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest series ever, it's clever, observant and really enjoyable, I want to see all the other series now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing since Frasier, 4 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
It always takes me a while to get beyond the canned laughter but having done so this is a gem. The writing is witty and all the characters are developed. The theoretical physicist, Sheldon, has the makings of a comedy classic but the writers seem smart enough to know that he is the most annoying person in christendom and use him judiciously. As the season progresses each of the characters starts to come into their own. At the end of the series you are left with the feeling that if only the writers would go a little bit further they could create something special. This (mild) criticism is answered in season 2. I imagine having secured another series they have the confidence to really have some fun. More.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV show in Years, 16 July 2009
By 
Captain Awesome (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I'm a geek, pure and simple. I tick most of the regular topics like star trek, knowing my way around a computer, loving gadgets and pretty much living on the web.
This matters because this show appeals to me because of that.
It's unashamedly intelligent, not the standard vapid American sitcoms that are so prevalent these days on tv.
Sure, I don't get some of the physics stuff, but it's entertaining because it's not predictable.

The episodes are pretty short, but on DVD that doesn't matter so much and mostly having 6-episode series in the uk, it's still a huge improvement on that.

Where else would you find two guys with a combined IQ of 360 as the main characters?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Bang, 7 Aug 2009
By 
G. Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
When I first heard of the series I didn't fancy it because of the name, but then I happened to come across it and started watching the second series, both my husband and I enjoyed it so much we bought the first series, and in 3 weeks we have watched it thro 3 times, hilarious. Can't wait for the second series to be available in Oct, killing us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009]
The Big Bang Theory - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] by Johnny Galecki (DVD - 2009)
£6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews