Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very much IN Control! A virtually perfect album
Ok, first off, I'm a fan...so will this be biased? Probably. That said, having followed the girls from conception in 2002 to the present 'days of glory', I feel I am well equipped to sort the wheat from the chaff where Girls Aloud are concerned. Bad choices are seldom seen with these ladies of course, but for the purposes of this review, let's say 'Whole Lotta History',...
Published on 26 Oct 2008 by Mr. D. Maccann

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute s***e
What an absolute load of s***e. Bought it for the other half, who loves it. I hope I never have to listen to it again. Some words that come to mind...overproduced, can't sing, cringeworthy, painful, diabolical.
Published 4 days ago by David J. Curtis


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very much IN Control! A virtually perfect album, 26 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. D. Maccann "Daibh" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of Control (Audio CD)
Ok, first off, I'm a fan...so will this be biased? Probably. That said, having followed the girls from conception in 2002 to the present 'days of glory', I feel I am well equipped to sort the wheat from the chaff where Girls Aloud are concerned. Bad choices are seldom seen with these ladies of course, but for the purposes of this review, let's say 'Whole Lotta History', 'See The Day' and 'Can't Speak French' never fully got my seal of approval...

However, I digress...after the phenomenal success of the 'Tangled Up' album, including the effervescent 'Sexy! No No No' and the stunning 'Call The Shots', it wasn't hard to see that Girls Aloud had found a a new melodic-electronic groove, and if Tangled Up was their Freshman attempt...'Out Of Control' is the graduating class of 2008!

From start to finish, this is pop at its very best. In true GA style, generic genres have been eschewed in favour of a fusion of styles and influences, culminating in some truly amazing songs...here's my pick of the very best:

==The Loving Kind==

A collaboration with The Pet Shop Boys, very much in the vein of Call The Shots, with a truly beautiful riff from Nicola that will just grab you instantly.

==Rolling Back The Rivers=

A mid-tempo delight, with some full-on soul from Nadine. And, as we've come to expect, different from anything they've ever done.

==Turn To Stone==

Another electro-ballad, the refrain and middle-eight are to die for...dreamy, ethereal...with some gorgeous vocals from Cheryl.

==Untouchable==
My absolute standout track on the album...this is potentially as good as Kylie's whole X album (and then some)...6 and a half minutes of sheer perfection..."we're beautiful robots dancing alone"...need I say more?

==Love Is Pain==

This is a beautiful nod to early 90s electronica, and is rendered with delecious zeal...the girls are well in their comfort zone here.

==Miss You Bow Wow==

A definite and decided change of pace, and defintely a standout track...It's Blondie meets Republica, and when is that a bad thing...ever?

==Live In The Country==

Ludicrous...but oh so catchy. This is like some crazy homage to Blur via Prodigy...with a little bit of Bananarama thrown in for good measure...basically it's Sound of The Underground...on drugs....it should also be noted that the track fades out to the sound of bleating sheep...It's eccentric, out there, and oh so British.

Yes, Girls Aloud are back...not content with being the UK's biggest Girl Band, they are looking to burrow into your concious with the very best album of their illustrious career.

Buy it...buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Audio CD)
the delivery is fast excellent album unique there are two single big hits promise back the river in time and many more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars go girls, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Audio CD)
if u like girl bands then this is right up your street, with all a great girl group. work it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Audio CD)
like this alot has some tracks from other of there albums but still good buy sing along music for fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is the one to buy!, 24 Sep 2013
This review is from: Out of Control (Audio CD)
Love the 1st album..the 2nd i thought 'Girls not allowed' but this shows their pure out and out catchy sound! So yeah..Girls Allowed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Stephanie Rose Fewer "S'RF" (Bingley, Bradford, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Control (2 x CD) (Audio CD)
I finally bought this after wanting it for so long as I'm obsessed with Girls Aloud and when it came I was very happy with it and nothing to be disappointed with at all its fab and great for Girls Aloud Fans and loved the photos inside! I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girls Aloud, Out of Control, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Control (Audio CD)
Bought these for a birthday present but ended up keeping them. Some good pop tracks. Classic stuff and good to sing along to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Longevity Is Masterpiece, 18 Aug 2010
This review is from: Out of Control (Audio CD)
And that is what Girls Aloud have achieved with their 5th Studio Album "Out Of Control";
2 years after the released i'm still not bored of this album it enver fails to cheer me up
when i'm down, get me dancing and singing along when i'm hyper and happy.
A fan of Girls Aloud from the begining and forver in LOVE with Tangled Up and Chemistry albums
i was abit let down on first listen as it seem to be a bit of a slow album,
but i now disagree with myself, theres a whole load of variety;

1. The Promise - 10/10 - we all ove this catchy well dersve number 1 singe!
2. The Loving Kind - 10/10 - love singing along to this song, always cheers me up
3. Rolling Back The Rivers In Time - 10/10 - a smooth slow song thats is bittersweet :)
4. LOve Is The Key - 10/10 - very disliked this song at first but its very catchty and with it's great hook, it was seeing them on tour performing this that amde it better, love it now
5. Turn To Stone - 7/10 - my least favourite track
6. UNtouchable - 10/10 - EPIC!!!!!!!!!!!! enough said
7. Fix Me Up - 7/10 - i have to be in a certain mood to like this song
8. Love Is Pain - 8/10 - like it then dont, love hate relationship with this song
9. Miss You Bow Wow - 10/10 loveee it, catchty and great to dance sing along too
10. Revolution In The Head - 10/10 - a hit or miss amost the GA camp i personally love it
11. Live In The County - 10/10 - just so much fun the lyrics are great
12. We Wanna Party - 8/10 - same as Fix Me Up ceetain moods requiered

Their Best albums yet, but all their albums are the best
i love this album so much that 8 out of 11 songs are in my top 25 mostp played :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best yet, 25 Nov 2009
This review is from: Out of Control (Audio CD)
In "Out of control" Girls aloud have created their most acomplished album yet. They seem to be getting better every album and the previous album "Tangled up" was a much more overall solid album than any of the previous ones but OOC is even better ! The production team of Brian Higgins and Miranda cooper aka Xenomania have gifted the girls some of their best songs ever for this album and it will be hard to top this one !

1 The Promise (9/10) the first single and has a lush 60's vibe mixed with 21st century sparkle..a worthy choice as first single.
2 The loving kind (10/10) amazing song from start to finish !..one of my personal faves from the girls of all time..co-written by the pet shop boys..and the 2nd single
3 Rolling back the rivers (8/10) another very catchy track and could have easily been a single.
4 Love is the key (8/10) (another great catchy track with a jangly guitar riff..great chorous
5 Turn to stone (8/10) very electro sounding and very cool !
6. Untouchable (10/10) the 3rd single is a glorious slice of cool 6 and a half miuntes electronica!! ridiculously catchy..brilliant!
7 Fix me up (8/10) very funky with a nice funk guitar riff ! cool (8/10)
8 Love is pain (8/10) would have been my choice of 4th single had they released one. Another very electro sounding track with cool synths and bass.
9. Miss you bow wow (7/10) not quite as good as the preceeding tracks..this one is more reminicsent of the girls earlier work..though the last minute of the track is divine with its thick burbling bass!
10.Revoloution in the house (6/10) the weakest track on the album..again more like some of the tracks from their earlier albums..noit bad but not great.
11. Live in the country (7.5/10) the girls expperiment again with drum and bass on anice track.
12 we wanna party (6.5/10) a bit of a bum note to go out on but a fun track nevertheless..just doesnt have the cool factor like some others.

Overall this album is amazing and with the girls signing a new 3 album deal there's still more to come !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girls Aloud, 6 Nov 2009
By 
R. Lister - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of Control (Audio CD)
Quite simply a great album a more mature sound from the group and the production on this is first class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of Control
Out of Control by Girls Aloud (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews