Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give FF a run for its money (an in depth review)
Okay so I just beat this game last night, so I think I should provide input for those wondering whether to buy it.

First of all, if you like easy games you can just breeze through, i'd think again because you will not find this sort of gameplay on The Last Remnant, in my opinion I think this game is aimed at hardcore RPG game players.

As you may have...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by Paper Face

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Last Remnant XBOX 360
If your a fan of Square-Enix and enjoy some of there games,especially the Final Fantasy franchise,then will like this game.However it does feel as though the game was directed for a more Eastern audience. A light and enjoyable purchase.
Published on 24 July 2012 by Kyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give FF a run for its money (an in depth review), 18 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay so I just beat this game last night, so I think I should provide input for those wondering whether to buy it.

First of all, if you like easy games you can just breeze through, i'd think again because you will not find this sort of gameplay on The Last Remnant, in my opinion I think this game is aimed at hardcore RPG game players.

As you may have read complaints on other reviews, the bosses are difficult and are often linked together with no saves and in some cases in the SAME battle not giving you chance to heal but this all adds to the difficulty and the strategy aspect.

So first I'll start with the story

I was irritated at first with the storyline, as you can imagine from the title, the game is about Remnants but unless my concentration dipped somewhere, they never actually tell you what remnants are or why they are so important, yes, you know they are big powerful "things" but thats about as much as you get for a while.. but once it is revealed what they are, how they are, where they came from, their significance etc. etc. the story kind of.. falls into place and becomes very enjoyable and you do start to connect with the characters will.

The graphics are exceptional and consistant between roaming and battle, the occasional cutscene has improved graphics but it doesn't feel like a difference, which is enjoyable. The cutscenes themselves are extraordinary, without throwing in spoilers, somewhere in the game there is a one on one sword fight which i WISH i could watch again without having to play the game over.

Gameplay is great and even if you avoided any sidequests you're still looking at a lengthy game but sidequests are very beneficial in this game which you sometimes don't find in RPG's. Some provide you with equipment, others characters and also you can find new battle formations (which i will mention later) which are great.

Along with main quests and side quests, there are also guild tasks. The guilds are the places you find extra "main" party members. there are 3 different guilds and each holds a list of taks eg: "collect 3 dragon eggs" or "defeat the spiritlord" - and upon completion you get a reward, again as with sidequests, formations, items, money etc.

Now, onto the most important part of the game: The battle system.

I have to say, it is very confusing to begin with but stick with it because it will soon become one of the best battle systems you have ever played on.

One of the main differences from other RPG's and infact other Square Enix's, is that your party limit is not 3, 4, 5.. not even 10.. infact you eventually reach 18 active members with (thinking from memory) at least 30-40 to switch through and more to hire at guilds or soldier places.

Firstly, there are 2 types of units, "Battle Leaders" and "Soldiers"

Battle Leaders are your main characters and members you win from quests or hire from guilds. The main difference between Battle Leaders and soldiers, is that they level up even if they are not currently active but to what degree I don't know. They also have more dialogue and personality ie. Torgal will say "thankyou" if you heal him whilst a an old aquaintance of his from a guild might say "that was not necessary". However you can only use a set amount of Battle Leaders as they are significantly stronger than soldiers and the limit to how many you can use rises through the game.

Soldiers fill the rest of your party and become available later on in the game. You have a list of over 100 to choose from with varying races, stats, weapons and abilities and can become very strong if you keep them with you.

All the units talk during the battle which is a great addition but as i said leaders have personality's.

The days of worrying if all your members have the best gear is over, they brng their own gear and search for items to improve it.. after a battle if they see a drop that would improve their weapons they will ask for it.

The battle setup itself is very exciting, you fight as unions of 1-5 members each eg. my setup was 5 - 5 - 4 - 4 (members in each union) and instead of choosing individual actions for the characters to take, you make a group decision eg:

Attack with Combat arts:
Member 1 - Attack
Member 2 - Smash
Member 3 - Acala's Wrath
Member 4 - Attack
Member 5 - Attack

or

Attack with Mystic arts:
Member 1 - Wind Shear
Member 2 - Spark
Member 3 - Caustic Blast
Member 4 - Attack
Member 5 - Attack

as you can see some members, if they don't have an ability or not enough AP (attack points, which accumilate through the battle) do the standard attack.. but they sometimes automatically "re-assess" depending on the fight situation, for example, if you complete a critical chance chain (which are very common, where you press a certain button to increase an attacks power) the last member may do this:

attack -> reassess -> Mighty Smash

So if you were thinking "wow, 18 members, must be very easy" think again.. This game throws the hardest and lengthiest battles at you i have ever experienced and they only get harder and longer as the game progresses thanks to the "Battle Rank" system.

The game has no experience points, instead your individual stats and battle rank will rise independantly and Battle Rank is the one to watch.

Battle Rank, is kind of like "Game Difficulty" in disguise, the higher your rank, the harder the monsters and bosses get but i wouldn't let that put you off cos you need to have good stats to beat any of the bosses. as i mentioned, some link and alot enjoy doing multiple AoE (area of effect) spells. There is one boss in particular which stresses everyone out and as i've seen on a forum, takes many people multiple tries.

The enemies are adaptive and do not use just one attack, if you use lots of magic they might silence you and if you go to raise an ally from the dead they will try to intercept you.

Boss battles can last up to half an hour and even regular battles can be lengthy depending on how many you have drawn into battle or if they have the cavalry call skill which i HATED which brings more enemy unions into battle.

Finally, each union can be set in different formations which you can unlock through the game.. for example.. "Battle Crown" is an ideal Melee union formation, it raises attack and defence. While Mystic Shield, you guessed it, is great for magic casters.

I could literally go on about the game for ages but I will leave the rest up to you.. If you love RPG's and equally love a challenge buy it now.. if you enjoy games you can complete with your eyes shut, i'd think again.

One down point is the jumpiness in battles due to the vast ammount of information being processed but you soon re-adjust to it and don't notice it.. my suggestion is to install the game to hard drive. Each Disk is roughly 6GB and if you don't have 12GB space you can install disk1 play that and then disk2

five out of five and praying for either a sequel or a game with a similar battle system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is An RPG You Will Love And Want Play Time And Time Again, 12 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Allow me to introduce myself I am the Official SuperRaveman but known as Lance Jenkins and this is my review on The Last Remnant. I was standing in gamestation and was holding infinite undiscovery and this game and decided to buy this that was about 2 years ago I think. And I have completed this game 4 or 5 times now and still I don't get bored of it. The storyline is quite gripping and really sucks you in. The battle system yea you have teams called unions and you have to sort a formation out for them. And you can only choose either Combat, Item, Weapon or Mystic arts for that union but that's what I love about it cos isn't too complex its simple and easy to do. The boss battles is the most enjoyable cos the bosses can be quite hard especially The Fallen there are loads of bosses in this game and the music is amazing. If I had to choose final fantasy or this it would be a hard choice cos they both are amazing games. There are loads of different combat and mystic arts for you to master which is quite fun if your a final fantasy fan like i am. But all in all this game will always welcome you to play it again and again and relive the gripping story which is The Last Remnant. I recommend this game with the highest respects as its one you will learn to love and enjoy. So go on buy this game and trust people you won't even regret it. And also go onto Xbox Live even on a standard account and download the free content which is. Challenge Pack 1: Purgatory sins, Challenge Pack 2: The Price Of Lies and The Key To The Ancient Ruins. Get these to maximise your gaming experience for The Last Remnant trust me they are worth it. Well this is my review with a few tips. Well I'm SuperRaveman and I say good luck and buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best rpg this gen!!!, 31 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is probably the hardest review I've ever had to do, The Last Remnant is such an underrated game that even I myself have forgotten about many times but it is without a doubt the, if not one of the best rpg's this generation and is far greater than that of Lost Odyssey, I shall tell you why.

For starters lets talk about the story, you start out as Rush Sykes (still a better name than Edge Mavrick) as he searches for his sister, pretty simply stuff there. Along the way he encounters a huge war in which the player directly takes control of, battles in this game are essentially huge wars like in the Suikoden games, but they are all done in turn based and not in strategy form. After the battle Rush falls into a huge hole after a huge remnant (god-like machines), the gae bolg fires a huge energy blast annihilating everything on the battlefield (you even get to use this as an attack later).

After falling through the hole Rush ends up in a cave and encounters a warrior woman named Emma and I'll have you know that she is not your stereotypical female protagonist. She interrogates rush believing that he is a spy and the panicking rush spills the events that happened before the start of the game, Emma doesn't believe him but reluctantly tags along with him. At the end, Rush meets a marquis (Monarch) David who just happens to be the guy who fired off that huge weapon, Rush's informality causes him to get a rollicking from Emma. The story goes on from there as David offers to assist rush in finding his sister which leads to many conflicts as the truth behind the story unfolds.

The story may not be everyone's cup of tea as it is very political, fans of Final Fantasy Tactics and the likes will probably enjoy it more than others but the plot does become more appealing later on, overall i would say that the plot is very complicated and many may have trouble in following the plot at times as a lot of twists happen all at once, in the end the plot follows a huge conspiracy but i won't spoil the details.

Now that that is out of the way, let us talk about the game play as it is the game's strongest point and weakest point somewhat, let me explain, in the Xbox 360 version, you are only able to equip rush, this is a huge problem which is fixed in the PC version (if you can run it, get it, it is better) but in terms of content, The Last Remnant is unequaled for a jrpg at least, in fact it probably has just about as much content as a wrpg like oblivion with tonnes of quests, guild tasks (a task list which rewards players upon completion, similar to that of Tales Of Graces F where you gave to bring an item and get rewarded, i.e you do not have to start the quest which is good as these quests are essentially the fetch quests of the game), secret dungeons, secret towns, secret places, secret super bosses, rare mobs, I could go on and on, this game seemingly lasts forever, heck, if you somehow manage to beat all the quests in the game, you get to fight a super powerful version of the final boss (similar to Indalecio without the limiter from star ocean the second story) essentially turning him into a super boss, Wow.

As for the battles themselves, this game is ridiculously hard later on in the game as this game is heavily strategy based and the battle system itself is extremely complicated but I will try my best to explain whats what.

The Last Remnant doesn't offer a party of 4/5 people, you can have up to 25 people in battle (by the end anyways) and all these people are split between unions (essentially you have 5 separate parties) each union has a leader, leaders can be recruited at guilds/via side quests but you can also use the main cast. The rest are simply mere infantry whom you can deploy into a union, this is where the pre-battle strategy comes in as you need a balanced team of fighters for every situation though some times you need to sacrifice numbers and have 3 huge unions with lots of health, this can he helpful against aoe's (which occur very often) but with less unions you have less control over the battlefield and you will likely get raid locked more often (i'll explain that in a bit) plus if enemies have instant death moves/bewitchment moves, you will struggle with just 3 unions, so you may want 5 unions.

Also you will want to decide how big you want your unions to be, some attacks (even regular attacks) can 1 hit ko a member of your union but if they ko an infantry, it's fine, if they kill the leader, you are botched and can't do anything but if you only have a leader in your union, you are terminated right off the bat. so you want to make sure you have enough people in a union to prevent this. Also some attacks are union aoe's which deal extreme damage to big unions but small damage to small unions so you'll need to bear this in mind, the bigger your union, the more protected your leaders are and without leaders, you have no control, so choose wisely.

Once all that has been sorted out, you can go into battle, battles are turned based and at first appearance they work similar to controlling the magus sisters in Final Fantasy X but if you want a specific move selection then you can press X which shows a list of all the moves you can perform, now depending on the situation you are in will depend on the moves you can perform, at the top there is a morale bar, the higher it is, the higher the chance of getting stronger attacks, but the lower it is, the more chance the opponent will have stronger attacks, in most boss fights it will be extremely low, especially in huge wars where you have 8 unions on the enemy side who raid lock you. All in all, my advice is not to worry too much about morale for it will likely be in the red zone most of the battle, but there are ways that you can alter it slightly, performing critical hits, keeping your unions in good shape and deadlocking enemies can increase your morale bar by a lot, but beware, this can be countered easily on the enemy turn.

You also have AP to manage too, the higher your AP the better moves you can perform, the combat is not random like most people say, the moves you have are based on your actions earlier, proper preparations can save your life later so standing by to restore AP is encouraged, especially in long boss fights because you might need it for a huge resurrection spell/weapon arts.

Generally you want a healer, dps and a tank, but you can have two more tanks in battle if you have 5 unions to take the heat off the healers who will be vulnerable to deadlocks from the enemy, in battle you have a choice to deadlock or to stand by and buff/heal, some battles may even require you to march towards the enemy should you be too far away from them, you can even cast spells long range too. once deadlocked, you are stuck with that enemy until it is killed, if you cancel a deadlock to target another enemy, they will raid lock you which will bolster their morale and give you a huge beating, so cancel deadlock at your discretion, the only real reason why you would want to cancel a deadlock is if you need emergency healing, you can even heal and attack at the same time if the situation allows it but doing this will deadlock you with the enemy so unless you are already deadlocked I would refrain from doing it.

Once all the enemies on the battlefield are beaten you win....or you see "Reinforcements" appear on your screen, if you do, prepare for another wave of enemy unions who will gladly raid lock you should you let them. now to talk about all these terms, dead lock is when you aggro an enemy, apparently enemies can deadlock as well but I've never seen it, usually it's a raid lock, same with you as well, I've never seen my unions raid lock them but whatever, they mean the same thing anyways. if two unions dead lock the same union, it is called a flank attack and it goes on and on, should you decide to do that, but be warned as dead locking a single union can lead to the enemy raid locking you. There is also interference, when either you/the enemy is dead locking/raid locking, they can get interfered by something else trying to deadlock them, an interference is stronger than a regular dead lock and it forces the other union into a deadlock, it is essentially a successful tanking maneuver And finally terminated is essentially the death of a union.

Now lets talk about all the out of battle stuff, towns work similar to that of Final Fantasy 12 but you can move from place to place swiftly as by leaving an area in the town brings you to the town map which is convenient for you don't have to move through districts in a linear fashion, moving from place to place on the world map is the same too. Now onto the dungeons/field segments, enemies appear on the field so no random encounters, to encounter an enemy you have to press the left trigger (or was it the right i don't remember) if they hit you first though, they get the advantage. there are also dig sites which will come to play early on in the game which you can farm for materials which you can use to craft your equipment/ guild tasks etc.

And finally lets talk about the graphics and the soundtrack, the graphics are sub-par, The Last Remnant used the unreal engine but doesn't necessarily push it to it's limits, there are also some severe frame rate issues which has led to poor reviews. As for the soundtrack, it is simply awesome, the town music is great and gives that bustling and imperial feel, whereas some are more calmer and softer songs for towns which do not have a remnant/marquis or are simply smaller, sadly in the second disk most of the town themes become the same after a specific event. The field music is great too, some are catchy, some are epic, some are atmospheric, you name it. Where this game excels in are it's battle themes which are all simply put bad-ass, if you want music with heavy guitar riffs and percussion, this is the game for you, for this game has in my opinion, the best VGM guitarist, Tsuyoshi Sekito who pushes the guitar to it's limits in this game. So when rush says "come on, lets kick some A" you know why.

Overall The Last Remnant is an excellent game which is highly underrated, if you are a hardcore rpg fan and you want a challenge with lots of content, this is the game for you this gen, if not I'd recommend Star Ocean The Last Hope instead for it has almost just about as much content as The Last Remnant but it is much easier and far more accessible though I'd recommend you read my review of that game before you get it though, there is also Tales Of Vesperia which is highly critically acclaimed this gen but I haven't played it yet. Overall I'd say this stand above all of them.
-----------------------------------
Story/Plot: 7.2
Presentation: 6.5
Graphics: 7.0
Music: 9.0
Game play: 9.7
Lifespan: 10.0
Replay Value: 8.0
-----------------------------------

Overall: 9.2

-----------------------------------

Get the PC version if you can, otherwise, this version is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the last remnant, 18 Sep 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
excelent game, and in very good condition. very happy with my purchase. i would reccomend this game to any1 who likes there turn based RPG games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique experience, 27 Feb 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Straight from the word go, it becomes pretty obvious that this game is not going to be like most other rpgs. This is a far bigger story with a bigger and bolder battle system.

For the battles, gone are the days of several characters attacking several enemies, in The Last Remnant, full scales battles are the order of the day and require you to really plan out just how is the best way to go about winning. Choose the wrong tactic and you can easily send a unit to their death. This is not a particularly merciful game and does contain quite a steep learning curve, however as soon as you become used to the battle system, you can really start to appreciate the style and uniqueness of this game. While not being able to choose your exact actions may be frustrating at first, you grow to realise that you can easily increase your chances for your desired moves by playing around with your teams and strategies.

A very impressive aspect of this game is the sheer number of characters set within. There is no need to choose only the main characters, instead there are hundreds of mercenaries dotted around the world you can recruit as your personal entourage and an equal number of soldiers to fill up the ranks.

In terms of the graphics, the last remnant can be both praised and scorned. Praised for astonishing backgrounds and fairly accurate lip synching with characters, however scorned for occasional graphic lags as you will often see a character go from looking fairly dull and undefined, to suddenly vibrant and detailed.

The storyline and script are nothing groundbreaking and at many times just seem to exist to try and explain away amazing coincedences. However there are occasional moments of humour and some intelligent writing at times.
As for the voice acting, don't expect anything spectacular as for the most part you will want to mute several of them.

The two main criticisms i have for this game are that it does not explain itself well and it relies too heavily upon xbox live downloads. For the first of these points, the levelling up system is very different to a standard rpg and even the most experienced of gamers will often find they need to restart after their first attempt at the game. As for the second point, while having free downloads for a game is always a good thing, square enix does not seem to care for its non xbox live using customers and does seem to adversely affect them.

Overall I would definitely recommend this game for anyone who appreciates rpgs or strategy games. Though I would stress to look up tips on how to play the game before actually starting, just to prevent having to restart 20 hours in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Purchase, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought this for my son and the comment he gave was that if you like Turnbased RPGs then you would like this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super!, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Only one thing to say about it! Great stuff! Huge world to explore and even more things to do, to see and who doesn't love Square Enix Games!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I got this game for my friend and it was here in no time at all. the cover of it was abit errr but the disc was good so he was happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a fan!!!!, 16 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Addictive game , well presented not even a single scratch on the disc. The delivery was fast ,I've noticed no issues with the game at all!..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Last Remnant XBOX 360, 24 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If your a fan of Square-Enix and enjoy some of there games,especially the Final Fantasy franchise,then will like this game.However it does feel as though the game was directed for a more Eastern audience. A light and enjoyable purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Remnant (Xbox 360)
The Last Remnant (Xbox 360) by Square Enix (Xbox 360)
22.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews