Customer Reviews


735 Reviews
5 star:
 (547)
4 star:
 (108)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


249 of 255 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Surprise
I was advised by a relative to go and see this film last October. I'd seen the trailer for it on TV and I didn't think a great deal of it. A sort of comedy scifi flick. I'd hadn't heard of Firefly, just that Serenity was a film version of that show.
Only once before have I gone into a cinema expecting so little, only to come out wanting to go see...
Published on 1 Feb. 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but hardly great
Serenity is the big screen sequel of the TV series 'Firefly', and while certainly watchable as a stand - alone piece of cinema, any prospective viewer really should catch the telly show to gain the full benefit of this.

I'll assume you know what Firefly is all about, (if not, read the umpteen zillion reviews) and not waste time going over all that again...
Published 20 days ago by Richard Marriott


‹ Previous | 156 57 5874 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
J. Barber (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serenity [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Serenity is an amazing move but as other reviews have said you have to watch the tv series to otherwise you'll miss out on some jokes and quite a bit of backstory. In my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serenity (Amazon Instant Video)
Really enjoyable end to first series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reel Heroes: Serenity [DVD] (DVD)
perfect gift for my son, he loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Conclusion, 3 May 2006
By 
M. T. Weston "markwezzy" (Lutterworth, Leics) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serenity [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Can I say that if you haven't see the mini series Firefly you may find watching Serenity a waste of time. Therefore it is hard to judge how to rate the film. I will therefore make the assumption you have seen Firefly. Here we go:

This film is awesome. The character development finally comes full circle. The special effects are great. The story is brilliant. The action sequences are well staged. The twists are unexpected and the ending leaves you wanting more.

My friend watched Serenity and he said he was confused by the plot and didn't know what was going on. I can understand this because it is not a stand alone movie but it was never going to work in the UK anyway as Firefly was never shown on terrestrial T.V. Therefore everyone SHOULD watch Firefly before they watch Serenity. They can then get the full awesome experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very under rated classic, 30 May 2010
By 
C. Longton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serenity [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Absolutely bloody amazing film! It has all the hallmarks - mythic plot line, sleeper hero(ine), seriously mindblowing aerial and terrestrial battle scenes, multiple uncompromising enemies, baddie turned well, if not goodie then possibly realising the truth? (oops sorry spoiler alert!) - and even a slightly strange but non the less fitting Western style theme/ hero captain. He actually grew on me during the film - I thought he was a but emotionless/ wooden until about 2/3rds of the way through. Plus props to the supporting cast. What can I say? I love great under the radar sci-fi and this ranks along side Bladerunner (and a more grown up version of the original Star Wars trilogy) as one of the best. Should have been much better recieved in cinemas as it could only be 10 times better on the big screen. Due for a re-release? I think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 3 Mar. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serenity [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Nothing I say about the cancellation of the series or about how good the movie is has not been said already.

Hope it comes back more times than Stalone in Rambo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it., 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serenity [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Excellent,All the series are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serenity [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
very enjoyable just what i wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take note mr. Lucas, 9 Oct. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serenity [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
George Lucas should watch this movie so he can learn how a space saga should be done these days.

Don't get me wrong, i love the original Star Wars movies as much as the next fan, but Serenity works on so many levels, its sci-fi, comedy, drama & horror all rolled into one and makes the star wars prequels look like rubbish.

Unlike some movies that are born from a T.V. series, Serenity does'nt play like an extended episode of its T.V. predecessor (Firefly) Even if you've never seen Firefly (shame on you) it's very easy to pick up the story from the start.

The direction is faultless, the actors know their characters so well, and considering it's budget the films special effects look fantastic.

The extras, although a little thin for my liking, still provide some great entertainment, Nathan Fillion who plays Capt. Mal Reynolds is just hilarious and Joss Whedons passion for this project is boundless.

Even if your not a big sci-fi fan, or if you are and were disappointed by the Star Wars prequels or the Star Trek movies or even loved them all, then i think you would love this film.

Great story, great cast (who should all be more famous than they are) and great fun, what more do you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The space cowboy in search of a plot, 26 July 2014
By 
Iain (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serenity [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Star Wars and the bulk of science fiction writing gave us a future with the Empire, the rebels, the freaks and the unknown. Serenity uses the same cast. Genetic modification is another standard and adds a bit more unknown, superpower excitement. The movie has good actors and good acting. In places it's very funny. So why only 3 stars? To keep it short here's a list: the cowboy thing would be retro in the future, and therefore amusing and fun. It isn't, it's just pointless. The violence is ridiculous. The freaky outcome of the empire's manipulation is frankly childishly absurd. How does a fleet of flesh-eating homocidal zombie-like creatures organise a space ship? Who does the cooking? Who is in command? And finally, like 99% of science fiction these days, in the future humans are presented as fundamentally stupid; inept, emotionally traumatised, greedy, selfish, incapable of communicating clearly, less-intelligent than most high school kids today. Their only saving grace is a heroic struggle to do what appears to be "the right thing" in a stupid plot. So if you can forget all that the fx are well done and as I said, the actors do a great job on a no-win project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 156 57 5874 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serenity [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Serenity [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Nathan Fillion (Blu-ray - 2009)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews