Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1967 English psychedelia at its best
Tomorrow played all the big London gigs in 1967 and it was obvious that Steve Howe (gtr) and Twink (drums) had real star quality. Their single 'My white bicycle' is still remembered with affection, and the other tracks on this album, such as 'Three Jolly Little Dwarfs' and 'Auntie Mary's Dress Shop' positively ooze that whimsical era of flower power. Howe plays wah-wah...
Published on 9 Aug 2000 by hssmrg@bath.ac.uk

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some true gems, though far from perfect overall, & a poor quality recording!
`My White Bicycle' is a good psyche opener. `Real Life Permanent Dream' is a well performed song; it is great but the sitar takes a back seat, or at very best is utilised as a mere musical co-pilot! `Shy Boy' is a very saccharine song, and (at least for me) not really Syd Barrett-esque, as it is too well-structured. Nice toon-town organ though.

The album's...
Published on 8 Oct 2005 by a reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1967 English psychedelia at its best, 9 Aug 2000
By 
This review is from: Tomorrow (Audio CD)
Tomorrow played all the big London gigs in 1967 and it was obvious that Steve Howe (gtr) and Twink (drums) had real star quality. Their single 'My white bicycle' is still remembered with affection, and the other tracks on this album, such as 'Three Jolly Little Dwarfs' and 'Auntie Mary's Dress Shop' positively ooze that whimsical era of flower power. Howe plays wah-wah guitar more extensively than in his later bands (such as Yes) and also has a shot at playing - you guessed it - the sitar. Unfortunately singer Keith West got mixed up with the ghastly 'Teenage Opera' project and the band folded soon after. But if you're a fan of Syd Barrett, Arthur Lee or Country Joe and the Fish, you need this record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Credible, seemingly overlooked classic album, 9 Mar 2004
This review is from: Tomorrow (Audio CD)
This to date, remains one of my more satisfying psychedelic rock/pop album purchases, some of which have been pretty disappointing as most albums from the 60's that get labelled 'psychedelic' aren't actually psychedelic musically. They just usually have very surreal front cover art work but frustratingly down-to-earth music. This album however, is at least a bit more of an exception as Tomorrow were one of the leading London underground sixties psychedelic bands.
'My White Bicycle' is a good opener. Not exactly very opening-track-of-Pink-Floyd's-'Piper At The Gates Of Dawn' surreallistic, but nice enough, about a guy and his journey on a bike. Features excellent Indian sitar style guitar playing by Steve Howe.
Colonel Brown to me is like Tomorrow's equivalent of the Beatles' 'Sgt. Pepper (the song, not the album) and Pink Floyd's 'Corporal Clegg'. In fact, what the hell was that 60's psychedelia band/military ranks songs connection all about? Hmmm......
Anyway it starts of as quite a happy song, about the Colonel and features very bouncy rhythm and uplifting chords, but eventually becomes quite sad, morbid, as lead singer Keith West sings '...Colonel Brown sits in his wheelchair and he tries to pray again'. Once again, very good vocals/guitar/bass/drumming from all four band members here.
'Real Life Permanent Dream' is a good sitar led love song. Always nice to hear sitars in rock songs. Again, very good performing from all four guys.
Shy Boy is a very charming whimsical song, with a toytown-esque organ part from the album's producer Mark Wirtz. To quote some of the lyrics: 'She is very thin, has freckles on her skin, and her hair is mousy...'. It could be labelled as cheesy and immature, but I don't care when it comes to quality, quirky Syd Barrett-esque rock music.
The album's fifth song, 'Revolution' is another good song. Very optimistic and inspiring, summing up the essence and psychology behind the 'flower power' movement very well with the call of 'Have Your Own Little Revolution...NOWWW!!!!!!'
'The Incredible Journey Of Timothy Chase' is another good inclusion of the album. It's actually one of the least interesting tracks on the album (which is saying something), but with quality singing, guitar/bass/drum playing once again, it's enough to keep your interest levels up without provoking a 'this is a filler track' feeling.
'Aunty Mary's Dress Shop' - yet another very charming, happy whimsical rock/pop song about an exciting clothes shop, the sort of shop which would've been on London's Kings Road at the time. Listening to this song really gets me excited and fired up to go and shop somewhere were I can buy psychedelic/hippy clothing. Lovely stuff.
The next song is a credible cover version of a legendary Beatles song, 'Strawberry Fields'. Okay, it's not as good as the original (how could the original possibly be rivalled) and is less surreal but it's no underachievement either. A rather enjoyable listen thanks, yet again, to the band's high musical/performing talent.
'Three Jolly Little Dwarfs'. They don't come much more whimsical than this. Extremely happy, jolly, fairy tale lyric based song about three (I presume - imaginary!) dwarfs. Most people might cringe listening to this song but, for Syd Barrett fans like myself, it should be a real fun listen.
'Now Your Time Has Come' is next. Like 'The Incredible Journey Of Timothy Chase, is one of the band's more mediocre compositions, but is still well worth a listen and the Tomorrow boys' performing is on high gear, once again, not least because of Steve Howe's terrific guitar solo.
'Hallucinations' is excellent, very good. Great minor chords, great vocals, very catchy, and surreal lyrics. One of the most psychedelic songs on the album (don't expect 'Interstellar Overdrive). ''Rainboww[...] mome-e-e-ennnnnttt...''.
'Claramount' Lake is one of the album's more average songs. It's actually not psychedelic or whimsical at all, but still well worth a listen, with very good, high profile drumming from Twink.
The above 11 tracks compose the original album. The following are additions for the re-release of the album onto CD.
Next we have an alternative early version of 'Real Life Permanent Dream', the main difference in this version being that the tempo of the song is quicker, and there's no sitar. Not as good as the other version unsurprisingly, but still good.
Next we have 'Why'. Good song (originally by the Byrds, I think), fast pace, another good performance. That's all I can say about this track, well, oh yeah, Steve Howe's excellent guitar playing once again...
Next is a phased mono version of 'Revolution' and wow! It is superb! The best song on the CD if you ask me. Much better than the other version (which is good don't get me wrong). This version flows better and the phasing effect really does give it a great psychedelic feel. A must listen!
'Now Your Time Has Come'. I'm not sure wether this is another version of the same song by the band, or a different song which they just decided to give the same name! I don't know, because it is quite different from the other song on the album of the same name. This one is the better of the two, with, very good guitar playing from Steve Howe, yet again!!
After this we have have songs by Aquarian Age (which was a reformed Tomorrow I think) and solo songs by Keith West. They're okay, but definitely not as good as the Tomorrow songs. I kinda lose interest in the album once you get to track 17/18. If the tracks after these had been left out, I would've definitely given the album a 5 out of 5. Oh well, never mind.
All in all a high quality album, definitely one I would recommend for fans of early/Barrett driven Pink Floyd, Kaleidoscope or similar music. Like I say, it's actually not that psychedelic, but is more psychedelic than most so called psychedelic 60's albums (i.e. Jefferson Airplane's 'Surrealistic Pillow', which, although is a quality album, contains only 1 psychedelic song - White Rabbit!). Tracks 1-16 on the album are an essential listen. After that it goes downhill, but definitely recommended overall.
Keith West, Steve Howe, John Wood (Junior) and John Alder(Twink) were all very good musicians and it's a shame there's only one Tomorrow studio album. Although they do have a CD out filled with live recordings and out-takes. Hmmm, I might check that out. In the meantime definitely check this one out.
P.S. Sorry for the immensely long review!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic Pioners!, 26 April 2007
By 
Morten Vindberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomorrow (Audio CD)
Tomorrow only existed as a band for a short while. This CD together with the Keith West CD "Excerpts from Groups and Sessions", pretty much covers what recorded material Tomorrow did.

The CD contains their 1968 Parlophone album + 11 bonus tracks.

The music is typical British 1960`s psychedelic style; somewhere between Pink Floyd, Traffic or Pretty Things. Most of the songs catchy and melodic, featuring great guitar parts by Stewe Howe.

Their career as a band was more or less spoiled by the success of singer Keith West as a solo artist with his "Teenage Opera" project.

The original album contains their "minor" hit single "My White Bicycle" which is probably the one track that most people will remember.

There are other highlights as well. "Real Life Permanent Dream" is a great song featuring cithar. Most of the original album is actually pretty strong.

Among the bonus tracks "Claramount Lake" , the Byrds cover "Why" and the album outtake "Now Your Time Has Come" stand out! This song is a bit of mystery, having the same title as one of the original album tracks. This song is obviously much stronger, so some kind of mistake may have been made when the album was finished.

The last 7 bonus tracks are not Tomorrow. 3 are by drummer Twink and bassist john Adler`s band "The Aquarian Age" . 4 are Keith West solo recordings; among which "On a Saturday" is quite a good song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Darlings of The UFO Club, 26 May 2009
This review is from: Tomorrow (Audio CD)
Tomorrow were a London four piece formed in 1965, they have been mentioned in the Cellar before of course for their contribution towards the Mark Wirtz's forgotten masterpiece, A Teenage Opera. Following similar lines as The Kaleidoscope, Tomorrow despite being an integral part of the London Psychedelic scene during the late 1960's, are now largely forgotten.

When we talk about the seminal Psychedelic albums of the 67/68 period, people think of Piper at The Gates, Sgt Pepper and even Soft Machine's Volume 1, all of which are heralded for their key contributions to the scene. Here in The Cellar however, we like to talk up albums like Tangerine Dream and S.F. Sorrow, giving them pride of place amongst these other landmark albums. But today I bring you another edition, Tomorrow with their self titled debut released in 1968 on Parlophone, produced by the great EMI magician Mark Wirtz.

The album begins with My White Bicycle, this was the first single for the band, it is also a track which fully utilises backward guitar phasing with wondrous results. It is a fine opener and is surprisingly accessible, creating a useful bridge between the sound coming from the UFO Club and the musical pallet of mainstream audiences.

There are a couple of songs which were recorded during Mark Wirtz's Teenage Opera sessions. As that fine piece of work was shelved for 3 decades by EMI, these belting songs instead get their first airing on Tomorrow's debut, some cracking songs like Colonel Brown and the beautifully decorative Auntie Mary's Dress Shop, not to mention the superb Shy Boy.

The title of best track on this album I think must go to track four; Real-Life Permanent Dream has one of the best sitar riffs going, it is an amazingly trippy effort which is not alone on this LP for that particular vibe. The final track on the album for example is awfully trippy, Hallucinations, leaves London and instead has hints of the West Coast about it with its use of harmonies and lyrical content, joyous!

Tomorrow would see limited success with this album in 1968 and disbanded the same year. Lead guitarist Steve Howe would go on to join Yes, the drummer 'Twink' would join The Pretty Things, whilst singer Keith West had a decent solo career in the seventies. But Tomorrow in 1968 left us with an album which captures the mood of 1967/68 in London perfectly, in that it is ever so jolly and marvellously trippy. In time it must surely rank alongside the great British albums from the period, but there's only one way to find out, Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrow the album today the world, 23 Nov 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow (Audio CD)
A surprisingly fresh dose of late 1960s rock from the psychedelic slipstream, this. The titles and lyrics reveal a band wallowing in a "Sergeant Pepper"-like world of British nostalgia laced with something exotic. Songs of colonels and aunties sit alongside dreams, hallucinations and revolution. Musically though it doesn't travel back to the music hall. Instead, Steve Howe's inventive, crunchy, pre-Yes guitar colours the sound behind some fine melodies and Keith West's animated vocal delivery.
There's little wrong with the original album proper. "My White Bicycle" might be the only song Tomorrow are remembered for but it's by no means outstanding against the other songs. The band are better when they rock out as on "Real Life Permanent Dream" but there are no obvious weak links.
Of the bonus tracks, "Good Wizzard Meets Naughty Wizzard" would even have embarrassed Jackanory but the remainder are at worst passable. Perhaps the best of these is "On A Saturday", a well-crafted and executed pop song.
Tomorrow don't need assessing in a psychedelic context. This
stands up as fine music in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some true gems, though far from perfect overall, & a poor quality recording!, 8 Oct 2005
This review is from: Tomorrow (Audio CD)
`My White Bicycle' is a good psyche opener. `Real Life Permanent Dream' is a well performed song; it is great but the sitar takes a back seat, or at very best is utilised as a mere musical co-pilot! `Shy Boy' is a very saccharine song, and (at least for me) not really Syd Barrett-esque, as it is too well-structured. Nice toon-town organ though.

The album's fifth song, `Revolution' Would Be another good - nay, Classic - song, with a pure psychedelic feel to it, though the composition (taken as a whole) is absolutely ruined by the atrocious recording quality - it sounds soooo numb, vague, unclear, hazy, muffled, blurred - get the picture. Such a shame - it has the potential to be one of the classic hippy-trippy songs of the era! Would otherwise be worth buying the album for this track alone!

`The Incredible Journey Of Timothy Chase' is a good track, with some pleasant effects, played and sung well, though never quite `getting it off the ground'. `Aunty Mary's Dress Shop' - is one of those enchanting, cheerful, quirky rock/pop songs of the age (think of much of the Kinks' almost Baroque material) which tells a tale of a clothes shop. Another reviewer wondered about the connection between bands / military - there was a lot of surplus gear from WW1 which was made available in the charity shops of the time, so it became cheap and popular with students, musicians, youth etc.

`Strawberry Fields' is one of the best covers I have ever heard, though not quite as good or acid-induced as the original.

`Three Jolly Little Dwarfs'. Sorry, but this is just too saccharine for comfort - NOT in the vein of Barrett at all. Well, the lyrics may be similar, but the style of presentation is way way off! `Now Your Time Has Come' is another poor track, definitely filler material - just doesn't sound right - not trippy, hippy or far out, just dull. Next is `Hallucinations' - so annoying how so many songs from this era have lysergic titles, but end up disappointingly dull and earthbound - this is one such track, unfortunately. `Claramont Lake' yet another disappointing track for its lack of anything remotely psychedelic, though otherwise ok. `Why' is ok - more filler. `Revolution' comes next, and I agree, it is one of the best songs on the album, and the closest we come to psychedelia for this little outing from Tomorrow.

The Aquarian Age tracks, make the album worth a purchase to my mind, being much better than the others - though 10k Words in a Cardboard Box is the inferior version (better one found on Twink's `Think Pink' album) - this is good though. `Good Wizard' is a much better track than the whimsy of the `3 Jolly Dwarves', not quite as embarrassing more trippy etc., though not perfect by any measure. More of the Aquarian material would definitely result in a more rounded, more psychedelic affair, but never mind. `Me' - perhaps this is the best tune on the entire album, that is rather sinister, and even threatening. `On A Saturday' is a superbly mellow track up there with the best of any hippy tune available, though the rest of the album is taken up with yet more filler-type, as seen earlier.

In short, the best tracks here, to my mind, are My White Bicycle, Revolution (mono), 10k Words in a Cardboard Box, Me, and On A Saturday - the rest I could gladly do without I'm afraid, considering the wide availability and quality of other alums of the era.

Also try Amazon for the following: Twink's Think Pink, or Silver Apples, or Timothy Leary's stuff (LSD or You Can Be...) Modern trippers may enjoy Porcupine Tree's Voyage 34, or KLF's Chill Out, or Trance Tripping, or The Beta Band's - The Three E.P.'s - All available here at Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than I remembered!, 16 Jan 2003
This review is from: Tomorrow (Audio CD)
... The first "side" of the record (up to and including "Revolution") is more cohesive than the second, even though this also contains some fine tracks. Steve Howe is revealed, even on these early tracks, as a guitarist of exceptional technical accomplishment ("Colonel Brown" is a case in point). It was a bold band, then as now, who would attempt a cover version of "Strawberry Fields Forever", and while Tomorrow's attempt doesn't seriously rival the original (whose could?), it isn't a complete travesty either. I remembered this as a patchy album: side one, absolutely brilliant throughout; side two, some standout tracks and a few makeweights. Listening to it the whole way through recently I was forced to revise my opinion upwards - it's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic British Psychedlia, 28 Oct 2003
This review is from: Tomorrow (Audio CD)
One of the forgotten albums of the late 60's psychedlic era, Tomorrow contains the classic 'My White Bicycle', the guitar of Steve Howe (of 'Yes' fame) and the voice of Keith 'Grocer Jack' West.
Anyone interested in that period of music will enjoy this CD which has the quaint lyrical charm that British psychedlia has and some stonking pop tunes to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrow, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow (Audio CD)
Pretty crazy that sound too crazy and the time when it was recorded. Typically psychedelic sound for special days !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TOMORROW IS AS GOOD AS IT GETS!!, 25 April 2010
This review is from: Tomorrow (Audio CD)
I am old enough and lucky enough to have seen Tomorrow 'live' on more than one occasion and take it from me No one could compete! They were totally unreal. Steve Howe was at the top of his game. Probably the most astonishing gig I ever attended was my first all niter 'Christmas On Earth Cont.' Their complete show from that night later appeared on CD much to my astonishment. Its a pretty low budget recording but captures the power and exitement of the night. That night, only Hendrix topped them, although the Move ran them close! The Tomorrow album is easily in the Top Five of the all-time UK Psych Albums. The others....Piper At The Gates/Revolver/Mr. Fantasy/Music In A Dolls House! No Contest, thats it I'm afraid. If EMI hadn't delayed its release for so long, it would have sold more. They did the same with No.6in the Top UK Psych albums list...SF Sorrow!
Buy with confidence, its a bloody masterpiece. Andy T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72308ac)

This product

Tomorrow
Tomorrow by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews