Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden At Their Blazeing Best!
Like many fans, I was initially turned off by the drastic change of vocal style when Bruce Dickinson left and Blaze Bailey stepped in. Bailey's style is so different to Dickinson's that the 'Maiden' sound took a step towards another dimension!
At first, I could not get into this new sound, particularly Bailey's style of singing.
But, as all the best albums...
Published on 26 July 2004 by Craig Hale

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definatley something different
After the evil sounds of Paul Di'Anno and the class orchestra-esque wailing of Bruce Dickinson, once again Iron Maiden have/had a vocalist (Blaze Bayley) whose voice reflects the music. Compared to albums like The Number Of The Beast, Powerslave etc, this is more of a darker nature. More so than the Iron Maiden and Killers albums. Along with the morbid nature of most...
Published on 13 Dec 1999


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden At Their Blazeing Best!, 26 July 2004
By 
Craig Hale (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The X-Factor (Audio CD)
Like many fans, I was initially turned off by the drastic change of vocal style when Bruce Dickinson left and Blaze Bailey stepped in. Bailey's style is so different to Dickinson's that the 'Maiden' sound took a step towards another dimension!
At first, I could not get into this new sound, particularly Bailey's style of singing.
But, as all the best albums achieve, 'Sign Of The Cross' began to grow on me. I found myself humming the title track, 'Lord Of The Flies' and 'Man On The Edge' without realising it. More importantly, this new arrival breathed a new life into the band's writing and performance. Maiden's music became more disciplined, yet more emotional (very lacking with the Dickinson era).
It still took more time to get used to Bailey's style but, honestly, there is something addictive about his voice.In fact, it was so addictive that I eventually went out and bought the 3 'Blaze' albums he produced once he left Maiden! The man has become one of my favourite vocalists!
If you are new to Iron Maiden, then a 'Best Of' compilation is best. This should also feature Maiden's original singer, Paul Di'anno. You will then have a broad idea of what Maiden are all about.
Essentially, the ultimate Maiden sound is the band that featured Dickinson, but 'The Sign Of The Cross' and, more importantly, Blaze Bailey, gave the band the kick up the a** it needed.
All the songs on the album are pretty much classic, full of energy, and have a catch to 'em that will make them hammer around your brain.
Personally, this is my favourite Iron Maiden album. But, be warned, give the album a chance to grow on you. You will learn to love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont be put off!, 2 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The X-Factor (Audio CD)
This isnt bruce dickinson or indeed bruce dickinsons iron maiden but don't be put off because Blaze does a great job. I think the introduction of Blaze changed iron maiden, this album is much darker and slower and in many ways more intense than those before it. If you're new to the band and want straight foward speed and iron maiden agression then buy something like Piece of Mind, but if your a fan and you want to hear a different iron maiden Buy this album, listen with an open mind and you will thoroughly enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was great., 15 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: The X-Factor (Audio CD)
This is very different to other Iron Maiden and not in a bad way. So many Iron Maiden have different Opinions on this album and Virtual XI. I have no problem with any of them they both have great songs. The best songs here are The Sign Of The Cross, Man On the Edge, Fortunes Of War & Blood On The Worlds Hand (cool bass intro). Blaze is a great vocalist and this is a great album. I recommend getting This and Virtual XI as your last Iron Maiden albums and getting the classic albums Killers or The Number Of The Beast. UP THE IRONS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knaptons Favourite, 2 May 2005
This review is from: The X-Factor (Audio CD)
Maidens darkest album by far, Blaze's vocals are a refreshing change from Bruce's. I like Dickinson but it was becoming all the same and X-FACTOR changed it and was very necessary at the time.Any Maiden fan will enjoy this, its got all the trademark Maiden touches, a long haunting start in Sign Of The Cross, slowly it builds up into a great song and although a bit long at 10mins plus it tells a story like all Maiden songs do. If you've never heard Maiden before this will be a classic album for you, if like myself, you're a fan of the band you won't be disappointed, its a really good Maiden album but its also a little bit different.....worth a listen I promise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definatley something different, 13 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The X-Factor (Audio CD)
After the evil sounds of Paul Di'Anno and the class orchestra-esque wailing of Bruce Dickinson, once again Iron Maiden have/had a vocalist (Blaze Bayley) whose voice reflects the music. Compared to albums like The Number Of The Beast, Powerslave etc, this is more of a darker nature. More so than the Iron Maiden and Killers albums. Along with the morbid nature of most of the songs, this gives a feeling of the evilness that people sometimes tend to stereotype Maiden with.
The first track , Sign Of The Cross, is an 11 minute monster with chanting monks. Personally, I think that this does wonders for the effect. But I know people have found this off-putting. If you feel uncertain about your opinions of Maiden, then this will probably tip it towards the negative side. At least you get plenty for your money. 70 odd minutes. Considerably longer than some of the stuff out there.
Personally, I think this albums kicks. But if you only ever buy one Iron Maiden album, you may be better off with The Number Of The Beast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bayley = Legend, 27 Dec 2007
This review is from: The X-Factor (Audio CD)
I'm so sick of everyone slating blaze b'coz bruce was better. Granted maiden peaked with bruce in 1988 but by 1993 they were so stale that they had to do something. Blaze is a lot darker and with steve harrisons life trouble at the time this was always going to be a broody emotional album.

Some class song writing here and my personal fav album. Best trax include Sign of the cross (candidate fo best maiden song of all time) lord of the flies (partially butchered by bruce on death on the road) and the memorable man on the edge. A must have for any fan of proper of metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love the misery, 28 Nov 2010
This review is from: The X-Factor (Audio CD)
i love this album because it sounds like maiden would have to sound at a time when heavy metal was truely dead.they sound like they want to survive and they're fighting just to stay alive.it was a different and brave direction and i feel it stands on it's own and without it they would'nt be hear now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 19 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: The X-Factor (Audio CD)
With their front man and arguably their most famous band member Bruce Dickinson leaving for a solo career and 2 poorly received albums behind them Iron Maiden had drifted into dangerous territory. Not only did most charts around the world see them as dinosaurs (not that that had ever mattered to them) but most importantly their fans and the metal community had begun to see them as a spent commodity, ready for the scrap heap. Sure they had released any number of classic albums but their time had come and gone. The rest of the band clearly didn't feel the same way and wanted to prove to everyone (not least themselves) that they still had it. Taking all the recent struggles and changes as a challenge they channeled everything into creativity and with the help of new singer Blaze Bayley they made an album which surpassed their last two. Would it reach the heights of the best?

`Sign Of The Cross' is one of the band's longest songs, perhaps a strange choice to open the album but one which sets things up nicely. We get some strange chanting for the first minute or so, holding back eager fans who want to hear the new vocalist. A dark riff starts, echoed by the earthy vocals and it seems like we could be in for something special. A look at the album cover, with Eddie seemingly being destroyed in some sort of Saw trap hints that the band wish to crush everything they have done in the past. Near the third minute the song finally kicks off with what would become the Bayley-era Maiden trademark, a plodding pace. Here it is effective as the writing is strong and it is something new, but after a while many songs become samey. While the song is overlong and seems empty in places, the guitars and chorus are nevertheless good.

`Lord Of The Flies' opens stylishly with nice guitar effects and a thumping pace. Bayley has a strong voice here even if he always sings on one level, the chorus is effective (even if it doesn't appear to make sense) and there is a nice tone throughout.

`Man On The Edge' has an old school Maiden intro, sounding like something from Somewhere In Time before the main riff speeds off. Again this is an effective song, supposedly based around Falling Down (Michael Douglas with a rocket launcher). The chorus is ok, the pace is great, the lyrics are strong and the guitars are suitably wild making this one of Blaze's best songs. Again this one would make it onto the setlist once Bruce returned.

`Fortunes Of War' has a moody opening with lyrics about the lonely aftermath of war and the impact on those who fight. The songs starts off extremely well but loses its way when the heavier guitars come in and repeat- the song would have been much more effective if it had been shorter. The middle section shows too much of the Blaze era step stone rhythm; I can't help but feel that if they had simply merged the chorus with the first section and ending it would have been a much better song.

`Look For The Truth' continues the subtle, moody feel sounding almost identical to the previous song in the early moments. Bayley gets to belt the vocals out a bit more here and it is all building promisingly the second minute. Luckily this time the rhythm doesn't irritate and the chorus has a decent melody.

`The Aftermath' again begins softly with some shadowy guitars building and creating a nice mood. The loud guitars crash in and spoil everything again though- the two simply don't work together on this album. That Blaze rhythm returns and although there is nothing particularly wrong yet, after a few listens it soon gets repetitive. The middle section raises things though with contemplative lyrics, good vocals, and strong guitars and melodies.

`Judgement Of Heaven' is a lighter song musically, though the lyrics are fairly doubting, dark, and questioning, this time covering religion, life, and fate. The pace is fairly quick throughout and the chorus is one of the best on the album though I feel it would sound that bit more powerful coming from Bruce. A fast, effective solo brings us round again.

`Blood On The World's Hands' has one of Maiden's most unique and strange openings with funky, electronic sounding bass played over harmonics. After over a minute of that we get a familiar rhythm and guitar part. The lyrics feel very forced here, trying to fit the construction of the song, but the chorus is interesting with its descending riffs.

`The Edge Of Darkness' has a longer, sombre introduction which suits the lower tones of Blaze's vocals. Supposedly based on Apocalypse Now/Hear Of Darkness the lyrics mention some of the feelings and themes mentioned in the film/book. The song gradually gets heavier but lacks a hook to grab onto.

`2.00am' continues the sombre style with a dark tale of depressed routine. Blaze does well again on vocal duty, we have a better melody but the dodgy rhythm is back. The middle section is strong with some great guitars and melody; overall it is a decent track if a little mismatched.

`The Unbeliever' closes the album with a bit of style, more traditional Maiden dual riffs breaking into some bizarre twinkling noises. The rhythm here is quite unique with the verses skipping about, the next section being softer and steadier, then a faster part. All usual Maiden fare but done in a style they were previously unfamiliar with. For such a long song it never gets repetitive and is always shifting to something new. It is messy at times and lacks a consistent tone, but still a decent closer.

Blaze's first album is a competent, confident one even if it does lack some of the heights of previous releases. The X-Factor and it's follow up are much maligned and while much of the criticism is justified we still have (on this album in particular) plenty of good music. At times they do sound like they are struggling for ideas and at times everything seems a little too downbeat and mid paced. It's unlikely that this will be many fans' favourite Maiden album but it is still one to give another listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark..Heavy..Darker, 17 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The X-Factor (Audio CD)
This is one of the BEST EVER METAL ALBUM EVER ON THIS PLANET...
Never has one created a album so heavy,technical and Dark as the X-FACTOR.
The arrangement is quite simply superb and the tone,the mood the lyrics speak of doom and is Iron Maiden at its very very best.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The great controversy, 10 July 2006
By 
P. A. Woodhouse (Coventry, West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The X-Factor (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden seemed to blow open a new gateway with this album.Compare it to Number of the Beast or Seventh Son of a seventh son, and it seems to be a step backwards. But perhaps what makes it a good album is that it is so different.

Certainly, Steve Harris states that he feels it is one of the best they've ever done.

Sing of the cross is possibly one of the darkest songs I've ever heard, and a long album opener, rather than the shorter sprints they usually do, make it a good opener. Lord of the flies is one of the songs I find it hard to get into, but it's alright. Man on the edge is one of the best maiden songs going.

Its when the album progresses that the true sense of darlness hits you.Judgement of Heaven: "I've felt like death a dozen times or more" is exactly what SH was going through at this stage in life.

My ultimate favourite on the album is Blood on the World's hands. Musically brilliant, and one of the bst bass introductions to any song. It proves Steve's brilliance at what he does best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The X Factor
The X Factor by Iron Maiden
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews