Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my faves of 2005 - for sure
There is so much going on that on a simple background listen one would miss. I suppose generally it's a chilled album but my body has been discovered to be uncontrollably jigging to the groove. Grooves which tend to be constant in structure with only slight alterations along the way.

I'm now gonna go against all that I've just written and say the word...
Published on 22 May 2006 by Mr. S. J. Robson

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really worth the extra few pounds
Okay, because you're reading this, I take it you like Doves to some extent. The album's a great listen, and there are some truly amazing tracks on there, but I still believe that it's nowhere near as breathtaking as "Lost Souls", a recommendation for those who don't own it yet. I suggest you read the reviews of the standard 1 disc version of this album for more in-depth...
Published on 26 Feb 2005


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my faves of 2005 - for sure, 22 May 2006
By 
Mr. S. J. Robson "sleepytimegorillaboy" (Truro, Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Cities (Audio CD)
There is so much going on that on a simple background listen one would miss. I suppose generally it's a chilled album but my body has been discovered to be uncontrollably jigging to the groove. Grooves which tend to be constant in structure with only slight alterations along the way.

I'm now gonna go against all that I've just written and say the word "Epic".

Songs average at 4.30 and, from a recording and mixing point of view, cover a massive range of styles and techniques. A fantastic use of room sounds (I've been told they recorded a lot of the album in an old church (the sleeve states that it was recorded and mixed in 10 different locations!!!) and computer (or otherwise) effects.

I find myself occasionally listening and waiting for the next effect to slip in `cos it always sounds so freakin' ace!!

This is my first time with this band and I can highly recommend it as a starting point. After this I got all their other albums and discovered many delights on the way.

I'd recommend this album to anyone with a cultured and wide range in tastes. It's not too intrusive and has a great mixture of sad and happy songs, leaving you feeling ... well ... alive!

This album will be in and out of my player for the rest of my life. And I'll always find something new!

Conclusion:
A lovely chunk of ear candy - eat it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Genius, 30 July 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "fact275" (California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Some Cities (Audio CD)
The problem that Doves will have the rest of their career is that every album they put out will be measured against their brilliant debut, Lost Souls. When I first listened to Some Cities, I thought "Hmm, not Lost Souls, not even The Last Broadcast." But like all Doves albums, you have to keep listening. You probably don't "get" the album until you have listened to more than five or six times all the way through. But once you do "get" it, then you keep playing it and playing it and playing it. The electronic atmospherics so prevalent on Lost Souls and to an extent on The Last Broadcast are toned down here. There aren't as many radio friendly tracks like "Catch the Sun," "Pounding," or "Caught by the River." But what is here is very solid. It's also varied. You've got Northern Soul influences on "Black and White Town," bluesy guitar playing on "Almost Forgot Myself," and the Doves' penchant for rockabilly on "Walk In Fire." But I must reserve special mention for three tracks in particular: "Snowden" with its electronically distorted string symphonic riff; the flute-accented 70s prog rock of "Someday Soon" (my favorite track); and the moody "Ambition" which relied on the reverberations of a Scottish cathedral where they recorded the track. There is so much variety here that even if you tire of listening to the whole album, you'll be drawn back to individual tracks. Doves are absolutely essential and the only band prepared to take the mantle of Mancunian musical elder statesmen when New Order finally pass from the stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They must be good if this "isn't their best"..., 19 Mar 2005
By 
Ralph De Cordova "Ralph" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Cities (Audio CD)
This is my first taste of Doves, and "Some Cities" has certainly proved an enjoyable album to listen to over the past week (and perhaps, even, for a few weeks to come).
"Some Cities" opens its namesake album, and is fairly enjoyable even if it doesn't aspire to much. It then merges into the next track - "Black & White Town" - which has a pacey piano-riff and a thumping drum that sends it along nicely - this is arguably the best track on the album and it's no surprise it has been released as the first single. "Almost Forgot Myself" maintains the upbeat start to the album and has a 60s feel and proabably owes something to the bands of that era such as The Kinks. Snowden - which looks to be the second single from "Some Cities" - has twinkly guitar riffs and blaring oriental-style bursts which build up to the song's climax, ending in a climbing mountain of sound which justifies the track's name.
Here, a break from the summery beginning comes in the form of "The Storm", built around a movie-score sample with strings-infested melancholy that works rather well, and is certainly one of my favourite tracks on the album.
The album then returns to its previous state - albeit with a slightly darker side - with the songs "Walk In Fire" and "One Of These Days", the latter sounding like the perfect anthem for a summer festival. "Someday Soon" mixes somber vocals with a hopeful guitar/flute-like instrument riff to good effect. "Shadows of Salford" is a favourite of mine but is probably not very accessible - sounds depressing on the first listen, but creates a ghostly atmosphere with a creepy piano, vulnerable vocals and bursts of 'ooh! ooh!' that collaborates to make a somewhat unsettling but pleasant song. Hmmm....
The penultimate track is "Sky Starts Falling", a fast moving track which features an ongoing stomp that returns to the upbeat flavour heard earlier on but with a bit of angst thrown in. The final track is "Ambition", a nice, typically calming and soothing closer that completes the album well.
"Some Cities" is a pleasure to listen to, and while it lacks the killer track which will be memorable in a decade's time, it doesn't have a weak song - as a result, I have found the entire album to be enjoyable and will consider getting some of Doves' back catalogue as I've heard from others that this isn't their best. Well, they must be pretty consistent at writing good songs if that's the case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Body of Work, 6 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Some Cities (Audio CD)
I have to say I cant stop playing this album, it took a few listens but I have to disagree with the other reviews above and say that this is really really great stuff from The Doves. "Some Cities" and "Black and White Town" are great tracks.
BUT...."Almost Forgot MySelf", "Snowden", "Sky Starts Falling" and pretty much the others are superb tracks in their own right!
The three mentioned are class, Almost Forgot MySelf is brilliant a dragging guitar start and catchy bass line are fab its sheer Head Nodding stuff, the lyrics are moody soulfull and deep.
Snowden is subtle and rolls along Its my favourite, the winding guitars and lyrics brilliant, I could go on but I wont, just buy it and see for your self, forget Some Cities and Black and White Town listen to the rest and get caught up in it all.
Class album never bored of hearing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine album, 2 Mar 2005
This review is from: Some Cities [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Before it was released, I had my doubts as to whether "Some Cities" would be as good as "Lost Souls" and the excellent "The Last Broadcast." I needn't have worried as once again the Doves have delivered an outstanding album that promises to exclusively occupy your CD player for a fair old while after you get it home, with the band's instantly recognisable vocals and drums rehashed in a more 'live' sounding album which lacks the frenetic energy of "The Last Broadcast" without losing that indefinable quality that makes them such a good band. In all honesty, there isn't a weak track on the album; which has more than it's fair share of tracks that can send a shiver down your spine. People may pre-judge the album on 'Black and White Town,' which is a good track in itself, but the album also contains Doves classics such as 'Almost Forgot Myself' and 'Sky Starts Falling,' as well as quieter melodious tracks like the orchestral 'Snowden,' and the hushed final track on the album: 'Ambition,' recorded in a Benedictine monastery.
The DVD is a nice extra, consisting of video clips from the recording with comments from the band. There's a lot of footage of the varied locations where they stayed and recorded, and the photo gallery continues this with a number of mainly scenic shots. The video to 'Black and White Town' is also included, with the tune back dropped to a theme of inner-city childhood angst. The DVD's worth a watch, but from a practical point of view most people aren't going to revisit it too often, so my advice would be to just go for the album alone unless you particularly want the DVD or there's not much between this bundle and the album alone price-wise.
If you are a Doves fan, or just a fan of this style of music then I'd heartily recommend the album, you wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Says something when you're told this "isn't their best"..., 19 Mar 2005
By 
Ralph De Cordova "Ralph" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Cities (Audio CD)
This is my first taste of Doves, and "Some Cities" has certainly proved an enjoyable album to listen to over the past week (and perhaps, even, for a few weeks to come).
"Some Cities" opens its namesake album, and is fairly enjoyable even if it doesn't aspire to much. It then merges into the next track - "Black & White Town" - which has a pacey piano-riff and a thumping drum that sends it along nicely - this is arguably the best track on the album and it's no surprise it has been released as the first single. "Almost Forgot Myself" maintains the upbeat start to the album and has a 60s feel and proabably owes something to the bands of that era such as The Kinks. Snowden - which looks to be the second single from "Some Cities" - has twinkly guitar riffs and blaring oriental-style bursts which build up to the song's climax, ending in a climbing mountain of sound which justifies the track's name.
Here, a break from the summery beginning comes in the form of "The Storm", built around a movie-score sample with strings-infested melancholy that works rather well, and is certainly one of my favourite tracks on the album.
The album then returns to its previous state - albeit with a slightly darker side - with the songs "Walk In Fire" and "One Of These Days", the latter sounding like the perfect anthem for a summer festival. "Someday Soon" mixes somber vocals with a hopeful guitar/flute-like instrument riff to good effect. "Shadows of Salford" is a favourite of mine but is probably not very accessible - sounds depressing on the first listen, but creates a ghostly atmosphere with a creepy piano, vulnerable vocals and bursts of 'ooh! ooh!' that collaborates to make a somewhat unsettling but pleasant song. Hmmm....
The penultimate track is "Sky Starts Falling", a fast moving track which features an ongoing stomp that returns to the upbeat flavour heard earlier on but with a bit of angst thrown in. The final track is "Ambition", a nice, typically calming and soothing closer that completes the album well.
"Some Cities" is a pleasure to listen to, and while it lacks the killer track which will be memorable in a decade's time, it doesn't have a weak song - as a result, I have found the entire album to be enjoyable and will consider getting some of Doves' back catalogue as I've heard from others that this isn't their best. Well, they must be pretty consistent at writing good songs if that's the case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., 22 Feb 2005
This review is from: Some Cities (Audio CD)
After listening to Some Cities a couple of times now i really am taken aback, i have rated 9 out of 11 tracks 5 star, which is not an exaggeration and of course this could change in time. Black And White Town was a great single to start with, it really adds an upbeat to the album and i think producer Ben Hillier has done a great job. My favorite track is The Storm - its one of the most moving songs i have ever listened too, both atmospheric and bursting with creativity. Before i loved Lost Souls, now after buying Some Cities it is up there wih some of my most respected albums. If you are looking for an album filled with chilled out, good music and an extremely talented and creative band then i strongly advise the purchase of Some Cities.
('.SUPPORT REAL TALENT.')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First GREAT Album of 2005!, 16 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Some Cities (Audio CD)
I just listened to the entire album on NME and, having already fallen in love with "Black and White Town," I am now chomping at the bit to buy "Some Cities" when it hits the States. In addition to "Black," my favorite tracks are "Snowden" and the gorgeous "One of These Days." This is an epic album from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Cities sees Doves take the next step musically, 10 Mar 2006
This review is from: Some Cities (Audio CD)
"[Some Cities] is the sound of a band pushing themselves to the limit of their songwriting abilities and they're clearly enjoying every minute"
(Dan Tallis, BBC)
After their inspired Last Souls debut and the sheer brilliance of The Last Broadcast, Doves knew they had a lot to live up to with their third album - and they certainly don't disappoint. Though it is still characteristically Doves, they have built upon previous records to make some of their most spectacular music to date. From the haunting sounds in Snowden, and the epic strings in The Storm to the jangy piano in Black and White Town, the Doves manage to create a wonderful layer of sound that is simply magical to listen to. Even better though, all of this is merely in support to the brilliant tunes and melodies of the songs. Jim Goodwin's marvellous voice captures you on most tracks, although guitarist Andy Williams takes the lead on others to equally satisfying effect.
Covering subjects such as city centre regeneration and satellite towns lack of 'colour and sound' (Black and White Town), the atmospheric feel of the album in undeniable. You actually feel as if you stood by the band watching as historical buildings are torn down and the city centre becomes a sterile carbon copy of every other major city. The album is all downcast however, the uplifting spirit of Sky Starts Falling and Walk in Fire are infectious.
Simply put, this is a brilliant, fundamentally Northern album from a group, who are arguably the best Mancunian band around at the moment, pushing the musical boundaries of the indie genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cities on fire, 25 July 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Some Cities (Audio CD)
Three years have passed since the Doves put out the outstanding "Last Broadcast." Their third album, "Some Cities" take a slightly different tack. While their music is as powerful as ever, the Doves try some new musical styles -- ballads and a bit of dancepop -- woven in with the guitar rock. It may take a little while to grow on listeners, but it's worth it.

The songs are somewhat smaller in scale than what the Doves have done before. Instead of going for a continuously epic sound, the Doves opt for a more intimate sound to go with their home-village theme -- gentler, sadder and sometimes sweetier. In short, they go for gentle, eerie music, not dark grandeur. At least, not all the time.

The lead single "Black and White Town" strips things down to wavering keyboards and an insistent drumbeat. Some veer towards eerie sadness like "Someday Soon," while others retain the larger-than-life quality of the Doves' past work, complete with choruses and expansive vistas. These variations -- some little and sweet, some intricate -- make the album seem more musically mature.

It's always a shock to go home after a few years away, and discover the changes that people living there haven't even noticed. In a way, it's watching an old life slipping away. And it feels like the guys from Manchester are having a rude awakening to this in "Some Cities."

Not that everything here is depressing -- "Black and White Town" sounds like it was tailor-made to be a hit, with bored-youth lyrics and a dancey beat. It reaches back, maybe, to the Doves origins as "Sub Sub," a dance pop group. And the next-to-last song changes the mood to one of optimism. But reflections on their hometown and the past overshadow these, and lend the album the mournful beauty that the Doves do so well.

There has always been a symphonic sound to the Doves' music, and they apparently aren't about to change that. Not that I'm complaining -- few bands can pair crunchy guitars and synth with classical strings. At least, few can do it without sounding like they are trying too hard. In the case of the Doves, the classical edge merely adds a gloss to the panoramic rock music.

"Some Cities" lets the Doves stretch their wings (pun unintended, I swear), with some exquisite new musical styles and a poignant look back at their hometown. Absolutely stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Cities
Some Cities by Doves
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews