Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Genesis than Genesis!
After Peter Gabriel left Genesis, the remaining members took some time out to decide on what to do next. Guitarist Steve Hackett worked on his first solo album and the results were almost a Genesis album in all but name, with both Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford making guest appearances.
It is clear from this album that Steve's contributions within Genesis were very...
Published on 26 Sep 2005 by Dr. D. B. Sillars

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Voyage of the acolyte
Some cool stuff here,some a bit boring - see "bonus" tracks which fill up some space without adding much new.If you're a big fan it'll while away a bit of your life.
Published 19 months ago by P. S. Addison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Genesis than Genesis!, 26 Sep 2005
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Voyage Of The Acolyte (Audio CD)
After Peter Gabriel left Genesis, the remaining members took some time out to decide on what to do next. Guitarist Steve Hackett worked on his first solo album and the results were almost a Genesis album in all but name, with both Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford making guest appearances.
It is clear from this album that Steve's contributions within Genesis were very significant indeed. The same autumnal, English, pastoral feel that pervaded albums such as "Foxtrot" and "Selling England By the Pound" is prevalent on "Voyage Of The Acolyte". This album has a dark, haunting feel to it, emphasised by brother John's flute playing and the heavy use of mellotron and acoustic guitar. The album opens with the storming instrumental "Ace Of Wands" which has become a firm live favourite ever since. Hackett is very, very good at writing rock instrumentals. His back catalogue is littered with brilliantly executed pieces like "Clocks", "Sierra Quemada" and "Twice Around The Sun". Next up is the beautifully haunting "Hands Of The Priestess Part 1". This then segues straight into the fuzzy menace of "A Tower Struck Down", another classic instrumental. "Star Of Sirius" is significant in featuring a lead vocal from Phil Collins, a sign of things to come. The album is completed with the mighty "Shadow Of The Hierophant", with beautiful lead vocals by Sally Oldfield and ending with typical instrumental aplomb.
This was an excellent debut for Hackett. A bridge between the Genesis of old and the new and emphatically showcased not just what an excellent instrumentalist Hackett was, but that he had the compositional skills to match. Eventually the success of this album and his frustrations working within the confines of the band would lead to his departure.
This re-release is part of the remastering of Hacketts' first four albums he recorded for Charisma. The remastering was overseen by Hackett and sounds excellent. The sleeve notes and packaging have been put together by the highly esteemed team of Mark Powell and Phil Smee. Included as bonus material is an electrified live version of "Ace Of Wands" and an extended "Shadow Of The Hierophant". So all in all a truly impressive package and at this price you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top notch prog from Genesis axeman ..., 24 Dec 2005
This review is from: Voyage Of The Acolyte (Audio CD)
The first of a slew of great value reissues of the former Genesis axeman’s solo output, 1975’s Voyage Of The Acolyte was made shortly after the release of the band’s Lamb Lies Down On Broadway and the departure of singer Peter Gabriel.
It was a time of solo projects for the band: Phil Collins drumming with Brand X (amongst others) and Mike Rutherford working on projects with former member, guitarist Anthony Philips.
Hackett’s guitar-work played a major role in trade-marking the Genesis sound and with Collins and Rutherford guesting here together with Sally Oldfield, this debut complements well the band’s period prog output.
Performance and production values are constantly high and the album showcases Hackett’s compositional talents, herein applied to a form of concept album based on the Tarot, with each track based on an individual card.
Cello and oboe vie with mellotron and ARP synth in a space occupied in the main by Hackett’s precise yet fluid playing, with plenty of variation of pace and runs of pure melody punched with sufficient staccato dissonance as to keep us sitting up and paying attention.
Critical and public acclaim greeted the release of this record, boosted here with a live version of "Ace Of Wands" and an extended 17-minute version of "Shadow Of the Hierophant" almost solely asserting its credentials as a slice of top notch prog of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely album re-visited!, 27 Mar 2007
By 
DSR (out beyond the sticks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage Of The Acolyte (Audio CD)
I remember a sunny afternoon over 30 years ago when a customer visited the audio dealers where I worked clutching a couple of LP's that were to become a big part of my listening sessions over the years. One was "Olias Of Sunhillow" by Jon Anderson and the other was this beautiful outing by Steve Hackett.

The music here is very haunting. It draws you in with great textures of light and shade to keep you on your toes. I wasn't a big fan of Genesis then (Trick Of The Tail changed all that!), but I can now see that the music on this recording shows just what a big part of Genesis Steve was. This may be regarded as a "prog" album by many, but it's stood the test of time far better than many prog LP's of the period in my view.

Along with many others I bought the CD as soon as it was available to replace my well played LP and it exhibited many of the failings of the LP, namely distortion in the kick bass and a certain thin-ness of tone typical of CD's made from masters intended for LP production. The re-mastering here has restored much of the "body" of tone, making the acoustic instruments sound much better and more natural. The distortion's still there a bit, but nothing like as noticeable as before.

In a time when I should be putting my money into new music, I can't help but return to some of my favourites and replace them with the latest issues, especially at the prices they can be obtained for. This a supremely rewarding album to listen to and I can't recommend it highly enough.

In closing, I wish some of the great "unwashed" looking newby bands (all beginning with "The *****") would take a listen to Dads old Genesis LP's, together with other great music from this era - the sort John Peel used to play(!)- Maybe then they'd learn just how far they need to go to come anywhere near great artists like this......

RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Voyager, 18 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. M. Field "pegoretti" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Voyage Of The Acolyte (Audio CD)
'Wow' a blast from the past, it can take you years to catch up on Albums from your childhood and this is one of them, I've always been a YES and GENESIS fan along with other Supergroups from the late 60's/early 70's but this one crept under my Radar. It's a Masterpiece of a concept Album (Am I allowed to say that?) and I have enjoyed it thoroughly since I purchased it. It's GENESIS sounding from an instrumental point of view but with a twist, the worst Track being a guest appearance by Phil Collins (Go figure!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as I remembered, but clearer :-), 18 Mar 2011
By 
K. Turner (Doncaster UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Voyage Of The Acolyte (Audio CD)
A good "remastering" can make such a difference to an original analogue recording. I was not always impressed with some of the earlier attempts to remove the snap, crackle, and pop from some albums, and in removing the analogue "hiss" they removed the soul of the music, and left it digitized and sterile.
Fortunately, things have got so much better. This is a stunning example of how to clean up a Great cd and turn it into Fantastic cd.
Sure, you still have the source limitations, but as I have the original release and now this one, you simply cant fail to hear the difference. Cleaner, brighter, and alive....
If you like Steve Hacket, this is one album you have to have. This version, is the ONLY one to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Voyage of the acolyte, 20 May 2013
By 
P. S. Addison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage Of The Acolyte (Audio CD)
Some cool stuff here,some a bit boring - see "bonus" tracks which fill up some space without adding much new.If you're a big fan it'll while away a bit of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Album...., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage Of The Acolyte (Bonus Edition) [Remastered] (MP3 Download)
More of trip down memory lane for me. "Ace of Wands" is one of my favourites. A proper 70s album created by the mind of an artist from the pool of "genius".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Voyage of the Acolyte, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage Of The Acolyte (Audio CD)
Received this and love it ,not heard for years
Only worry is I ordered this along with 3 other Hackett cds but somehow not received as a bulk order ...hope I get the others very soon tho I know Zoverstocks are normally 100% rekiable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Minerva, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: Voyage of the Acolyte (Audio CD)
Great lp by Steve One of is best and I'm only in my thirtys remember when I herd this when I was 14 great record
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jonno h, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Voyage Of The Acolyte (Audio CD)
bought this album on vinyl in the mid to late 80s very diverse sounds loads keyboard work besides hacketts brilliance shows what a great writer he is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews