Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly professional
Having just heard the CD, I am warmed by the quality of ALL the tracks, the singing is beautiful and sung so professionally.
If you are looking for a traditional Carol CD, then I would definately recommend this one,
Published on 7 Dec. 2007 by D. Gregory

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent except the last two songs
The quality is at the best and each song is sung beautifully. However, the last two songs, which are my favourites, have an unnecessary, noisy and enbarrassing introduction by a brass ensemble. It upsets me greatly. I just want to enjoy the songs themselves.
Published on 21 Oct. 2009 by Takashi Mano


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly professional, 7 Dec. 2007
By 
D. Gregory (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols from King's (Audio CD)
Having just heard the CD, I am warmed by the quality of ALL the tracks, the singing is beautiful and sung so professionally.
If you are looking for a traditional Carol CD, then I would definately recommend this one,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woderful recreation, 26 July 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Santander, SPAIN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols from King's (Audio CD)
These are wonderful renderings of christmas carols, with a very good production and a superb singing and directorial work.
Mind you, these are not the classical typical carols that you usually hear canned during christmas, on and on and on. You can find versions of older, forgotten carols together with the more common ones.
It's good that somebody has taken the effort to make this beautiful record.
Nice job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Christmas Escape, 13 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Carols from King's (Audio CD)
Settle down in a comfy chair with a mince pie and glass of wine and turn up the volume - pure escapism from the hassles of Christmas shopping!
The collection mixes traditional carols (so you can sing along and relive those days in the choir) with slighly lesser known Christmas fare.
As you would expect of King's, all the carols are extremely well executed and with over 76 minutes of playing time you've got the chance to pig out on a good few mince pies.
Bliss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous achievement, 17 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols from King's (Audio CD)
I sing in my church choir, so I've sampled a few carols by other cathedral choirs, like St Pauls's, Canterbury, Laudamus, Huddersfield Society. They're all excellent choirs, don't get me wrong, but King's College Cambridge seemed to have that little bit extra. A bit more oomph from the organ, a top tenor who lives mainly in the upper stratosphere, more variations and solos, and good song selection. You'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant CD, 10 Feb. 2010
By 
Tesco "Dermot Titus" (Gretna Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols from King's (Audio CD)
As usual delivery was as predicted.

This CD contains traditional and modern carols together with Kings College Choir. At the price, including posatge, you can't go wrong.

A good buy.Carols from King's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bargain !, 4 April 2010
By 
V. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols from King's (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful collection of carols,sets the right mood for Christmas and the singing is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent except the last two songs, 21 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Carols from King's (Audio CD)
The quality is at the best and each song is sung beautifully. However, the last two songs, which are my favourites, have an unnecessary, noisy and enbarrassing introduction by a brass ensemble. It upsets me greatly. I just want to enjoy the songs themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Carols, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols from King's (Audio CD)
Gave it a four star rating because I know it will only have a limited airing in our house. Having said that, I adore carols sung well and this is a good example and Christmas morning had a quite magical feel to it this year. Watching the kids unwrap their presents with the hauntingly beautiful sounds of carol singing in the background was lovely....so lovely that nobody wanted it turned off and we listened to the entire CD together.
Theres loads out there, but would recommend this as good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely choir, poor recording levels, 22 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. P. GOADBY-WATT (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols from King's (Audio CD)
Absolutely wonderful choir, but totally spoiled by the extremely low recording volume level!!!! disappointing Christmas gift. I will be returning for a different CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Christmas Recording, 6 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. M. J. Bernstein "Michael Bernstein" (Tring, Herts., U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols from King's (Audio CD)
Playing this CD is sharing the magic that so many feel when listening to the service of nine lessons and carols from King's College, Cambridge. The unique acoustics of the chapel and enchanting voices of the King's College choristers seem to announce the Festival and prepare the listener for the forthcoming Christmastide and add a special Englishness to the listening experience.
Tradition and musicality are served royally here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews