Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark night of the soul
Aside from their L.P. ' Extremities, Dirt...' this one is probably their most darkest. Running through the undercurrent of the making of this were internal squablles with Big Paul and Youth and Jaz's fear of an impending apocolypse that led him to flee to Iceland shortly after the records release to escape what he saw as the end of the world. As empire song entered the...
Published on 6 Aug 2005 by B. S. Barker

versus
2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Start With This Album!....
I started with Joke's excellent 2010 album, Absolute Dissent and basically acquired their back catalogue in a matter of weeks. Of all the albums, I find this one the most difficult. The songs are uninspired as are much of the performances and it all sounds a bit of a dirge with one track blurring into another. Only occasionally does one get an interesting riff or vocal...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by Adam Jackson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark night of the soul, 6 Aug 2005
By 
B. S. Barker "brendanbe" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelations (Audio CD)
Aside from their L.P. ' Extremities, Dirt...' this one is probably their most darkest. Running through the undercurrent of the making of this were internal squablles with Big Paul and Youth and Jaz's fear of an impending apocolypse that led him to flee to Iceland shortly after the records release to escape what he saw as the end of the world. As empire song entered the charts the rest of the band had to make do with replacing Jaz on Tv apperances with either a scarcrow or someone in a bee-keepers outfit.
Apart from all this the songs are excellent. Geordies guitar cutting a swathe and snaking in and out of the 'beating pulse like' drums and bass guitar, and the keyboards rumbling through on some tracks or leading like a pipers battle cry on 'The pandys are coming'
Fully recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars given a new lease of life, 2 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. J. L. Tickner "jamietickner" (Carlisle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelations (Audio CD)
recently remastered and reissued this overlooked classic sounds even more intense and claustrophobic than before! The best way to describe this album is intense riffs and vocals coupled with danceable beats and a great bass groove. Stand out tracks are Empire Song, The Pandys are Coming and the fast punky Land of Milk and Honey. The remastering gives this album a new depth and clarity whilst still keeping the bleak edge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LSD era recording, 8 Nov 2009
This review is from: Revelations (Audio CD)
When I bought this album in 1982 I hated it.Now it is one of my favourites.It is true that the additional track could have been accompanied by Sun Goes Down, Birds Of A Feather etc. but you get them on Ha! I just add the related files to my iPod.

Revelations is a brutal record in every way. LSD featured heavily at the time( as folklore would have it) hence the strangeness of it all.Dregs is basically a studio jam where Jaz just makes the words up.

It took me 15 years to get into this record and I do not know why because it is awesome.

Standouts are Empire Song, Chop Chop and Chapter III.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, claustrophobic and brilliant, 5 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelations (MP3 Download)
Where the first two Killing Joke albums were and are still, utterly untouchable, with Revelations Killing Joke entered even darker territory. Paranoia of impending world destruction lead to Jaz running off to Iceland in abject terror.

Before he left, this album was unleashed. Kicking off with the slow crawl of the Hum you're immediately dragged kicking and screaming into a dark corridor down into a grey and rather paranoid world.

There's a more sparse nature to this record, yet it also showed the first signs that Youth was about to depart, the trademark bass lines are not quite as prevalent, perhaps fatigue, perhaps internal difficulties.

Either way, as a unit, this is still a cohesive work with some incredible songs 'The Hum', 'Empire Song', Pandys, Chop Chop, I could go on, but it also signalled a need for change, for me, with the inclusion of Dregs which is a bit of a throwaway track.

It is an essential purchase in the same way as the first two albums are, but perhaps not quite the cornerstone of a superb career, that shows no signs of waning just yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true revelation, 17 April 2014
This review is from: Revelations (Audio CD)
Jaz and the gang deliver a true howl of anger with this release.
I have loved KJ ever since i bought their first album and this is a true stunner.
My favourite is "We Have Joy" which is a delightfully discordant and insane little ditty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thrashing great album!, 17 April 2014
This review is from: Revelations (Audio CD)
Put this album on,then listen to 1986's "Brighter than a thousand suns",and you would question yourself.'Is this the same band!' Both terrific L.P's. Revelations is a very edgy post punk affair,totally distorted and noisy,used to maximum effect,this is where 'Geordie' shows his guitar genius. You would either find this album irritating or wonderful,for me the latter. See my review on "Brighter.."..as this is nicer on the ears..but has a post apocalyptic sound all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars KJ darkened right about here., 10 Dec 2012
By 
C. G. Lloyd-morley "CLM" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations (Audio CD)
This is probably the tipping point for KJ where they took on an even darker sound. Most of the tracks are fantastic, Jazz telling us how it was (and still is to a large extent), the tribal drumming relentlessly surging along, Geordie working his magic on the guitar and I suspect it is still Jazz, putting together some keyboard sounds that could melt your face clean off. The only thing that seemed to be missing here was Youth's pulsating bass. Still a must for any KJ fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but the bonus offering is disappointing, 4 Jan 2009
This review is from: Revelations (Audio CD)
I agree with previous reviewers that this is an excellent album - I would name Chapter III as another stand out track with it's resouding chorus: 'take now or stay the same!'

However when I first purchased this album I was surprised to see an obvious filler track 'Dregs' on an album which is only 36 mins long, and that remains a gripe with me. This edition has good quality remastering but I'm sure there would have been room for some more bonus tracks - maybe something from the Birds of a Feather EP for example?

I'm being mean giving this 4 stars but I can't really give it 5 in view of the above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, if a little flawed..., 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: Revelations (Audio CD)
Had there been more consistency this could have been a classic but it seems as though they ran out of ideas towards the end or just lost interest. Having said that, it is totally worth buying for the classic tracks it does contain. The Hum and Empire Song are two of their best tracks ever and Chop Chop, We Have Joy and The Pandys Are Coming are also classsic recordings - Connie Plank's production works so much better with the digital re-mastering than it did on vinyl. Side two is a bit disappointing for me though. Dregs could've been a good track had they finished writing it and recorded it properly, and Good Samaritan is painful to listen to.
The remix of We Have Joy is good but why wasn't Brilliant on this album rather than on the previous one?
I always hoped that a studio version of Take Take Take might show up one day but they obviously never got round to recording it.
All in all though, buy it for the good tracks it contains - they make up for rest of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Start With This Album!...., 3 Jan 2011
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelations (Audio CD)
I started with Joke's excellent 2010 album, Absolute Dissent and basically acquired their back catalogue in a matter of weeks. Of all the albums, I find this one the most difficult. The songs are uninspired as are much of the performances and it all sounds a bit of a dirge with one track blurring into another. Only occasionally does one get an interesting riff or vocal line. Now I pretty much love all the other albums but this is a real let down. I expected much, much more with such an intriguingly apocalyptic title!!

How the band that later gave us The Raven King, A Southern Sky, Twilight Of The Mortal or Money Is Not Our God could once have produced such a slog of an album is baffling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabf12a20)

This product

Revelations
Revelations by Killing Joke
Buy MP3 Album10.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews