Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old ones are the best!
Short and simple, any CD which has the best songs from the first three albums on it is a must for all of the long standing Lindisfarne fans with dog eared copies of Fog on The Tyne.
It is just nice to here all of the old stuff again with out the static from the much played LPs.
BUY IT!
Published on 15 Dec 1999

versus
201 of 208 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EMI? - No Integrity Left It Seems
I absolutely LOVE Lindisfarne, and if you are new to their music then you're in for a major treat, assuming you have a folk-rock inclination. This is a wonderful selection of Lindisfarne tracks, and I should know, I grew up listening to these songs every day. This is fantastic music.
But let's discuss the actual merits of this release by EMI. My reviews focus on the...
Published on 25 Jan 2005 by Remaster Bob


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

201 of 208 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EMI? - No Integrity Left It Seems, 25 Jan 2005
By 
Remaster Bob (Hong Kong, China SAR Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
I absolutely LOVE Lindisfarne, and if you are new to their music then you're in for a major treat, assuming you have a folk-rock inclination. This is a wonderful selection of Lindisfarne tracks, and I should know, I grew up listening to these songs every day. This is fantastic music.
But let's discuss the actual merits of this release by EMI. My reviews focus on the sound quality of discs and they are regularly veto-ed by Amazon.co.uk for the simple reason that they are generally unfavourable. For some reason the guidelines on customer reviews dictate that you should not talk about the sound quality! How perverse and potentially fatal is that?
Compact discs have now been remastered three even four times already, and unless customers can keep tracks on which version they are about to buy, they will get rapidly disillusioned, as I have. Online vendors like Amazon MUST get this information absolutely correct; they must TELL US!
This review of mine will probably be veto-ed as well. Because the simple truth is that after releasing this exact collection in 1989 (adding just a couple of worthless "Bonus" tracks) it has been re-issued in "2003", without ANY attempt at remastering. I have been mislead. I'm writing this so that YOU won't be mislead.
This is not a fabulous "2003" remastering of a brilliant collection of Lindisfarne's best tracks.....this is the same lousy 1989 engineering standard that (surely!) we are all beginning to recognise as the greatest failure in product standards ever known in the music industry. Maybe any industry!
Amazon! - allow this review because you have customers with decent Hi-Fi's and decent EARS!
EMI Gold - Shame On You! You couldn't even spend the money on a remastering job FOURTEEN years on! That's disgraceful. YOU ARE KILLING YOUR OWN INDUSTRY - don't you realise that?
This product also displays an interesting piece of information: "This label copy information is the subject of copyright protection" (verbatim) - which is a new and secret way of saying "This disc has been encoded with Copy Protection code so that in less than 10 (maybe 5....) years it will prove to unplayable on any new Hi-Fi equipment".
Go on amazon.....get with your customer interests and start publishing reviews like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old ones are the best!, 15 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of, the (Audio CD)
Short and simple, any CD which has the best songs from the first three albums on it is a must for all of the long standing Lindisfarne fans with dog eared copies of Fog on The Tyne.
It is just nice to here all of the old stuff again with out the static from the much played LPs.
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 20 track collection, 16 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
Forget all of the sub-standard Lindisfarne compilations on the market which regularly contain live versions of their Charisma-era tracks. This is a collection of the Charisma material in it's original form including the hits 'Meet Me On The Corner', 'Lady Eleanor' & 'All Fall Down' along with the well-known 'Fog On The Tyne' + selected album tracks & B-sides. An added bonus is the inclusion of two previously unreleased Alan Hull-penned tracks. 'Sleeping' has a laidback vibe & is driven along by a melodic bassline. It's got a bit of a Lovin' Spoonful 'Daydream' feel to it, with quite a John Lennon-esque lead vocal from Hull & some great harmonies during the chorus. Even better is the slow & bluesy stomper 'Love In A Cage' which clocks in at 4:43 & contains some terrific harmonica & excellent vocal harmonies. The CD is smartly packaged & drummer Ray Laidlaw tells the history of the band in the sleevenotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geordie boys dun good !, 26 Aug 2009
By 
B. M. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
They brought a lot of fun to 70's/80's music

But there was some damn good songwriting and melodies.Alan Hull the main mover in the band is dead but his and the band's legacy lives on and on and on

If you were lucky enough to catch one of the band's immortal Christmas shows at Newcastle City hall you'd understand.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another poor recording,, 27 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
Glad i bought this so i can decide the tracks i like and buy the original albums, recording very thin and almost pirate like, come on EMI, either buck your ideas up, or scratch the EMI GOLD series, Update November 2013. I should have updated this review in 2009 when i bought a decent cd player. The sound quality is very good if played on a decent player, the cheap player gave a poor sound quality but then a lot of my cds sounded fine its just this one didn't, ah well all is fine now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oldies but Goodies, 24 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of, the (Audio CD)
The music is a memory from my youth, its great to hear the sound before they split up,the lyrics the singing is for anyone who appreciates lindisfarne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars EMI.....shame on you!!, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
First let me say that Lindisfarne are a great band!! Well crafted songs writing played by fine artists.
So im sure that when these songs were recorded way back when (The very early 1970s bar 2 songs) they sounded huge and with a great production (As my old vinyl does!!)
So quite why EMI has put out these tracks with such a poor production is mind boggling???
If i was a member of this band i would be most annoyed at how the bands work is represented here.
Alan Hull (R.I.P.) must be rolling over in his grave bless him!!
One of Britains great live bands deserve better treatment than this.

Look for another "Best of" and check the reviews regarding sound and production quality (song quality will NOT be an issue)

Richie.

Richie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No one came to criticise, no one to complain... BUT, 10 Jan 2010
By 
Fred Basset (in the doghouse) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
There ARE people with decent hi fi and (in my case) half-decent ears, and having played this CD through my Copland/Audio Note set-up, as soon as my ears stopped bleeding I rushed off to get out the original LPs and give them a spin - they have rarely been off the turntable since - perhaps this ghastly recording serves some purpose after all, if you have a Little Pink Thing to fall back on (hi fi joke)... as for everyone else, the better your hi fi, the more you love Lindisfarne, the greater will be your suffering... sorry...

EMI? I'll have to send you all to jail for doing this terrible thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Track list for a classic concert, 21 Nov 2010
By 
G. Booth (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of, the (Audio CD)
Here is the track list for those that want it. Meet me on the Corner, Lady Eleanor, All Fall Down, We Can Swing Together, Fog on the Tyne, Road to Kindom Come, Scarecrow Song, Winter Song, Clear White Light, January Song, Down, Wake up Little Sister, Together Forever, Alright on the Night, Go Back, Don't Ask Me.

Pretty much the running order of any classic Lindisfarne gig with only Marshal Riley's Army missing. I have seen them live more times than I can remember but the best times were in City Hall Newcastle and strangely enough St Georges Hall Bradford in the Christmas Concert series that they did some years ago. This compilation is the original Virgin Pickwick release from 1989 and suffers from a flat soundfield almost as though it was recorded through velvet curtains and the mike in a biscuit tin but if you play it on your car stereo and up the treble and bass it is quite jolly to listen to heading up the A1 or A19. Hifi quality this isnt sadly and my old vinyl pressing of Fog on the Tyne although having more crackles and scratches , certainly gets over the emotion in a more memorable way. If you are looking for a compilation to play at high volumes at parties then this will probably do well enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some great songs!, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
I like about 6 Lindisfarne songs and they are all on here. Especially Lady Eleanor. The others are not necessarily my cup of tea but a good album with all my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa50b7c24)

This product

The Best Of Lindisfarne
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews