Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...still metal thrashing mad...
Kreator are one of the Big Three of German thrash metal. Alongside Sodom and Destruction they've flown the flag high ever since forming way back in 1982. Their early demos saw them getting signed by legendary genre label Noise, and under the stewardship of founder member Mille Petrozza, they've been pounding away ever since.

Their début album Endless...
Published on 30 Jan. 2009 by Mr. H

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No DVD cd only
This product arrived as a cd but no had no Dvd. I have been sold and sent product under false advertisement. Very poor
Published 16 months ago by Emma Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...still metal thrashing mad..., 30 Jan. 2009
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Kreator are one of the Big Three of German thrash metal. Alongside Sodom and Destruction they've flown the flag high ever since forming way back in 1982. Their early demos saw them getting signed by legendary genre label Noise, and under the stewardship of founder member Mille Petrozza, they've been pounding away ever since.

Their début album Endless Pain came out in 1985 and was an instant hit with metalheads, and it's one of the albums that is constantly hailed as a major influence by subsequent generations of bands. The follow-up, 1986's Pleasure To Kill, is even better. Kreator broke all the speed limits as they thrashed their way through classic after classic, with "Flag Of Hate" hailed as a metal anthem.

Their final indie album of the eighties, Terrible Certainty continued their momentum and saw the major labels sniffing round, with Epic Records signing them for the LA recorded Extreme Aggression, complete with a big name producer in Randy Burns, MTV videos and US tours. However, as with many metal bands, signing to a major saw the first cracks in the Kreator story. With a new guitarist in tow, "Coma Of Souls" saw the critics knives sharpening.

In response, Kreator threw their toys out of the pram as they responded with a series of experimental releases that saw them dipping their toes into industrial metal, goth rock, and the just plain weird, on albums like Renewal and Endorama. There were more line up changes, leaving vocalist / guitarist Petrozza as the sole original band member, and it seemed as though there days were numbered as Epic dropped them, and they headed back to indie land.

But then the 21st century arrived, along with a new guitarist, Sami Yli-Sirniö, and suddenly Kreator returned. Violent Revolution was a fabulous return to form and to their roots, and the band saw their profile raised, and a new generation of fans arrived. A live album and a new studio release, Enemy Of God were also well received, but with four years passing without any new material, is there any gas left in Kreators tank?

Well, the answer is an emphatic yes. Studio album number twelve continues Kreators journey back in time on album recorded live on a four track analogue tape recorder with no overdubs, their first in such style since Pleasure To Kill back in 1986. Now I'm still not convinced that Kreators twenty first century love affair with eighties thrash isn't partly inspired by commercial concerns, but a minute into the title track, the air guitar is out, my head is banging, and I'm young again! So who cares.

On into the second song "Warcurse", and the riffs are still faster than the speed of light, there is some excellent drumming from Ventor, and I'm mulling over looking out my neck brace. It's largely pedal to the metal, as Kreator look at the new wave of thrash bands coming up, and decide to show them just how it should be done. Having the band playing live in the same room does wonders for the feel of the album, and producer Moses Schneider should be commended for going old school on this one.

There are a few left turns here with an inventive arrangement on "Amok Run" particularly noteworthy, but the band mainly stick to piling on riff after riff. And they're mighty fine riffs with "Escalation" and "Demon Prince" brutal masterpieces, full of enough aggression and venom to keep the most ardent misanthrope happy. Now I'm not convinced Hordes Of Chaos quite matches the out and out genius of either Violent Revolution or Enemy Of God, but it still dumps on all the young pretenders from on high.

The album is out in a few different formats. Apart from the bog standard ten track album, a deluxe edition features a bonus DVD with a making of the album documentary, two live videos and a promo video for the title track and the ultra deluxe edition includes a Kreator shirt, an extended version of the bonus DVD and a book. There is also a vinyl version of the album with different artwork from the other issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kreator's best album to date, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hordes Of Chaos [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Kreator have really outdone themselves this time, with `Hordes of Chaos,' the German Thrash legends have taken everything that made `Violent Revolution,' and `Enemy of God,' so good, and put it together to form one of the best metal albums of the decade.
Combining a return to roots Thrash Sound with hints of Gothenburg and the odd trace of Metalcore Kreator hit out with riff after riff of breakneck speeds, pounding grooves and dreamy melodic moments, with dual guitar harmonies that'd put Iron Maiden to shame giving way to all out Thrash metal riffing with catchy double kick drum patterns underneath at a moment's notice.
The sound is ferocious, heavy at all the right places, clear and crisp when necessary and Mille's voice sounds the best it ever has. Combine this with amazingly catchy choruses like those of title track `Hordes of Chaos,' or `Radical Resistance,' and Kreator are really on to a winner.
Standout tracks like `Amok Run,' and `To The Afterborn,' rival classic era tracks in terms of quality and even outdo them in a number of areas.
`Hordes of Chaos,' feels important, it doesn't feel like just another album, I can easily see people listening to it ten years from and now calling it a classic. It may be a much overused expression but I honestly believe that `Hordes of Chaos,' is genuinely the best thing the band have released since their 1980's heyday.
The special edition comes in a very elaborate fold out package with a DVD which goes into the background of the album, its not exactly essential stuff but its nowhere near the worst making of DVD I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heavy follow up to enemy of god!, 21 Jan. 2009
Of course Thras bands since the dawn of time will never better their earlier output that have earned them a vast thrash following but since the genre has undergone somthing of a "mini" re-birth that has spawned an assembly line of bands like SSS, Gama Bomb, Bonded By Blood and Toxic Holocaust that have worn their influences on their sleeves with their own take on speed metal its bound to get the old guard a little twitchy and come out with somthing to prove to these young whipper snappers especially Kreator and their latest offering Hordes of Chaos.

The album is a mix of the old with some modern production work which has a live feel to the songs which brings out the best from them especially on "Hordes of Chaos" and my favourite "Warcurse" which is hurtled along at such speed by the evergreen vocals of "Millie Petrozza" it feels as if you where falling down a bottomless pit without even time to catch some much needed breath!

This album is in a class of its own which shows why they are part of the famous, infamous thrash triumvirate of SODOM and DESTRUCTION since there are other songs apart from just the two to enjoy banging your arthritic hit neck and head to especially on the pounding "Radical Resistance" and "Absolute Misanthropy" and "To The Afterborn" whilst short instrumental leads into a riff frontal assault on "Demon Prince".

This may not get them the same appraisal they earned for their legendary pleasure to kill album but all in all this album shows that you could never teach an old dog new tricks that it already knows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Album, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
F. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent album. Get it. I first heard Kreator in the late 1980s - there was something unique to their sound even at a time when thrash and speed was seeping from both sides of the Atlantic and from Germany. When I heard their 'Hordes of Chaos' on their website (check it: it's still there), I was blown away. They still have that edge over other bands. As fast and furious as ever, but the sound quality was oh so clear, sharp and piercing. I like the melodic bits that they have incorporated over the years - it gives character and an added dimension to what could have remained a brainless bash. 'War Curse' is another paranoid track on this album. 'Amok Run' and 'Demon Prince' also stand out in a truly outstanding album. Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up With Their Best!, 10 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hordes Of Chaos [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
WOW!! For my shame, its taken me until alamost 2012 to pick this up. Redeemed myself I have by buying up the whole backlog of Kreator I didnt know existed haha.

But! But! This is just incredible! Its all new Kreator but its still unmistakeably Kreator. Mille's bark is as fierce as it ever was. The riffs are razor sharp and Ventors pounding rhthyms are on top thumping form. Its the songs though. The songs are just so damn metal. And catchy to boot.
Hordes of Chaos the song is probably now my favourite Kreator song and I long for them to come to the UK just so I can mosh and sing along to it. Warcurse is reminiscent of Slayer, of course haha, and its just as face melting as their best works. Escalation is a breakneck thrasher, Amok Run starts as an eerie gothy ballad and just erupts, Destroy What Destroys You a catchy chugger and it just goes on and on!! A barnstorming thrash album for the 2000s'. Should be massive!!!! Cant wait to hear what they come out with next year!!!

Also a nice digipack this with fairly brief but worthwhile DVD extras.

LONG LIVE KREATOR \m/

BUY BUY BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hordes of Thrashy Goodness, 8 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Hordes Of Chaos [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Heres a little latecomer to the reviews of this cd, im not one for writing many reviews but im trying to change the error of my ways, ok review then, i like i like oh man do i friggin like, im not going to bleat on about the downfall of thrash in the 90s, some bands split up and some like Kreator kept going with limited success which is understandable, these were thrash bands trying to dilute or re adapt their music to fit in, since the turn of the century things have been becoming, erm more normal shall we say. The release of Violent Revolution got my interest stoked, it was a nice offering and Enemy of God was even better but i felt the likes of Exodus were really leading the charge back to the thrash heyday with Atrocity Exhibition, then came Hordes of Chaos, well well well, Mille and Kreator not only raised the bar, they took the bar and hid it. This is a truly unbelieveable album, it really is, in years to come there will be many debates about the 2nd wave of thrash and in all honesty i do not believe a "Big Four" exist any more, but if there is to be a hallowed four its only fair that Kreator be placed at the head of the table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aggressive Kreator At Its Best, 10 April 2009
By 
Yoruk Kurtaran (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hordes Of Chaos [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This line up of the band has been working for three LPs now and they have perfected what they have been doing since Violent Revolution. Up tempo - sometimes fast - songs. Lyrics are typical Kreator, in the line with "I know who is causing the trouble" approach. Politically fused, with a punk edge and yes intellectual.

Petrozza's vocals are the most angriest since Extreme Aggression. A little more high pitched then Enemy of God; and yes better than ever. But melodic also...

And riffs, riffs, riffs with harmony guitars. This is the first time that they have recorded and album live in the studio (except the vocals) and it shows. There is a live feeling with a mix of rawness. On the other hand, you can hear everything. This creates a good vibe of energy.

If you are a metal head with a touch of Eurothrash, this will truly satisfy you. A must buy.

* I own the CD/DVD version. They talk about the recording process. Nothing special, but if you are a fan it can be bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kreator are Kings, 27 Feb. 2009
By 
J. Tan "Jaymee" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hordes Of Chaos [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Hi firstly I just want to say as most fans of thrash metal. This has to be one of their best and they just get better. Powerful vocals from the man who started it all (Millie) shows no sign in going back to the days when they tried to experiment with new ideas. This as raw as you can get and for all you thrash fans out there like me this is a must!!
The cd is value for money as for the dvd however it is a different story. There are dvd's that actually do contain all that is mentioned. I guess I was one of the unlucky ones.
Yes it comes with the bonus dvd but only the making of the album was on my edition.
The 2 live bonus tracks and the 'Hordes of Chaos video were not.
That is one of the main reasons I bought this and when I discovered they were missing I was a little disappointed...not to mention a little pissed.

Kreator have also a limited,limited edition in the works which included with this will be a t-shirt and book...release date not yet finalised.
I love this album either way but you should get what you paid for. This is a great album and the extended packaging does make this unique.

To all Kreator fans I am putting you straight. This limited edition can be limited, but a fantastic album.
I just hope many who buy this will read this before they do. I also suggest if it's not too much trouble for the seller they should do you the favour of viewing it before they send it. It is a real hassle when you have to return an item...trust me.

I am sure it is an honest mistake and by no way the sellers fault but more so the production of the album. When it was released it was in hot demand and often in these cases the limited editions are produced very quickly for the buying customer.

I can assure you though there are completed dvd's out there I have seen it. It is well worth every penny and you will not be disappointed...If your one of the lucky ones.

Thanks
HEADBANGA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 16 Oct. 2010
By 
Joao Aleluia - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Along with Enemy of God, Violent Revolution and Extreme Agression, one of Kreator's best albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No DVD cd only, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hordes Of Chaos [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This product arrived as a cd but no had no Dvd. I have been sold and sent product under false advertisement. Very poor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hordes Of Chaos [CD + DVD]
Hordes Of Chaos [CD + DVD] by Kreator (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews