Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing drift of sound--great for spacing out
Nearly everyone who uses a computer is familiar with at least one piece of Eno's work; he wrote the little 3 second Windows booting-up music for Microsoft.
This album is a perpetual favorite, one of the New Age genre classics. Divided into 4 sections ("1/1," "2/1," "1/2," and "2/2"), it soothes the listener with repetitive piano and synthesizer motifs, and adds the...
Published on 18 Mar. 2004 by Joanna Daneman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring
Well as this is for airports that says it all, a little tedious repetitive and some what boring would I have bought it if I had listened to it before. That has to be a definite NO I previously liked B E music but I will be careful with buying his music again I suppose one can use it for back ground music but that really is all one can use it for maybe to really switch off...
Published 1 month ago by Mr Knight


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 22 Jan. 2004
By 
M. J. Axtell "Jimmy Luxury" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are a student like me and you need solace, peace and tranquility in which you need to revise or whatever, this album is the perfect solution. It's so simple it is almost criminal, but at the same time it sooths and can sometimes inspire. It drifts in and out of your consciousness without you noticing, but when the record ends, you think to yourself "damn, i really enjoyed that". Class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Relaxing and Studying, 23 Nov. 2009
By 
Daddy-O (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I recently re-bought this. I originally bought it in about 1982 when I went to University (Surrey). I used it for 5 years, relaxing and revising.

It really is what it's meant to be. Music for Airports is a kind of music that you play in the background. But it has an amazing penetration.

It is astoundingly creative, fresh, up, happy, uplifting and relaxing all at the same time.

Buy it, play it, then ignore it. Then it works.

The other great track is Thursday afternoon. Mr Eno is a genius regardless of all the extra work he did for Roxy Music & U2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well as this is for airports that says it all, a little tedious repetitive and some what boring would I have bought it if I had listened to it before. That has to be a definite NO I previously liked B E music but I will be careful with buying his music again I suppose one can use it for back ground music but that really is all one can use it for maybe to really switch off and fall asleep to it will do that I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Music for Airports, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eno's influence on modern music cannot be over-emphasized and this CD was a during move at the time. No serious pop-artistiek had tried this before and he put ambient music in the limelight. Personally, I think this is the kind of music I would not sit down and listen to for, but it's nice background music which it was intended for in the first place anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a landmark album in the ambient movement, decades ahead of its time, Eno created a new genre with this album; and one which absolutley stands the test of time, despite being 35 years old, it still astounds with its tightly controlled soundscapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like it or hate it., 24 Oct. 2011
I have seen the bad reviews for this and honestly it's going to be no different than any other album. Some you like some you don't. Personally I rather like this album. It's classic ambient, just put it on and let it blend into the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 7 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
eno is a genius.i love the whole airport theme.its just the stuff to listen to stood in an airport leaving an amazing place.sounds weird but you will agree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 7 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
eno is a genius.i love the whole airport theme.its just the stuff to listen to stood in an airport leaving an amazing place.sounds weird but you will agree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best place to start and to finish with old Brian, 29 May 2013
If you can overlook the eye make-up and feather boas of the early era, the tiresome doodlings with Old Mother Fripp, the appalling U2 noise and some rumours of scallywag behaviour and egotism (Gavin Bryars and Jon Hassell evidently have little truck with him), then this album can certainly calm jaded nerves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
C. J. Evans (Northampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 1/Music For Airports (MP3 Download)
Just the best ambient CD ever made. It is beautiful in its simplicity. A fabulous chill album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews