Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alison Balsom, Bach - Works for Trumpet
Released in January 2006, this is the second CD from Alison Balsom - the third if you include The fam'd Italian master' released on the Hyperion label in 2003, which was music performed by various brass players and The Parley of Instruments group.

The title itself is interesting. It suggests that all the works are written by Bach, but this is only partially...
Published on 11 July 2006 by Mart

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Surprise
A very talented performer and a good production. She is technichally a real talent and I would look out for other productions.
Published 14 months ago by D. A. O'KANE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alison Balsom, Bach - Works for Trumpet, 11 July 2006
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Works for Trumpet (Audio CD)
Released in January 2006, this is the second CD from Alison Balsom - the third if you include The fam'd Italian master' released on the Hyperion label in 2003, which was music performed by various brass players and The Parley of Instruments group.

The title itself is interesting. It suggests that all the works are written by Bach, but this is only partially true, and none of them were originally scored for the trumpet. In fact, Bach wrote no works specifically for solo trumpet, only pieces such as the Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 can be found as possible examples of Bach's affinity to the instrument. The two pieces not wholly Bach are the concerto in D, written as a violin concerto by Vivaldi, and the concerto in C minor by Marcello. Bach's contribution was to transcribe these pieces from their original orchestral arrangement to a solo harpsichord work. The further transcription to trumpet not only adds a further chapter to the history of these pieces, but presents them in a way which I think both Bach and Vivaldi would wholeheartedly approve.

The two concertos are amongst my favourites of this disc, in particular the beautifully arranged and performed presto from Marcello's C minor concerto. My clear favourite however is track 17, the soaring third movement from the concerto in C, written originally as a harpsichord concerto (BWV 1055). This is Bach at his finest, and the precision playing, of organ as well as Alison's trumpet, produces work of almost regal or ceremonial feel.

Other works such as the cello suite no.2, and badinerie from orchestral suite no. 2 are familiar favourites and will make the music more immediately accessible to the listener.

Worthy of mention are Colm Carey (organ), Alina Ibragimova (violin), Alistair Ross (harpsichord & chamber organ) and Mark Caudle (viola da gamba) who all contribute much to this Works for Trumpet.

To gain the most satisfaction from the CD I recommend listening to the original versions. EMI have quoted the BWV numbers for each piece so it will prove an easy task to track down the music and hear it in its original form. A time consuming and costly exercise maybe, but ultimately rewarding.

Alison's subsequent award of Young British Classical Performer of 2006 will have deservedly helped sales of this CD.

If you like Bach, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully uplifting, 24 Aug 2011
By 
Petra Bryce "bookworm" (Malvern, Worcs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Works for Trumpet (Audio CD)
I love Baroque music for trumpet, and Alison Balsom captures the playfulness of it beautifully. All the pieces on this CD are adaptations for trumpet from Bach's chamber music (as well as arrangements that Bach had adapted himself from pieces by Vivaldi and Marcello), accompanied very effectively by Colm Carey on the organ, Alina Ibragimova on violin, Alistair Ross on harpsichord and chamber organ, and Mark Caudle on viola da gamba. By combining modern trumpet with organ, these pieces open up another dimension in one's listening experience and enjoyment of music; purists might be skeptical about it, but it is definitely worth listening to. Showing consummate skill, Alison Balsom plays each note crisply and clearly with perfect control, and as someone who used to play the trumpet myself, I know that this is by no means an easy task. My particular favourites are the allegro of the concerto in D, the largo of the concerto in C minor, and the badinerie from the orchestral suite no. 2.

All too often we make the mistake of having music on in the background, whilst doing the housework for example, but this CD deserves to be listened to without distractions. Wonderfully uplifting, it will improve any rainy day. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach Works for Trumpet - Alison Balsom, 14 Jan 2006
This review is from: Bach: Works for Trumpet (Audio CD)
My choice for Classical CD of the Year - and it's only January! This is an awesome display of the art of trumpet playing, a combination of musicality and virtuosity of the highest standar. The music chosen displays her remarkable technique throughout the range of the instrument. and the various accompanying artists contribute to making this a memorable recording. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb performance, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Works for Trumpet (Audio CD)
Alison Balsom is recognized rightly for having brought the trumpet to prominence as a classical instrument. She brings the range of the instrument to previously unreached levels - a delight to listen to her playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singist, 12 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Works for Trumpet (Audio CD)
Yet another beautiful CD from Alison Balsom. This is perfect Sunday breakfast music, or late night, or any time anywhere. The playing is clear and precise and the pianissimi playing is superb, controlled and perfect, but then I'm a fan - and who wouldn't be - of this consummate artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful combination of insruments, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Works for Trumpet (Audio CD)
Not only the beautiful trumpet sounds but also some tracks with the organ accompaniment,I find quite stunning.
Anyone who likes Bach will be delighted with this wonderful recording. Buy it you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, great, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Bach: Works for Trumpet (Audio CD)
cd is beautifull i like the performer i'd like to meet her someday
This album is dream come true for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trumpet Music, 2 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. Norman Dickinson (Lancaster, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Works for Trumpet (Audio CD)
Well pleased with this CD. I needed to include some trumpet music in my collection and Alison Balsom is a superb player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So talented, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Works for Trumpet (Audio CD)
I saw Alison develop at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester where she was an obvious star on the rise. Her easy style - no matter what she is playing makes her music so beautiful and enjoyable. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My wife thinks I love Alison, 30 April 2011
This review is from: Bach: Works for Trumpet (Audio CD)
I don't even know her, but her playing is the absolute best. Almost makes me feel like giving up, and I've been playing longer than she. You will not to my knowledge find anything played better anywhere than she does it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Trumpet And Organ
Bach: Trumpet And Organ by Alison Balsom
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews