Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An occasionaly overlooked masterpiece
It doesnt surprise me that this sits (at the time of writing) at 17 in Amazons order when selected via Bestselling. This album always seemed to fall somewhere short in a lot of peoples opinion. Not as punky as "Iron Maiden" not as polished as "Number of the beast" it seems to sit awkwardly between the two releases either side. But I love it. It has some of the best Maiden...
Published on 2 Feb 2007 by Paul

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware potential of horrendous whooshing surface noise
Just received this but upon playing was confronted with awful surface whooshing noise throughout both sides. Checked my copy of Iron Maiden and the same noise is present there but much much quieter. I believe this may be due to these reissues being picture disks but still ... suggest potential buyers bear this in mind!
Published 16 months ago by sean foster


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An occasionaly overlooked masterpiece, 2 Feb 2007
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
It doesnt surprise me that this sits (at the time of writing) at 17 in Amazons order when selected via Bestselling. This album always seemed to fall somewhere short in a lot of peoples opinion. Not as punky as "Iron Maiden" not as polished as "Number of the beast" it seems to sit awkwardly between the two releases either side. But I love it. It has some of the best Maiden tracks ever released, the kick ass Purgatory, Drifters and Wrathchild, the beautiful (yes beautiful) Prodigal Son, the foot tapping Twilight Zone. All great tracks supported by some solid fillers (although 2 instrumentals is perhaps a tad much) but the crowning glory has to be the unbelievable title track. Killers the song is, in my view, the best track Maiden ever wrote. All these years on and my neck hairs still stand up the second that cymbol and bass line start up. The album is worth the cost for the pure headbanging pleasure derived from that song (trust me my head damn near came off when they played Killers live the first time I saw them). But you dont just get one for your money you get 6 or 7 tracks of Maidens best stuff, not enough to warrant 5 stars I hear you cry-it is an album of 11 tracks after all. But you see the other tracks are still very good and how many Maiden albums have classics from start to finish? Go and listen to Number of the beast again and tell me you think all tracks match up to the singles or Hallowed be thy name. No this album is a great one, perhaps not their best, but definitely better than 17 on the Amazon ranks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget the arguments about the vocalists, its a great album!, 23 Feb 2005
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
I am a fan of other New Wave Of British Heavy Metal bands and kept this album and "Iron Maiden" kept on coming up as highly rated NWOBHM albums, so I decided to give them a try.
Prior to the perchasing of this album I was only a casual listener of Iron Maiden. I knew most of the "classic" songs ("Run To The Hills", "Bring Your Daughter...") but had not heard anything from the Di'anno era. I though I was taking a gamble, but it turns out that I made a good investment!
This album sounds very similar to their debut, but for me it just edges ahead with some superb tracks. Di'anno (singer) really makes his presence felt on this album with a powerful and very versetile voice which works extremely well with the subjects of many of the songs. He still retains the "punky" East-end accent from the first album, but manages to reach some high notes ("Twilight Zone")
The rest of the band also perform well on "Killers", which as I understand was recorded almost as a live album (being that the tracks were layed down in one take as though being performed live). New guitarist, Adrian Smith, seems to be able to work even better with Dave Murry than Dennis Stratton and the two play some great harmonic duets (although not as sublime as on Metallica's "Master Of Puppets") and superb solos (this can also be seemn in the video's available on the enhanced CD) such as in the opening instrumental "The Ides Of March". Steve Harris, on bass, is still the power house behind the beast that is Iron Maiden and, as on the first record, he is the main songwriter and lyicist.
Arguments as to who was/is the best Maiden vocalist aside, this is still a brilliant album and it is good to see that the Di'anno era isn't totally overlooked in Iron Maiden's live shows.
Highlighted songs are: "Wrathchild", "Killers" and "Twilight Zone"
9/10
Also recomended by myself: Iron Maiden - "Iron Maiden", Diamond Head - "Lightning To The Nations (White Album)" and Various - "New Wave Of British Heavy Metal '79 Revisited" (its out of print now, but if you see one get it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head & shoulders above everything else they have ever done, 4 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
Quite simply their best album. A great combination of heavy metal aggresion, melody and strong songs that they have never managed to achieve again.

As for all this reference to a "punk" influence; this is total nonsense. I can remember when this and the previous album came out and neither I nor any of my school friends would have anything to do with the punks of the late seventies. This is a total 1990's distortion of musical history that the values of NWOBHM had anything to do with the "it's not fair, I don't care" punks of that decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raw appeal, 13 Oct 2002
By 
Justin Stringfellow (Poole, Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
A great rock album. Iron Maiden were still a couple of albums away from becoming the more familiar formulaic metal band that they became in the later 80s. The album seems to be packed full of more instrumental songs than any of their others, and so Paul DiAnno's singing is far less intrusive than Bruce Dickinson's - yet when he does sing, it's punchy and to the point. The other members of the band follow suit.
There's a definite feel to this album, it seems rawer, much punkier than their later offerings, and I think that this helps it stand up better. Number of the Beast was a definate classic; but Maiden tainted it by recording a bunch of very similar-sounding albums for the next few years. Not so Killers.
It's difficult to review an album that meant a lot to you personally - but I genuinely think that this is a classic album - if you want to understand Iron Maiden, buy the first three albums - "Iron Maiden", "Killers", and "Number of the Beast". You don't need to know anything more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer!, 17 Jun 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
More of the same from these hip young upstarts. Hot on the heels of their searing debut, the Maiden boys are creating quite a stir in the new wave punk scene. Just wrap your ears around the title track - it's insane!

I jest, however a listen to this is like a trip back to the '80s (if you're too young, it wasn't as bad as everyone who lived through it says - it was a lot of fun and there was some great music. No, honest) and what a trip it is. In tone it is similar to their debut and is all the better for it, but the tracks are more thoughful and there's evidence of more emphasis on composition this time.

'The Ides of March' opens it well, an instrumental that doesn't overwhelm but sets the scene well for the overly groovy and completely un-Maideny 'Wrathchild'. A great slice of early Maiden that is unsurpassed. 'Murders in the Rue Morgue' follows as something of a minor classic, never played too many times anymore but such a catchy song and one of the first views into the future of the band, as 'Phantom...' was on the previous album. 'Another Life', Genghis Khan' and 'Innocent Exile' are all very good, mid-paced rockers but fall slightly short of classic status. Then 'Killers' kicks in. It is still a live favourite but Paul's voice is more suited to it than Bruce's. Say no more - stone cold classic. 'Prodigal Son' is a personal favourite as it is the least Iron Maiden sounding song ever. It is a beautiful ballad that only now are we hearing more of in their repertoire (Journeyman, etc). 'Purgatory' is much the same as the middle of the album - good, but no cigar. Then 'Twilight Zone', which isn't on my original vinyl, plays as a rather ghostly presence and it just about fits in with the rest of the album. 'Drifter' finishes it off nicely.

Despite a lot of the tracks being kinda filler, Killers is still a classic. It has many tracks still played live today and the cover art is still awesome and one of the all time great covers ever!!

Part of the flawless first 7 Maiden albums.

If you don't have it - why not? I am bursting with envy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the 2nd best, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Mark S (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
The 2nd best maiden album after "Iron Maiden", If you love maiden get "Iron Maiden", "Killers", "Number of the Beast", and "piece of mind". that is 75% of the best of iron maiden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars and here's why, 17 May 2008
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
The official line on Killers is that it is a 'difficult' second album and, indeed, something of a blip in the career of Iron Maiden. This was certainly the view of the UK music press early in 1981 when the album was first released and it remains a kind of received wisdom to this day. Well, the received wisdom is wrong. Killers is a fantastic record for a number of reasons and I'll go as far as saying that it is actually my favourite Iron Maiden album. Nearly 30 years on I feel that the second Iron Maiden album is due a major re-evaluation. Here goes:

Killers is an important rock record and something of a game changer for the entire metal scene. It was the first Iron Maiden album to sell globally in any significant quantity. It made the top 20 just about everywhere and it put Maiden into the Billboard top 100 for the very first time. So Killers was a success- we've established that-it is also the right kind of success. The record is very, very hard. You could never describe Killers as a 'sell out.' If anything they've toughened up their sound.

Killers was the first Iron Maiden album to really gel on record. This might be down to the bands frantic touring schedule at this time; this is probably why the band sound so tight and focussed. The record also marks Martin Birch's production debut (what an improvement!), as well as Adrian Smith's debut as second guitarist: he had been in the band only a matter of weeks and yet his playing seems so assured, it is like he had always been there. The chemistry between Smith and Dave Murray is palpable, I must also say something about Clive Burr. What a drummer! And has he ever sounded better than on here? Listen to him on 'Purgatory,' Respect is due! Killers was also Paul Dianno's final Maiden record. Paul is remembered (and sometimes dismissed) as a sort of punk singer but his vocals on Killers are powerful and operatic. Listen to how he holds the note towards the end of 'Drifter' (around the 4.07-4.17 mark). Yeah, Paul rocks.

Granted, the album lacks a 'Phantom of the Opera' or a 'Remember Tomorrow' but it is- undoubtedly-an album with a soul. The cover art is cracking too. Play loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirit level fringes and cardboard guitars a go go..., 7 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
Killers is what british music should sound like.
Not as instantly catchy as their Debut, and not as honed and polished as "Number of the beast" or "Piece of Mind", it nonetheless has an air about it few bands of that time could really match.
The sounds of the time were more mainstream riffage (Saxon and Angelwitch being good examples...both great NMOBHM outfits in their own right)... but Killers stepped away from the Quo style guitar waving, and got on with being a bit more grown up.
I have given it 5 stars, as its deserving of nothing less, but it does have some small draw backs.
Firstly, there isn't an instant super track on here. Sure there are great songs that stand up brilliantly live. "Murders in the Rue Morgue" and "Twighlight Zone" are masterful tracks, the former being my personal favourite on the album. "Killers" is also a great song, with some classic lead momments. But even these songs can't make the album gel as well as their other early efforts. The slower, more lucid songs like "Prodigal Son" and innocent exile, while again, great songs from a stand alone point, seem to disjoint the over all record a little.
I have no idea where the "punk" sound is on this record? Unless late 70's punk was played with any real skill, twin guitar attacks, a decent vocalist or any kind of melody that lasted more than 1 and a half minutes??? The media have a lot to answer for on this whole "punk" issue surrounding the Debut and Killers.
Di'Anno's vocals are near perfect on this record, and suit the early sound down to the ground. Dickenson is a briliant singer too, and suits their now more grander style and production, but back in the days of yoof Maiden, he was perfect.
The same goes for Adrian Smith. The proof of the pudding is in the ability of the members. He had ability in bucket loads and really lets rip on this album.
The only track on the album that sounds like aytypical NWOBHM is "Twilight Zone". The riff could be Saxon, Jaguar or even early Priest. Mercyful Fate spring to Mind instantly too.
Over all a great album. Not Maidens break into the super league. For that they had to wait until Number of the Beast, but this album is a real progression on the first and deserves 5 stars without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult 2nd album and it is brilliant, 6 Oct 2006
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
1981 and maiden release their 2nd album, and it's as good if not better than the debut. Harder, faster, better production and loads of classic songs like; Wrathchild, Murders in the Rue Morgue, Ghengis Khan, Killers, Prodigal Son and of course the blistering Drifter. My favorite Maiden album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of difference and brilliance, and metal, 21 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
This second album killers, was at the time before Iron Maiden canged dramatically, and stayed with a certain style. The album opens with a phenominal instrumental, with a brilliant riff that will get you humming. It is followed by "Wrathchild" with one of Maidens best known and most loved tunes. Each song has a catchy opening, great (and mainly loud) melodies, and makes you want to hear it again and again. The speedy solo's full of energy and skill, and stick in your memory like glue! This album along with their others of the first twelve classic, is remastered, with beter quality, song videos and full lyrics included. Add this to your collection, NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killers
Killers by Iron Maiden
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews