Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pete Seeger American Folk Anthology, 3 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a treasure trove of old American folk songs sung by the one and only Pete Seeger, accompanying himself on the banjo. My favourite is Casey Jones, but Beans, bacon and gravy sticks in your head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American Folk Anthology Pete Seeger, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Folk Anthology (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed this selection, It arrived not long before Pete died and it was a strange coincidence that I had been playing his music and reading about him just before he died. He will never be forgotten - a great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three classic albums from the fifties, 25 July 2011
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: American Folk Anthology (Audio CD)
The first CD here mainly contains songs that I was not generally familiar with, while the songs on the second CD are generally familiar. Other than that, the two albums are similar in style and scope, containing traditional folk songs that Pete sings while playing his banjo. Some of the songs I was familiar with from childhood (Jesse James, Blue tail fly, I ride an old paint) while others became familiar after I started to take a serious interest in music (Wabash cannonball, Frankie and Johnnie, Wreck of the old 97, Home on the range) and some of them were new to me when I bought this set. All of them are worth hearing and I didn't notice anything that was obviously political. In that much, these two CD's present a stark contrast to the third CD.

The bonus tracks on the first two CD's seem a little arbitrary and it seems to me that they added a couple of Weavers tracks among them although no mention is made of how these bonus tracks were chosen or where they came from.

The third CD has no bonus tracks and lives up to its title. Like the first two CD's, this CD finds Pete singing while playing his banjo, but it is filled entirely with stories of hard lives for working men, some of the songs merely reflect on the hard lives while others are political to varying degrees. Casey Jones, the story of a train driver who lost his life in the course of duty, is the only song here that I was familiar with from other sources, though I'm familiar with some of Pete's political songs through earlier compilations of his music, notably If I had a hammer: songs of hope and struggle.

Whether you agree with Pete's political beliefs or not, these songs provide an interesting look back into a world long gone. Technological progress, including electricity and piped water, has made life for modern workers far easier than it was in the nineteenth century. Yes, life can still be tough, but nothing like as it was back then.

Pete Seeger is a legendary singer and deservedly so. This collection of some of his fifties music shows why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pete Seegar, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Folk Anthology (Audio CD)
Just died at 94. I loved his protest songs of the 50's onwards,I'll treasure these CDs and play them over and over again. They are also part of my past
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy folk, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Folk Anthology (Audio CD)
I am genuinly enjoying this cd and will reccomend this to anyone's collection who is interested in real folk music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great selection of, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Folk Anthology (Audio CD)
great selection of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as always he is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
This review is from: American Folk Anthology (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Folk Anthology (Audio CD)
Took me back to the 60's when in London listening to him live in the clubs in west end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon tax cheats, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I won't be shopping with tax cheats like Amazon this christmas or any other time in the future and invite you to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Folk Anthology
American Folk Anthology by Pete Seeger (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews