Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!
All the great Leadbelly numbers I remember hearing in the 60s, but with a massive gain in clarity, which particularly benefits his guitar playing. Anyone who has any interest in American folk blues should buy this album.
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by David H. Bebbington

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Surely this is not the "Definitive" lead belly
Not quite my taste. Was expecting something better as this was the "Definitive" Lead Belly. Gone to the charity shop already.
Published 1 month ago by jeremy connolly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 23 Jun 2011
By 
David H. Bebbington (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive (Audio CD)
All the great Leadbelly numbers I remember hearing in the 60s, but with a massive gain in clarity, which particularly benefits his guitar playing. Anyone who has any interest in American folk blues should buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this CD!!!, 29 Jan 2011
By 
J. Coyne (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive (Audio CD)
Leadbelly is largely unknown by my generation. I knew the Nirvana cover of Where Did You Sleep Last Night? and had heard a couple of songs that my Dad had but I didn't really know anything about Leadbelly's music. I am so glad I bought this CD. Leadbelly's work is so underrated. Here, for [...]-odd you can listen to some of the most soulful and expressive music ever recorded. Both CDs contain real gems, such as Rock Island Line, Blue Tail Fly and C.C Rider.

If you have ever enjoyed listening to a blues track then I am sure you will enjoy and appreciate this collection of songs. The simplicity of one man's voice, a great story to tell and an accoustic 12-string to play needs to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Leadbelly fan, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. J. C. Higgins (Halesowen, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive (Audio CD)
Excellent collection to introduce someone to this artist. I'd heard a little of his work on the radio and knew some of the songs through more contemporary cover versions, but this collection brought the artist to life. Good sound quality. Real quality early folk / blues music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good recordings and very good value, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Martin Jones (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive (Audio CD)
The cover photo is one of those staged ones that makes Leadbelly look like a hayseed. That aside this is a very good collection.

The quality of the sound is fine and the music is great of course. They're simple songs but deceptively sophisticated. He doesn't over-emote like lots of modern singers and that makes a lot of this all the more credible and sometimes hauntingly mournful as a result. There's plenty of upbeat and even comic stuff as well.

It's a lot better than one or two of the more expensive collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leadbelly, 9 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Definitive (Audio CD)
I listened to the story of Leadbelly on Radio 2 with Eric Burdon and I realised I didn't have an album of this great bluesman. I bought this disc as many of the songs were featured on the show and I've played it many times. It's truly great and if you're a blues fan buy this. You don't realise how many brilliant songs he wrote that are still being sung today and tomorrow as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars leadbelly review, 9 Oct 2011
By 
S. L. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive (Audio CD)
good Album, I have used it as reference to learn some of his acoustic blues songs.well worth getting and adding to a blues collection.it is suprising how many riffs appear in other peoples more modern work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive (Audio CD)
You can't beat Leadbelly for real old southern music. I loved him when I was fifteen and I love him now I am seventy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS, 24 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the price of a couple of singles by xxxx bands such as Ndubs or whatever, you can get 50 tracks by a genius here.No contest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 25 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive (Audio CD)
There is not much to say IT IS a GREAT CD, wether you are new to this musicor not you will be pleased with this timeless piece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive (Audio CD)
This CD is awesome, I grew up listening to Leadbelly and this has excellent sound quality and a great range of tracks. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive
The Definitive by Leadbelly (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews