Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An occasionaly overlooked masterpiece
It doesnt surprise me that this sits (at the time of writing) at 17 in Amazons order when selected via Bestselling. This album always seemed to fall somewhere short in a lot of peoples opinion. Not as punky as "Iron Maiden" not as polished as "Number of the beast" it seems to sit awkwardly between the two releases either side. But I love it. It has some of the best Maiden...
Published on 2 Feb 2007 by Paul

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware potential of horrendous whooshing surface noise
Just received this but upon playing was confronted with awful surface whooshing noise throughout both sides. Checked my copy of Iron Maiden and the same noise is present there but much much quieter. I believe this may be due to these reissues being picture disks but still ... suggest potential buyers bear this in mind!
Published 21 months ago by sean foster


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An occasionaly overlooked masterpiece, 2 Feb 2007
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
It doesnt surprise me that this sits (at the time of writing) at 17 in Amazons order when selected via Bestselling. This album always seemed to fall somewhere short in a lot of peoples opinion. Not as punky as "Iron Maiden" not as polished as "Number of the beast" it seems to sit awkwardly between the two releases either side. But I love it. It has some of the best Maiden tracks ever released, the kick ass Purgatory, Drifters and Wrathchild, the beautiful (yes beautiful) Prodigal Son, the foot tapping Twilight Zone. All great tracks supported by some solid fillers (although 2 instrumentals is perhaps a tad much) but the crowning glory has to be the unbelievable title track. Killers the song is, in my view, the best track Maiden ever wrote. All these years on and my neck hairs still stand up the second that cymbol and bass line start up. The album is worth the cost for the pure headbanging pleasure derived from that song (trust me my head damn near came off when they played Killers live the first time I saw them). But you dont just get one for your money you get 6 or 7 tracks of Maidens best stuff, not enough to warrant 5 stars I hear you cry-it is an album of 11 tracks after all. But you see the other tracks are still very good and how many Maiden albums have classics from start to finish? Go and listen to Number of the beast again and tell me you think all tracks match up to the singles or Hallowed be thy name. No this album is a great one, perhaps not their best, but definitely better than 17 on the Amazon ranks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget the arguments about the vocalists, its a great album!, 23 Feb 2005
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
I am a fan of other New Wave Of British Heavy Metal bands and kept this album and "Iron Maiden" kept on coming up as highly rated NWOBHM albums, so I decided to give them a try.
Prior to the perchasing of this album I was only a casual listener of Iron Maiden. I knew most of the "classic" songs ("Run To The Hills", "Bring Your Daughter...") but had not heard anything from the Di'anno era. I though I was taking a gamble, but it turns out that I made a good investment!
This album sounds very similar to their debut, but for me it just edges ahead with some superb tracks. Di'anno (singer) really makes his presence felt on this album with a powerful and very versetile voice which works extremely well with the subjects of many of the songs. He still retains the "punky" East-end accent from the first album, but manages to reach some high notes ("Twilight Zone")
The rest of the band also perform well on "Killers", which as I understand was recorded almost as a live album (being that the tracks were layed down in one take as though being performed live). New guitarist, Adrian Smith, seems to be able to work even better with Dave Murry than Dennis Stratton and the two play some great harmonic duets (although not as sublime as on Metallica's "Master Of Puppets") and superb solos (this can also be seemn in the video's available on the enhanced CD) such as in the opening instrumental "The Ides Of March". Steve Harris, on bass, is still the power house behind the beast that is Iron Maiden and, as on the first record, he is the main songwriter and lyicist.
Arguments as to who was/is the best Maiden vocalist aside, this is still a brilliant album and it is good to see that the Di'anno era isn't totally overlooked in Iron Maiden's live shows.
Highlighted songs are: "Wrathchild", "Killers" and "Twilight Zone"
9/10
Also recomended by myself: Iron Maiden - "Iron Maiden", Diamond Head - "Lightning To The Nations (White Album)" and Various - "New Wave Of British Heavy Metal '79 Revisited" (its out of print now, but if you see one get it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars and here's why, 17 May 2008
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
The official line on Killers is that it is a 'difficult' second album and, indeed, something of a blip in the career of Iron Maiden. This was certainly the view of the UK music press early in 1981 when the album was first released and it remains a kind of received wisdom to this day. Well, the received wisdom is wrong. Killers is a fantastic record for a number of reasons and I'll go as far as saying that it is actually my favourite Iron Maiden album. Nearly 30 years on I feel that the second Iron Maiden album is due a major re-evaluation. Here goes:

Killers is an important rock record and something of a game changer for the entire metal scene. It was the first Iron Maiden album to sell globally in any significant quantity. It made the top 20 just about everywhere and it put Maiden into the Billboard top 100 for the very first time. So Killers was a success- we've established that-it is also the right kind of success. The record is very, very hard. You could never describe Killers as a 'sell out.' If anything they've toughened up their sound.

Killers was the first Iron Maiden album to really gel on record. This might be down to the bands frantic touring schedule at this time; this is probably why the band sound so tight and focussed. The record also marks Martin Birch's production debut (what an improvement!), as well as Adrian Smith's debut as second guitarist: he had been in the band only a matter of weeks and yet his playing seems so assured, it is like he had always been there. The chemistry between Smith and Dave Murray is palpable, I must also say something about Clive Burr. What a drummer! And has he ever sounded better than on here? Listen to him on 'Purgatory,' Respect is due! Killers was also Paul Dianno's final Maiden record. Paul is remembered (and sometimes dismissed) as a sort of punk singer but his vocals on Killers are powerful and operatic. Listen to how he holds the note towards the end of 'Drifter' (around the 4.07-4.17 mark). Yeah, Paul rocks.

Granted, the album lacks a 'Phantom of the Opera' or a 'Remember Tomorrow' but it is- undoubtedly-an album with a soul. The cover art is cracking too. Play loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head & shoulders above everything else they have ever done, 4 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
Quite simply their best album. A great combination of heavy metal aggresion, melody and strong songs that they have never managed to achieve again.

As for all this reference to a "punk" influence; this is total nonsense. I can remember when this and the previous album came out and neither I nor any of my school friends would have anything to do with the punks of the late seventies. This is a total 1990's distortion of musical history that the values of NWOBHM had anything to do with the "it's not fair, I don't care" punks of that decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raw appeal, 13 Oct 2002
By 
Justin Stringfellow (Poole, Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
A great rock album. Iron Maiden were still a couple of albums away from becoming the more familiar formulaic metal band that they became in the later 80s. The album seems to be packed full of more instrumental songs than any of their others, and so Paul DiAnno's singing is far less intrusive than Bruce Dickinson's - yet when he does sing, it's punchy and to the point. The other members of the band follow suit.
There's a definite feel to this album, it seems rawer, much punkier than their later offerings, and I think that this helps it stand up better. Number of the Beast was a definate classic; but Maiden tainted it by recording a bunch of very similar-sounding albums for the next few years. Not so Killers.
It's difficult to review an album that meant a lot to you personally - but I genuinely think that this is a classic album - if you want to understand Iron Maiden, buy the first three albums - "Iron Maiden", "Killers", and "Number of the Beast". You don't need to know anything more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirit level fringes and cardboard guitars a go go..., 7 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
Killers is what british music should sound like.
Not as instantly catchy as their Debut, and not as honed and polished as "Number of the beast" or "Piece of Mind", it nonetheless has an air about it few bands of that time could really match.
The sounds of the time were more mainstream riffage (Saxon and Angelwitch being good examples...both great NMOBHM outfits in their own right)... but Killers stepped away from the Quo style guitar waving, and got on with being a bit more grown up.
I have given it 5 stars, as its deserving of nothing less, but it does have some small draw backs.
Firstly, there isn't an instant super track on here. Sure there are great songs that stand up brilliantly live. "Murders in the Rue Morgue" and "Twighlight Zone" are masterful tracks, the former being my personal favourite on the album. "Killers" is also a great song, with some classic lead momments. But even these songs can't make the album gel as well as their other early efforts. The slower, more lucid songs like "Prodigal Son" and innocent exile, while again, great songs from a stand alone point, seem to disjoint the over all record a little.
I have no idea where the "punk" sound is on this record? Unless late 70's punk was played with any real skill, twin guitar attacks, a decent vocalist or any kind of melody that lasted more than 1 and a half minutes??? The media have a lot to answer for on this whole "punk" issue surrounding the Debut and Killers.
Di'Anno's vocals are near perfect on this record, and suit the early sound down to the ground. Dickenson is a briliant singer too, and suits their now more grander style and production, but back in the days of yoof Maiden, he was perfect.
The same goes for Adrian Smith. The proof of the pudding is in the ability of the members. He had ability in bucket loads and really lets rip on this album.
The only track on the album that sounds like aytypical NWOBHM is "Twilight Zone". The riff could be Saxon, Jaguar or even early Priest. Mercyful Fate spring to Mind instantly too.
Over all a great album. Not Maidens break into the super league. For that they had to wait until Number of the Beast, but this album is a real progression on the first and deserves 5 stars without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of difference and brilliance, and metal, 21 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
This second album killers, was at the time before Iron Maiden canged dramatically, and stayed with a certain style. The album opens with a phenominal instrumental, with a brilliant riff that will get you humming. It is followed by "Wrathchild" with one of Maidens best known and most loved tunes. Each song has a catchy opening, great (and mainly loud) melodies, and makes you want to hear it again and again. The speedy solo's full of energy and skill, and stick in your memory like glue! This album along with their others of the first twelve classic, is remastered, with beter quality, song videos and full lyrics included. Add this to your collection, NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars End of a brief era, 17 July 2009
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden, the album, was largely a collection of stuff that had been in the group's live armoury for years. The follow up, I presume, was a whole different writing proposition. Although there are a number of hangovers from the Iron Maiden era (the album), the rest had to be hammered out within studio deadlines as a professional full time working group. On the plus side Martin Birch stepped into the production hot seat, bringing in big group experience, and the group's artwork jumped from the faintly ridiculous head of the first album to the murderous axe wielding Eddie on the second.

The result is a much darker and possibly more one dimensional album than 'Iron Maiden'. The subject matter, like the cover art, is comically morbid throughout, and this is reflected in the harder, simpler and edgier sound to the songs. Standout cuts are the angry single `Wrathchild', with its meaty thumping bass intro and Dianno's East End punky vitriolic vocals, the repetitious `Another Life', 'Murders In the Rue Morgue' and `Innocent Exile'. Treading water is the odd choice of single `Purgatory', which suffers from the non-LP single Twilight Zone's syndrome of lacking any real direction and/or commerciality, and Genghis Kahn, which is another pointless instrumental to rival the equally pointless 'Losfer Words' on Powerslave.

Ultimately Killers is less accessible than its predecessor and takes longer to warm to. It was the end of the road for singer Dianno, and the limitations in him are perfectly encapsulated in the musical limits on this. The fact that it's also difficult to fathom what he is singing half the time may have contributed to his ultimate departure - I defy anyone to work out the lyrics to the verses in either Twilight Zone or Purgatory.

Still - turn it up loud, particularly the harder songs such as Killers or Drifter, and it remains an enjoyable romp and remains a fitting and well respected epitaph to the relatively brief Dianno fronted era for the band.

Bring on the Air Raid Siren....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal at its best, 22 Sep 2008
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
I now own all of Maidens albums. Over the last few weeks i have listened to them all, and this one has to be their best. I really love that raw early sound which they had but appeared to lose once bruce took over. dont get me wrong, bruce did a fantastic job and i really think the number of the beast is his best record with the band. but there is something very special about the sound the band had on the first two albums. something that has never been repeated. When the band released 'no prayer for the dying' in 1990 they were trying to recapture that sound they had around the time of killers. they never recaptured that great sound. Paul Dianno did a great job on this record, the production is top notch. Because of the poor production on the first album his voice didn't come accross that powerful. Thats why any new maiden fan who likes fast energetic music should start here. This album is full of classics. The ides of march intro suits the record perfect and murders in the rue morgue shows off the speedy side of their music. And lets not forget the fantastic 'Another Life' which has some fantastic maiden solos. The title track screams out at you and is probably one of their heaviest songs. This album is real Maiden. Its raw, energetic, dark, has some great time changes and just shows off what maiden were all about. Its a real shame Dianno called it a day after this. In some ways, it was a good thing bruce joined because he did take them to new levels and they were able to try new things. But this is Maiden as they were. I am a big fan of the new albums but they just don't have that power this one has. An album you will never get bored of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enduring, exciting Maiden !!!, 22 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
Killers is a great great album. Before, thrash and death and grind and speed, there was MAIDEN. I like all the above types of music, but Iron Maiden is where it all started. Killers is one of those records that you truly have to listen to again and again before its great sound shines through.
On first listen (especially if you've got the debut album)it seems disjointed and maybe a bit "punky" (punk it is NOT). Listen to it enough and hopefully you'll start to pick up little bits of subtle style and structure that just make the album a solid whole.
The whole Dickinson/ D'Ianno debate rages ever on. Dickinson ain't singing on this cd, so end of story. Live with it.
Murders in the Rue Morgue is a great maiden master piece, very powerful and "angry", with a bit of a naive sounding structure. Which to be fair just adds to its nostalgic value.Its excellent live too...even with Dickinson singing!!!
There are a few long-ish instumentals on this album. Ides of March breaks the album wide open but isn't as pacy as I would have liked. Luckily the rest of the album belts along in true early Maiden style. Genghis Khan is just a great piece of guitar based music.
Killers Is another angry D'Ianno focused song that fits in well with whole feel of the album.
Twighlight Zone, on a finishing note, sounds a hell of lot like a Toned down 'Merciful Fate'. I feel its the one track on the album that doesn't blend with the others. Its still good though !!!
If you don't have killers, buy it, play it, leave it and play it again. If you don't like it after a while. My apologies.
One last thing. I am partial to listening to old punk as well as metal. This album has NOOO connection, sound wise or lyrically to any punk record I have ever heard.
Buy this great Maiden masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killers
Killers by Iron Maiden
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews