Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Addition
It is heart warming that EMI have chosen to issue another Fivepenny Piece CD. On the downside, and no criticism of the group, eight of the 23 tracks are repeats from the earlier "Best of..." CD, while the title Brown Photographs, in one form or another, appears 3 times in this Collection. Still, it's all great. Buy both releases. You will certainly enjoy them but, for...
Published on 17 Mar. 2007 by Stuart Williamson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not their finest
I thought would replace my scratched vinyl with this compilation, a mistake. Though it contains some recordings I had not heard before I am going to presume they are outtakes as they do not seem to have the quality of the vinyl recordings. This lack of quality shows most on recordings like Ee By Gum and Big Jim which are not a patch on the originals. As these were among...
Published 27 days ago by Steve F


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Addition, 17 Mar. 2007
By 
Stuart Williamson (Los Angeles, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is heart warming that EMI have chosen to issue another Fivepenny Piece CD. On the downside, and no criticism of the group, eight of the 23 tracks are repeats from the earlier "Best of..." CD, while the title Brown Photographs, in one form or another, appears 3 times in this Collection. Still, it's all great. Buy both releases. You will certainly enjoy them but, for those who know, this is only a taste, a tease as it were, of the material that should be available. It is high time EMI offered the entire collected works of The Fivepenny Piece on CD as an anthology boxed set - everything from the early LP's, the two "On Stage" performances from the Broadoak, onto the later classic King Cotton and more. Through song and poem, these recordings not only entertain but recall the habits, the happiness, the hardships and importantly the humour of life throughout the industrial North, especially Lancashire, while Britain transformed from ruling an Empire to more modern times. Far too good to be left gathering dust in the recording vaults of EMI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking Back, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
M. Hall "a Brit" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many moons ago and living close to Ashton-under-Lyne, I regularly heard this band on local radio and sometimes on regional TV, they were good, their music original and their humour very northern, so therefore funny - finding this disk on Amazon, was brilliant, not expensive, a piece of my history, great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stocking filler for my step dad., 6 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. A. J. Cropper (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Step dad has been a big fan for as long as I can remember and I have grown up with him singing strange songs about a big worm called Jim and other strange songs I thought he had made up. Only found out they where done by five penny piece when I was in my late teens. He loved the gift as he does not have any of there albums on CD and no record player anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but..., 10 Oct. 2010
By 
keven64 (Burnley, England) - See all my reviews
...but as Stuart says - EMI should release a boxed set of the old albums on CD's !
It is long overdue.

The re-release of the old albums, as originally recorded - with the right songs in the right order - would be very welcome.

Two albums per CD is not likely a problem, to keep costs low - and that would be better than not at all.

Keven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hear Hear!, 31 July 2009
By 
Mr. J. Elliott "Jim" (Esh Winning, Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would also like to wholeheartedly agree with Stuart. I have many of the group's vinyl recordings and would love to see them digitised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great !!, 30 Mar. 2007
Agree whole-heartedly with Stuart, especially with regard to EMI issuing a full anthology boxed-set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neglected Treasures., 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fine collection of songs produced by the Meeks and Radcliffe siblings, along with their friend Eddie Crotty, producing material rooted in their Lancashire background

Most of the songs are penned by John Meeks and Colin Ratcliffe, and from the social comment on King Cotton (from their most successful album of the same name) and Old England, to love songs like Look Into My Eyes, comic material, Fred Fanackapan and Weight Watcher, and my own favourite Big Jim, a marvellous song for children of all ages that deserves to be played each year on Ed Stewart's Christmas Day show.

Linda Meeks was a superb performer, being both a fine singer and an outstanding storyteller evidenced in the moving rendition of Miss Nightingale, the much-loved retired schoolteacher.

It is sad that Liinda Meeks, George Radcliffe and Eddie Crotty have all died and will miss any deserved retrospective appreciation of their talents.

This collection of twenty-three songs is part of their legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk music from Lancashire, 26 July 2011
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was surprised to learn that the Fivepenny Piece never became full time professionals, all of them maintaining their day jobs. This makes their success all the more remarkable. While their music was rooted in folk, specifically in the area of Lancashire from which they came, they did not stick rigidly within that genre and dedicated folk fans didn't always appreciate their music, especially as they recorded plenty of comedic material.

At the serious end of their repertoire, King Cotton reminds us of how the Lancashire cotton weaving industry grew, flourished and declined. However, many of their songs are more light-hearted, as exemplified in such songs as Hear all say all say nowt, Paddle your own canoe, Fred Fanackapan, Big Jim, Ee by gum and Weight watchers.

This compilation contains several tracks that were also included on what I think is the only previous CD release of their music, but those were among their mo0st popular tracks. One day, maybe we'll get a lot more of their music on CD, but I won't hold my breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not their finest, 7 April 2015
By 
Steve F (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought would replace my scratched vinyl with this compilation, a mistake. Though it contains some recordings I had not heard before I am going to presume they are outtakes as they do not seem to have the quality of the vinyl recordings. This lack of quality shows most on recordings like Ee By Gum and Big Jim which are not a patch on the originals. As these were among my favourites it may be colouring my opinion of the album as a whole but I still prefer listening to the old vinyl, scratches and all, to this. I may purchase the CD copies of the original albums but regret trying to this on the cheap with this compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fivepenny Piece - Finest Collection, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
W. Baker (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unless this is your first album by Fivepenny Piece, inevitably there will be tracks you have already on other albums but with a total of 23 tracks, there will be plenty you don't have, all of which are an absolute delight. The nostalgia of tracks like Brown Photographs, good old fashioned folk songs like Ashton Mashers and King Cotton and the tongue-in-cheek comedy songs in which this highly talented and versatile group excel, like Ee By Gum and Weight Watchers combine to make this a truly enjoyable and highly entertaining album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Finest Collection
The Finest Collection by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£5.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews