Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality DVD
First off, there's no point me telling you how good The Cure are etc, as you wouldn't be looking at these pages if you never thought they were any good! What I will say though is that if you're after a greatest hits type, live concert then look elsewhere.
This DVD is based on the two day 2002 concert in Berlin where they played two three hour sets from three albums...
Published on 22 Jan 2004 by E. A. Gonzalez

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remains highly recommended even with it's shortcomings...
I bought this on it's day of release, which is now several months back and feel in a good position to review it now.
The problem I always had with this DVD (even before release) is that it's based around some convenient concept that the Pornography, Disintegration and Bloodflowers albums are in some way a special trilogy, forever linked to each other. I abhor this...
Published on 29 Nov 2003 by crazeetaxi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality DVD, 22 Jan 2004
By 
E. A. Gonzalez "elchenuk" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First off, there's no point me telling you how good The Cure are etc, as you wouldn't be looking at these pages if you never thought they were any good! What I will say though is that if you're after a greatest hits type, live concert then look elsewhere.
This DVD is based on the two day 2002 concert in Berlin where they played two three hour sets from three albums that spanned two decades. The first set is from their 1982 album, Pornography, the second from their 1989 album, Disentegration and their third from their most recent offering, Bloodflowers.
For die hard fans this whole compilation will be an essential addition to their collection, but I found the arrangements of all sets to be quite slow and hard going, even Disentegration was quite dull and morose in places and it happens to be one of my favourite albums of all time. Still, I thoroughly enjoyed every aspects of this visually stunning concert with a sound to match.
I have quite an expensive cinema set up and this DVD tested it to the max! The colours were vibrant, the picture quality crystal clear and the special effects just add to enhance the overall viewing pleasure rather than detracting from it. The best bit is the sound though, even in PCM stereo the sound is good with clear acoustics and deep, rich bass tones, but play this in 5.1 format and what you get is astounding, it really is like being there.
Overall I would recommend this DVD for any Cure fan who wants to see some groundbreaking and legendary songs played live, but for those just getting in to the group (you've left it a bit late!) I would recommend you get the greatest hits DVD first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best just got better!, 27 Mar 2009
By 
FearGhost (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trilogy - Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
Every once in a while, bands have their defining moment, both live and in the studio. This in one of those moments for The Cure in my opinion.

Back in November 2002, The Cure decided to perform three of their best albums in their entirety, back to back at the Tempodrom in Berlin. Those albums were Pornography, Disintegration and Bloodflowers. Robert Smith claimed that these were a 'trilogy' in 2000 when Bloodflowers was released.

I was fortunate to be at these concerts, as well as the Brussels Forest National warm up show and can honestly say that the experience was phenomenal. Many of the tracks performed here were played for the first time in many years (Short Term Effect, Closedown, Homesick etc)

Captured in HD 1080i (the best available at the time) the quality of this Blu Ray is excellent. The video quality is far superior to the original DVD release with outstanding contrast and fine detail, especially in the close up scenes.

Audio is presented in DTS-HD MA 5.1, Dolby Digital 5.1, and LPCM.

It would have been nice to see the extras also in hi def, as these are the same standard def versions found on the DVD. The two encore tracks (The Kiss and If Only Tonight We Could Sleep) are in Hi-Definition.

Despite this shortcoming, I would recommend upgrading to the Blu-Ray from the DVD as the image and sound quality is far superior. I also recommend this to anyone looking for an example of a great band, performing at their very best.

Roll on Trilogy II (Faith, Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me and Wish)!... In my dreams!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, the perfect conclusion., 3 Jun 2003
It took 18 years for the cure to record their trilogy of pornography (1982), disintegration (1989) and bloodflowers (2000). Last November in Berlin it took them three hours to conclude it.
And what a three hours it is. The pornography set is, inevitably, the most intense. From the opening wail of 100 years to the closing noise of pornography, the set has an energy and tension which perfectly realises the abrasive nature of the album. 100 years would be perfect, although Smith's vocals are still warming up. The hanging garden is truly stunning, with especially impressive drumming from jason cooper. The band also deliver a cracking version of a strange day, but the highlight of the set though is undoubtedly cold (arguably the strongest track on the album anyway). As the cascading drumbeat and lavish keyboards emerge, the sense of eerie silence in the arena is tangible; the song is the most emotionally vulnerable moment of the set. The title track is realised in a way that makes it more performance-friendly than the studio track, and is a perfectly uneasy ending to the set.
As blue lights and quiet chimes fill the arena, the increasing feeling of a new dawn comes to a climax as the beauty of plainsong suddenly explodes across the arena. It is a truly magical moment, affording the song the status it truly deserves. Disintegration is (from my point of view) the strongest album of the three, and each song is well realised. The highlights are a pounding fascination street, a rare performance of the gorgeous the same deep water as you, and truly awesome renditions of homesick and untitled that close the set with a flourish of perfection.
As the songs of bloodflowers then fill the arena, the resigned tone of the album is evident. Where the birds always sing is delivered brilliantly, as is 39, but the real highlight of the set is the song bloodflowers itself. Cooper's drumming is again outstanding, as is the guitar work from Simon Gallup and Perry Bamonte, as the band gather strength towards the end of the marathon and produce a performance that is perhaps the finest of the concert. Smith's vocals are particularly perfect, infused with a power and emotion that really affirm the sense of occasion. The perfect end to a wonderful show, in which three fabulous albums (one of which has a legitimate claim to the title of finest album ever) are given the performance they demand.
The interviews on the dvd are also comprehensive, giving exaustive details about the gigs themselves, and also a fantastic insight into the band members' (particularly Smith and Gallup) feelings towards the songs.
A must for any cure fan. A must for any music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What they do best., 24 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This is good. This is real good. Even if you just like the Cure a little bit, this is good. If you like the Cure, then its awesome. Where do I begin. Its the best live show ever. It kicks ass with the Cure in Orange, it is so much better than Show..
Its dark, its moody, its happy, its funny - its the Cure doing what they do best.
There are some magical moments in this and some that could have been left out....its warts and all...its what you expect from the Cure...So if you have seen them live, then this is exactly what you want from them.....If you have not seen them live, then here is your chance.
Don't just think about it, just do it.....You know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flowers of blood, 29 May 2003
The three most powerful Cure albums together on two DVDs. This is a brillient collection and shows the Cure at their best on stage. From the first double bass drum on One Hundred Years to the final guitar solo on Bloodflowers this is consistantly mind-blowing. Highlights are 'Cold', 'Pictures of You', 'Same deep water as you' and 'Bloodflowers', but every song is perfectly performed.
The DVD is well presented and is an overall better production than the 'Greatest Hits' DVD. There are also interveiws with the band and a secret feature I have not uncovered yet.
Bascially your getting 3 albums for 15 pounds here, go for it, this is The Cure at their most beautiful and most dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply epic, 1 Nov 2008
By 
I don't really write reviews as I think so much is based on personal opinion- but I wanted to write this for any Cure fans who haven't seen it. I just think it's one of the best live shows on dvd I've seen- such a brilliant concept having three albums, played in sequence, back to back. The music is wonderfully played, the lighting and mood is brilliant, and nearly all the tracks to me are an improvement on the studio versions. Why oh why Robert Smith got rid of the keyboard in the latest line up is beyond me?!... the recent gig at Wembley I saw was a complete disappoinment. To me the sound that completely defines the Cure is the combination of Bob's voice, the recognisable lead guitar sound, and the sweeping background of atmospheric keyboards. This is why I love Trilogy so much. The sound is epic- played at volume through a 5.1 channel amp and on a large LCD screen, it's the closest you get to being there. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cured!, 10 July 2003
By 
A. J. G. Yome (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a masterpiece straight from "One Hundred Years" onwards. The Cure provide a masterclass in live performances and it is awesome to think that if they recorded another Trilogy with, "Wish", "Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me" and "Wild Mood Swings" it could be even better. Robert Smith is not only a songwriting genius, but together with the other 'Cures' a giant on stage.
It's difficult to pick out particular songs, but "Plainsong", "Same Deep Water As You" and "The Figurehead" all spring to mind.
With over three hours of the best live show you're likely to see, my only gripe would have to be changing discs.
The sooner The Cure put more of their other performances onto DVD the better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been there :-), 8 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Ok, I'm a bit biased, since I was at one of the two shows filmed for this DVD. It was amazing, one of the best concerts I've ever seen. The band were in top shape (I've seen them playing with far less perfection), and I suppose there wasn't much overdubbing to be done with the recordings. The light show was less noticable than on the DVD, where you can spice it up with good cuts and camera angles. The Pornography set was the most different compared to the LP, very powerful and sung through by the audience from beginning to end, although you don't hear much of it on the DVD. Disintegration was very similar to the original, as was Bloodflowers, which the audience did not react as enthusiastically to at first. But that was mainly due to the fact that it's the least known of the three, and afterwards many people said they didn't know how great this record was. In fact it's my favourite set on this DVD, with the often overlooked song quality coming to light with this superb performance.
The DVD is also remarkable for its excellent picture and sound quality. The only thing to improve I can think of would have been the inclusion of all extra tracks they played on the two nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob's back, 5 Jun 2003
By A Customer
The opening "One Hundrer Years" leaves you totally breathless. The lights, stage, camera angles and general visual aspect makes it look like no other concert dvd. The highlights would have to be 4 songs from the pornography set. One Hundred Years, A Strange Day and Cold are amazing, whilst the title track Pornography is truely brilliant, with more whah whah guitars than Shaft. The Same Deep Water As You is partly shot on a "robertcam" which gives a great view of smudged lipstick and wild hair. The two song encore of If Only Tonight We Could Sleep and The Kiss is a slight let-down. A 10 minute version of A Forest would have been the icing on the cake. It would also be great if they decided to release The Cure In Orange on dvd as well - then my life really would be complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remains highly recommended even with it's shortcomings..., 29 Nov 2003
I bought this on it's day of release, which is now several months back and feel in a good position to review it now.
The problem I always had with this DVD (even before release) is that it's based around some convenient concept that the Pornography, Disintegration and Bloodflowers albums are in some way a special trilogy, forever linked to each other. I abhor this concept. For years Robert Smith said time and time again that it was Seventeen Seconds, Faith and Pornography that were a trilogy - linked due to the atmosphere they were made in, the subject matter, the sound and also because they were released chronologically.
I'm rather sceptical that Smith has suddenly decided that it's now three other records which are a trilogy simply because Seventeen Seconds then Faith then Pornography would not have been good enough together to play in full at a concert (and not a very long show either!).
Anyway, cynicism at marketing tactics aside - any band that release a live DVD with three full albums should be applauded and I certainly do applaud The Cure for this, especially when many bands are seen charging full rate for a DVD with maybe 50 or 60 minutes worth of a live show.
The DVD is broke down into three parts, in this order:
Pornography live, Disintegration live, Bloodflowers live (+ 2 song encore), Interview with all band members.
Pornography is easily the best set. They maybe aren't the best songs in their original album format, but then they are 21 years old so they now really benefit from a harder sound - especially played by a 5-piece Cure as opposed to the 3-piece that recorded it. Hanging Garden for instance is the best version of this song I have ever heard anywhere - wish the album version sounded as good as this.
Disintegration is the best of the three studio albums but the weakest when played live here. Smith's guitar parts are an integral part of the songs, but the guitar sound used for this show is awful and really ruins it for me. He swaps guitar for some songs and they're much better, but Pictures Of You (for example) is the worst live version I have ever heard - simply due to the guitar sound here (not his actual playing which is as good as ever).
Bloodflowers is an interesting set as it's theoretically the "heaviest" sounding (in terms of guitar rock) of the three albums but here much of it is a missed opportunity and while the rockier songs don't fall completely flat, they could have been loads better. The other disappointing thing during the Bloodflowers set is the very heavy reliance on electronic backing tracks (this is sadly evident during the whole concert) and it's a real shame as The Cure never ever used to use backing tracks during concerts.
The 2 song encore (The Kiss and If Only Tonight We Could Sleep) are the best songs by far, but the Pornography set is also up there.
The interview section is good as I've never seen such a long interview with the band since an MTV special 11 years ago, but it's a shame that band members are interviewed seperately. It would have been good to have seen some interaction between the band.
To sum up; I personally feel that In Orange and Show are far superior as concert films, both in terms of the playing of the songs, the overall sound, and the actual tracklistings and I wish somebody would release them on remastered DVD. In fact what Cure fans really need is a DVD boxset with Staring At The Sea, In Orange, Play Out, Show and Galore. Compared to In Orange and Show, Trilogy sadly just confirms what other people say - namely that The Cure as a live act are still desperately missing Boris Williams' drumming and Porl Thompson's guitar skills - both of them easily within the top 5 in the world for their respective instruments.
If I were reviewing this title on value for money alone it would get a 5-star rating, but I'm not so it's only getting a three star rating !!!
I would suggest that if you're aware of The Cure songs and don't mind watching VHS then you may wish to consider opting for Show which is far far superior to this.
If it's the songs on Trilogy you want to hear though, then it's worth the price for the Pornography set alone so that should be enough to convince you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trilogy - Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] [1996]
Trilogy - Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] [1996] by The Cure (Blu-ray - 2009)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews