Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Christmas music with a touch of bluegrass
Emmylou originally recorded this in 1978, when she was at the peak of her popularity. The instrumentation is generally sparse but effective, allowing Emmylou's voice to shine.
The set opens with the bright, upbeat Christmas time's a coming, done bluegrass-style with banjo and mandolin. All the remaining songs are slow to mid-tempo. They include the Rodney Crowell...
Published on 9 Nov. 2004 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
good
Published 3 months ago by Willy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Christmas music with a touch of bluegrass, 9 Nov. 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Emmylou originally recorded this in 1978, when she was at the peak of her popularity. The instrumentation is generally sparse but effective, allowing Emmylou's voice to shine.
The set opens with the bright, upbeat Christmas time's a coming, done bluegrass-style with banjo and mandolin. All the remaining songs are slow to mid-tempo. They include the Rodney Crowell song Angel eyes, the Irish lullaby Golden Cradle and several Christmas standards, most very famous but including Beautiful star of Bethlehem which doesn't get recorded as often as the other carols here.
The album closes with the brilliant Light of the stable, which features Neil Young, Dolly Parton and Linda Ronstadt on harmony vocals.
Emmylou and her band were in top form when they recorded this album. A couple of extra upbeat songs might have made this album even better, but it's still a great album for those quieter moments around Christmas time.
This re-mastered edition features improved sound quality and three extra tracks, previously unreleased (There's a light, Cherry tree carol, Man is an island) making this even better value than the earlier edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the classic Christmas albums, 12 Dec. 2012
It may be unknown if you compare it to the Jim Reeves or Elvis Christmas albums but artistically this is a fine album and its where the seeds of the Trio projects were first planted.
This Rhino CD is remodelled and expanded from the original 70s one and is mainly of traditional songs.
Beautiful Star Of Bethlehem may be the most obscure songs here but it was first made by the Phipps Family on the Pine Mountain label in the 60s-wrongly credited here as Philips
With new sleeve notes it now has a Christmas card sleeve replacing the original one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do people love vinyl, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first CD I owned was the first Trio CD, and this has replaced cared for, but imperfect vinyl, with clear sound and a little bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I have always loved Emmylou's voice and have yet to come across a ..., 1 Mar. 2015
By 
S. Williamson "The Quizman" (Gt. Yarmouth, Norfolk, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Back in the 1970's I worked for WEA who released this album in GB. I had no idea that it was available on CD ( I have the vinyl copy).

I have always loved Emmylou's voice and have yet to come across a bad album and had the good fortune of seeing her live (with The Hot Band) when she was at her peak. Her version of O Little Town of Bethlehem and the haunting title track must be heard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bargain and customer service of the year!!, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album did not arrive by the date specified but, when I contacted the supplier, a replacement was sent IMMEDIATELY!
i was greatly impressed by this and recommend this dealer very highly indeed!!

The album is superb - a terrific mix of Xmas songs done in the best Emmylou style.

How they do it at this price, I just don't know - simply wonderful !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a super LP for all Emmylou Harris fans, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a super LP for all Emmylou Harris fans. Don't walk by - buy it!

An album that's both rootsy and restrained,
Harris is backed by a top-notch group of Nashville pros,
but the prettiest track is probably the a cappella version of "The First Noel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas classic, 26 Dec. 2004
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This Christmas country classic has been enhanced by the addition of three tracks. Everything Emmylou touches turns to gold. She brings the same elegance and authenticity to Christmas that she always has to the varied genres her career encompassed.
The hopeful and uptempo Christmas Time's A Coming opens the album, the familiar Away In A Manger with its beautiful mandolin is straightforward but touching, whilst Angel Eyes is a sad slow ballad. Her voice really soars on The First Noel, while Little Drummer Boy gets a sensitive, graceful treatment. Perhaps it's childhood nostalgia, but her renditions of The First Noel and Star Of Bethlehem really stirred my soul.
Most of her best work has always been infused with a spiritual quality, and this is perfectly showcased on her deeply moving version of Silent Night. I was tempted to give this album only four stars since the albums Stumble Into Grace, Red Dirt Girl and Wrecking Ball have spoilt me. But I can't!
Light Of The Stable is a brilliant album that perfectly captures the moods of Christmas, with lovely instrumentation and vocals. The best of the new tracks are Cherry Tree Carol and the moving Man Is An Island, composed by the Canadian folk legends Kate and Anna McGarrigle. Once again, Emmylou provides the perfect soundtrack to Christmas. Born is the King of Israel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's great to now have it on CD, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the original vinyl version of this record. It's great to now have it on CD,, and with extra tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born is the King of Israel!, 17 Dec. 2004
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This Christmas country classic has been enhanced by the addition of three tracks. Everything Emmylou touches turns to gold. She brings the same elegance and authenticity to Christmas that she always has to the varied genres her career encompassed.
The hopeful and uptempo Christmas Time's A Coming opens the album, the familiar Away In A Manger with its beautiful mandolin is straightforward but touching, whilst Angel Eyes is a sad slow ballad. Her voice really soars on The First Noel, while Little Drummer Boy gets a sensitive, graceful treatment. Perhaps it's childhood nostalgia, but her renditions of The First Noel and Star Of Bethlehem really stirred my soul.
Most of her best work has always been infused with a spiritual quality, and this is perfectly showcased on her deeply moving version of Silent Night. I was tempted to give this album only four stars since the albums Stumble Into Grace, Red Dirt Girl and Wrecking Ball have spoilt me. But I can't!
Light Of The Stable is a brilliant album that perfectly captures the moods of Christmas, with lovely instrumentation and vocals. The best of the new tracks are Cherry Tree Carol and the moving Man Is An Island, composed by the Canadian folk legends Kate and Anna McGarrigle. Once again, Emmylou provides the perfect soundtrack to Christmas. Born is the King of Israel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews