Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Close to a Perfect Recording as Possible, 29 Oct 2007
By 
A Brahms fan (London, England) - See all my reviews
While I do not think there is ever such a thing as a perfect recording (even if one is "definitive"), this is as close as you can get! Barenboim is a master in interpretting Beethoven, the Berliner Philharmoniker are, without a doubt, one of the world's best orchestras, and Perlman is an amazing virtuoso violinist, possessing such beautiful sound.

The result: Beethoven's lyrical violin concerto sounding "as it should" - the tempi are perfect, and there is so much expression. The soloist is never drowned by the orchestra, which is a possible danger with concertos. The way Perlman plays the famous Kreisler cadenzas is unbelievable - fast, but not showy, with beautiful sound - really impressive.

What's more - the violin concerto is a LIVE RECORDING! That's real skill - not hundreds of retakes in a studio. Don't worry about noise from the audience - there is none, apart from the excellent "Bravo"s and applause that come at the end - I like that. The climactic finish and the playing of the whole provoke a "Bravo" or two!

What's more, this CD comes with studio recordings of the two romances for violin and orchestra, making this set complete - also excellent performances. Highly recommended!

(Customers who like this title may be interested in another excellent live performance by the same artists, playing Brahms - Violin Concerto; 4 Hungarian Dances. The video recordings of both concerts also available together on DVD: Beethoven/Brahms - Violin Concertos (Perlman, Barenboim) - it's quite interesting to see the masters at work!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 23 Mar 2004
This album was bought for me after I said I didnt like Beethoven. I have to admit I just didnt know Beethoven. Its the most wonderful album. Great tonic after a bad day or at the beginning of a weekend. Uplifting, inspirational, delightful.
Cant recommend higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb live recording of Beethoven's Opus 61 Violin Concerto, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautiful recording of an amazing piece of music. I am not an expert by any means - and am not a musician but I think I have a good ear - and I am highly susceptible and greatly moved by performances like this - that like the existence of fruit - to a non-believer like me, goes someway to prove the existence of god.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memory, 7 Oct 2012
Purchased this to replace a much played vinyl copy. Saw Perlman play this many years ago. Performance and recording both excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Choice Recording, 28 Sep 2012
I only own a handfull of recordings that I feel confident will always remain my favourite version of a piece (Leinsdorf's Choral Symphony and Kleiber's Brahms 4th spring to mind) but this is one. Perlman plays beautifully here and is ably backed up by the BPO. For once a great virtuoso performance is backed up by superlative sound; the digital recording is first rate and this live recording is given great clarity, yet with no audience noise until the clapping at the end. The romances for violin (which are studio recorded) lack some spontaniety in comparison but are still very fine.

For me this is a definitive recording. The nature of music is that one listener's masterpiece is another's disaster, but I have no hesitation in recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend this coming together of the musical geniuses, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a combination, Beethoven, Perlman and Barenboim. I highly recommend this coming together of the musical geniuses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barenbhoim and Pearlman, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb recording by two of the finest artists of our time. Highly recommend to all music lovers. A must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb recording, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This recording is sublime - but with the artists involved what else would it be! Of all the times I've heard this piece of music this one s truly special. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Sep 2013
By 
I. Joubert (Pretoria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The combination of the talents of Daniel Barenboim and Itzhak Perl man is simply brilliant!!!There very few performers who could give such justice to Beethoven's Violin Concerto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beethoven Brilliance!, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What more can you say about Beethoven that hasn't been said before. Lovely album, great violinist
and great orchestra. Buy it..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beethoven: Violin Concerto
Beethoven: Violin Concerto by Itzhak Perlman/Daniel Barenboim
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews