Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of the best Maiden albums ever� get it NOW!!!!
This is the best Maiden Album for a long time and I think it has more to do with the return of Adrian Smith than Bruce Dickinson (although his return is more than welcome and I for one was well chuffed). Adrian Smith brings a certain melodic tone to Maiden that was sadly lacking since his departure. I am not knocking the Maiden's Blaze years, they just did not do it for...
Published on 16 Nov 2000

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brave or Stupid?
As with every Iron Maiden album of late, this one has been given much hype, much comparisons and as usual you'll never know what it's like until you hear it. This is something I suggest you do- buy this album, it is worth it. However as with any band of this ability and as sizeable following as Maiden there are certain expectations which many fans expect to be met. We...
Published on 10 Sep 2000 by S. L. Hill


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of the best Maiden albums ever� get it NOW!!!!, 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brave New World (Audio CD)
This is the best Maiden Album for a long time and I think it has more to do with the return of Adrian Smith than Bruce Dickinson (although his return is more than welcome and I for one was well chuffed). Adrian Smith brings a certain melodic tone to Maiden that was sadly lacking since his departure. I am not knocking the Maiden's Blaze years, they just did not do it for me.
This album is a real breath of fresh air and a great move for Maiden sticking with the formula of great music but breaking the mould with some of the tracks containing vocal and synth effects... nice (some of the lyrics are a bit pants thought but that has always been part of the fun with Maiden). Steve never fails to deliver on the bass and Niko is fast becoming one of the best metal drummers around! The three guitar combo works surprisingly well (even live, what a feat!!) too.
With modern Metal seeming to be more concerned with masks and contact lenses than decent music, it's a welcome relief to have Maiden back on top form, nice one boys, up the Irons!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Metal return with one of their best albums ever, 15 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brave New World (Audio CD)
'Brave New World' is the rebirth of Iron Maiden and possibly of good old fashioned Heavy Metal. Without Bruce Dickinson, the band were not the same but now with Bruce back and new guy Janick, things couldn't be better. Some of the tracks like 'The Wicker Man' and 'Fallen Angel' could easily fit in with earlier albums such as 'Powerslave' or 'Piece of Mind', but others such as 'Blood Brothers' and 'Dream of Mirrors' definitely break new ground for Iron Maiden. 'Blood Brothers' is one of the finest tracks Maiden have ever made. It's lyrics and central guitar piece are really powerful - not headbanging stuff - more like metallic art, if that makes sense. I think you'll find that most of the tracks start off slow, but don't be impatient - they're worth the wait! Like 'Dream of Mirrors' - the 4 or 5 minute slow intro is followed by a speed metal middle which is really breathtaking. Also, the title track's pretty good too. With the 'Brave New World' album, the band have tried to go for a Led Zeppelin style progression (kind of where Metallica are now - although Bruce says he had the idea for that back in the '80s). So a lot of the tracks are even more lyrically based that usual. But there's still loads of old fashioned Maiden speed guitars and Bruce Dickinson's unmistakable operatic style singing to connect it with their earlier work. Definitely one of the best albums they've ever recorded. I bought it in the first week it was released and it hasn't left my CD player for more than 20 minutes since. Maiden fans owe it to themselves to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply, THE best!, 23 Jun 2000
By 
Bravedart (Forres, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brave New World (Audio CD)
If ever there was a time for Steve and the boys to prove that Maiden had any worthwhile existence in the modern day world, then the Y2K seemed as good a time as any. Brave New World has turned out to be the album that Maiden fans have waited for. In my opinion this is one of the great metal albums of modern times, definately on a par with their finest work of the Mid eighties. Gone have the dodgy 'fillers' that cluttered (and ruined) most of their recent albums and what we are left with is an album that reeks quality. The return of Bruce was seen as many cynics as a last throw of the dice by the band that had been falling away from prominence since his departure, and if that is the case then he certainly is giving his all. Back is the 'air raid siren' of old and you have to wonder where it really went to after 'Seventh Son'. But BNW is more than just Dickinson's return to form. The musical quality on offer from the three axe men is breathtaking at its best.Be it heavy metal riffing on 'Ghost of the Navigator' or trading melodies on 'Thin line....' all i can say is that I can't get them out of my head! Another factor which has proved to be benficial is the introduction of Kevin Shirley as producer. He has found the perfect balance for the band and my speakers where jumping around more than I was playing the Album! My favourite song on the album (like everyone elses it seems) is the awsome 'Dream of Mirrors' Quite simply, the best song that they have recorded since 'Hallowed be thy Name' and a contender for best Maiden song ever, only time will tell. So go on, buy the album now. Be Brave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars extremely solid release, 19 Oct 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Brave New World (Audio CD)
released in 2000 iron maidens brave new world is the 12th maiden album and marked the return of brucey dickinson on vocals and guitarist adrian smith to the band,which also resulted in three main guitars to the maiden sound.

The album has a certain progressive feel to it which was a classic maiden formula and with the band united again the songs are filled with passion and venom and the quality is relentless at times.Opening strongly with the wicker man which is punchy and certainly heavy its clear that the good times are back with maiden again and regardless of how you felt about the two albums that blaze sang on you have to admit its good to have bruce back on vocals,it just seemed to give the band back their collective bite.

The quality continues with key tracks like blood brothers,out of the silent planet,the fallen angel and brave new world,there isnt alot wrong with this except that some songs are so epic that they lose a bit of shine towards the end but thats a small gripe so in summary brave new world is yet again another excellent maiden release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best metal album ever....?!?!, 22 Mar 2003
This review is from: Brave New World (Audio CD)
The Blaze Bailey years were mixed for Maiden.
There where the good times ("Virus", "Futereal", "Sign of the Cross" etc) but all too frequantly these good songs where compromised by some terrible tracks (step forward "The Angel and the Gambler").
The reason for this is clear to me... Maiden where trying to reinvent themselves in the absence of the talismatic Bruce Dickinson.
Instead of sticking to what they knew best, they tried out some of the touches associated with more european metal. Disjointed harmonics and overpowering keyboards took all the focus away from the guitar melodies, and this is not what Maiden do best.
Thankfully, the only band iron maiden try to be on "Brave New World" is Iron Maiden themselves. Maybe the re-addition of the ever-handsome Mr.Smith has bourght this about..who knows?
All we do know is that this is heavy metal the way it should be played. Turn up your guitars and wallow in perfect, distorted bliss. Every note and every chord is layered in a way previously unexplored by the heavy metal genre.
From the romps that make up "The Mercenary" and "The Fallen Angel" to the brilliant, swirling, layered masterpieces of the title track and "Dream of Mirrors".
The pre-released track "The Wickerman" has been greeted with open arms by an audiance that has gone all-too-long without a classic Maiden album. The good news is that this is quite possibly the worst track there.
66 minutes of pure bliss that will take you through every high there is in our beloved classic heavy metal sound, and it all ends with a STUNNING track.
"The Thin Line..." This is a track that screams MAIDEN ARE BACK. And they are. oh yes ,oh yes , oh yes!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BNW is among Maiden's best 4 albums!, 17 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brave New World (Audio CD)
I patiently read through the first page of reviews from fans of the BNW opus, and was heartened by most of the comments I read.
I was actually managing to hold the belief that there were music fans left. However, after glancing through "music fan from manchester"'s critique of the album, I felt I must pass on my own judgement.
This album is as good as Piece..., Seventh Son..., and Somewhere..., and far superior to Powerslave, Fear of... and No Prayer, three of the musically weakest overall Maiden albums ever, in my opinion, even if they do have their good moments.
But as someone once said, we don't necessarily all need to agree on our favourite Maiden songs or albums.
I am not a head-banger, and never have been.
I enjoy listening to the considerable musical abilities of the, now, six-piece, and enjoy the instrumental sections more than the vocals, most of the time.
The BNW album is abounding with melody, with all six members having the opportunity to take the lead over the piece.
I am not going to scribe a comment about each song, but the highlights, for me, are the title track itself, Ghost of the Navigator, The Thin Line Between Love And Hate, The Mercenary and The Nomad. Steve Harris always seems to write great songs called "The..." something or other.
The weakest moments are Fallen Angel and Out of the Silent Planet, but I know they would stand out on any other band's album.
I purchased the latter as a single, for posterity. And to try and put Maiden up at the top of the charts to show the S Club 7 'music' fan just what good music is all about.(although 4 members of that aforementioned 'band' ARE extremely attractive - and I'm not talking about any of the blokes!)
All in all, Brave New World is a must-buy for any existing or past Maiden fan.
Or, simply the best album someone who has never listened to Maiden can buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAIDEN ARE BACK!!, 1 Sep 2001
This review is from: Brave New World (Audio CD)
The world's premier heavy metal are back with a vengence with the truly phenomenol 'Brave New World'. Maiden lost their appeal to many when Adrian Smith departed, being replaced by Janick Gers. Smith's talent clearly shines through and brings back what Maiden fans have been missing for the last six albums....quality melodic guitar playing. From the opening bars of 'The Wicker Man, to the atmospheric and brilliant 'The Nomad' the listener can only be happy to hear Maiden at their very best for a long time. This is definitely Maiden back at their peak, and this is one album that any heavy metal fan can not afford to avoid. The release on DVD of the Rio concert can only enforce Maiden's legendary status. It really puts today's so called 'nu-metal' rockers to shame and proves that they could not string two pieces of music together if they tried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is a Brave New Iron Maiden, 1 Jun 2000
By 
Sinan Gürkan (Istanbul, Turkei) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brave New World (Audio CD)
First of all, production of Brave New World is very good. Well done Kevin Shirley. With 3 guitars bands' sound is richer and heavier than ever. The three 9 minute epics "Nomad", "Blood Brothers" and "Dream Of Mirrors" are really cool songs with their thoughtful lyrics. Also the last song "The Thin Line Between Love and Hate" is another great song with its tempo, melody and good lyrics. If you like 80s Maiden albums (PowerSlave, Somewhere in Time) and solo albums of Bruce/Adrian, you'll fall in love with Brave New World.
It is great to listen to such a great band in 2000s. Don't miss this awesome hard rock/metal album of the year.
Thank you Steve, Dave, Bruce, Adrian, Janick and Nicko. Up The Irons !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave New Beast, 24 Mar 2002
This review is from: Brave New World (Audio CD)
'Wickerman' is a classic power chordal classic, instantly thumping away in your mind, whille the air-guitar wails. Adrian Smiths best riff, IMO. The 3 axe work combines brilliantly too. Classic track, I'm covering it in my band.
'Ghost Of..' ethereal, touching and thumping. the time changes are typically Steve Harris, and it easily reaches up with his other rampant 6+ minuters.
'BNW' is a simple, maiden rocker, with a touching intro. More Power chords ahoy here! Again, the 3 axes compliment each other well.
'Blood Brothers' is an immense song, about Steves father I believe, and iis full of instrumentals, riffs and solos to leave you gagging for more. definitly one of the more progressive tracks.
'Mercenary' - another standard maiden rocker.
'Dream of Mirrors' - "ebbs and flows like the sea" - possibly the best on this album, harks back to Steves influences like Genesis etc
'...Angel' is dark and HEAVY, superb club song.
'Nomad' again, prog-metal, but the combo of the 3 axes is OUTSTANDING.
'Out Of...' - the 2nd single, my favourite, written by Bruce Bruce about alien invasions!!! Not as cheesy as it sounds tho!!!
'Thin Line' is a 'ballad'??? Id Maiden do ballads, and flows to the end with ease and immaculate playing.
In all, a great album, BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, period., 23 Mar 2002
This review is from: Brave New World (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden were always brilliant, however the only thing I was never a real fan of was the fact they were a little light. Even the heavier offerings such as Powerslave don't vibrate the floor or knock pictures off the walls like some other groups do. While all the musical brilliance was there, it never really damaged your eardrums like you'd like it to.
This is where Brave New World comes in. Not only is it recorded at exceptionally good quality (you can always tell when a album is old by the lack of real depth to the recording), it's HEAVY! It's still full of melody and range, but it's a real chugga-chugga album, something you can really get your teeth into. With the return of Bruce to the vocals (the greatest vocalist in history in my humble opinion) and Adrian to form a three way guitar line up (three lead guitarists. You'd be hard pushed to find another group who could match that) the new line up to the group is arguably the greatest ever.
In short, every song is a masterpiece. In a world of nu-metal and pop songs, where everyone seams to either shout or rap into the mic, hearing Bruce emptying his lungs in such luscious 10 seconds notes of such perfect sound you'd have to be deaf to not sing along at the top of your voice.
As per usual, Steve's bass playing is fast and furious, Nikko's drum work is spot on and Dave and Janick complete the guitar work unfalteringly.
Basically the album is brilliant, a perfect piece of recording from the greatest metal group in history coming right back onto form after the somewhat lacking Blaze era.

Thankfully, all music able writing members of the group (that's all of them except Nikko) have had input in the album, meaning all the songs are fresh and original, with Steve only writing one (Blood Brothers) on his own.

After seeing the group live at Brixton in March 2002, I can confidentially sit here and tell you that you'll hear no better anywhere. Up the Irons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brave New World
Brave New World by Iron Maiden
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews