Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph
After the disappointment of "50 Golden Greats", I looked at this with trepidation. What a relief! None of this changing the songs from mono and into stereo. None of this altering the songs digitally to "improve" the listening experience. The songs are here in all of their glory to give the best compilation I have found so far to champion the guitar instrumental greats...
Published on 2 Oct 2008 by S. Austin

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok no time to hear it yet
Published 1 month ago by ERIC DUNCAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph, 2 Oct 2008
By 
S. Austin (woking, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After the disappointment of "50 Golden Greats", I looked at this with trepidation. What a relief! None of this changing the songs from mono and into stereo. None of this altering the songs digitally to "improve" the listening experience. The songs are here in all of their glory to give the best compilation I have found so far to champion the guitar instrumental greats. The big hits on disc one and a refreshing disc two with some lesser known gems. A great (but short) DVD as a bonus. A lovely compilation that should be a must have for both die hard fans needing a cd for the car, and also newer fans needing a general starter cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Platinum, 16 Aug 2008
This is a must have for any Shadows or instrumentalist fan. It contains all of their number one hits and is a great edition to any music library, all of these songs are mono and produce a classic feeling of nostalga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shadows compilation, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Graham C. Browning (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Proably the best of the many Shadows compilations available. Every hit that you can remember is here, plus some lightweight filler to make up two CD's. The addition of the DVD of the group in performance will be a boon for real fans, however it has to be said that the Shadows are not a group that are very visually exciting, the performance was attended by a bunch of 'a certain age' fans, thats to be expected, but the eyes are not as well rewarded as the ears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL THEIR HITS IN STEREO PLUS A DVD, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (MP3 Download)
This box set is about as good as it gets,all the Shadow's top 20 hits plus many others and a DVD.The only thing I would perhaps like to change is,I wish the DVD footage was from the 60's and not the 80's,as most of the music is from the 60's.One track,Foot Tapper is mono,the rest are superb quality digitally remastered stereo,especially if you consider how old many of the tracks are.Great value and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Paltinum case, golden memories i, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The early stuff is what resonates, the tunes and songs from the latter years verge on the cabaret. You need to be fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as I Thought, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was buying this CD as I thought this would be he ultimate Shadows collection, I can't believe that some of their top tracks are in mono,
ie The Boys and Footapper. Why do record company's continue to include mono versions when there are stereo versions available.
Is it a con so you need to buy other cds with stereo tracks.
Beware of the Shadows Golden Greats, the same thing mono tracks, and to my amazement Wonderful Land I reckon the "best" without strings, what a big let down.
I only hope that the record company's do the right thing and move in the 21st century when modern players are designed for modern
products. not yesterdays productions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Platinum collection(2cd=DVD)0, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Eveliene Fox (NSW AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
had to have it , I origionally had it on vinal record you never have enough Shadows material they are just so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT COMPILATION OF THE SHADS, 30 July 2013
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the one to have if you want just one representive selection of the shadows
The DVD is good yet short , but does give you some nice footage of the shadows live
it would have been really good to have some of the early lineup on Film
though am not sure what is avalible This is a very good collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And again, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Edwin Roberts (Midsomer Norton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a life long 60+ Shadows fan I just had to have this although I already have all the tracks on other CD's it adds to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The shadows speak for themselves., 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good trip down memory lane.

It is rediculous to require me to give a specific number of words to review items I have purchased! I do not work for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Platinum Collection
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews