Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reissue
UFO fans will know NHP as the album that started the move into light and shade country. Danny Peyronnel was really undervalued and it is interesting to think what may have been if he hung around longer. The pieces he wrote are excellent UFO tunes "Highway Lady" and "Can you roll Her" Wham bam thank you mam songs followed by the beautiful Martian Landscape - Apparently...
Published on 18 Feb 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no heavy heavy ?
this album is ruined by 'peyronel' his keyboards just don't fit in,the songs i like are the one's when i can't hear him playing. phil mogg knew he made a mistake & got rid of this odious fellow. that said it contains one of 'schenker' best solo's ever [reasons love].paul raymond showed how it should be done on 'lights out' and 'obsession'.
Published on 15 Mar 2009 by harry monk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reissue, 18 Feb 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Gods Own Country - UK North West) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Heavy Petting (Audio CD)
UFO fans will know NHP as the album that started the move into light and shade country. Danny Peyronnel was really undervalued and it is interesting to think what may have been if he hung around longer. The pieces he wrote are excellent UFO tunes "Highway Lady" and "Can you roll Her" Wham bam thank you mam songs followed by the beautiful Martian Landscape - Apparently written about Argentina !!?. On this reissue he gets a writing credit on "On with the action" also.
The previously unreleased extras are worth the price of admission a Peyronnel ditty "All the strings" Two covers "All or nothing" a live favourite and another Frankie Miller cover "Have you seen me lately Joan". Even time for two UFO compositions "French kisses" and "Do it if you can".
Put these alongside the classic riff of "Natural thing" or the best concise solo Schenker has ever attempted "Reasons Love" you get a six star package.
A lot of time and effort has gone into these three reissues
Buy Buy Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hard,heavy but not many sales!?!, 19 July 2004
By 
R. Pievaitis "aka richard meadows, BleedTheField" (communing with the arcturians above new mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Heavy Petting (Audio CD)
i bought this album when it first came out in 1975/6 merely on the strength of its cover - check it out and see what i mean.being a fan of all things british e.g led zep,sabbath hawkwind etc etc i was looking for something new and did i find it.
on the first track "natural thing"the guitar sound from schenker is awesome - what a mother of all riffs.the album contrasts the songs well from rockers to slower ballads.
this is not the ufo of the lights out/obsession era but just as good in a more subtle(!) way.even franky miller gets a look in with one of his "pop songs" being covered for a possible single release i would have thought.
this album did not sell too well but things were to change in the next 12 months with the departure of danny peyronnel(ex heavy metal kids ) and the incoming paul reymond on keyboards/guitar
.i love this album purely for the attacking sound of schenkers flying V(plus a few decent songs).give it a try ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best UFO studio album in the world...ever!!, 10 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Heavy Petting (Audio CD)
Make no mistake - the run of UFO albums from Phenomenon to, and including, No Place To Run (I know - it didn't have Schenker on guitar but it's still a corker) was probably the most brilliant and consistent run of albums made by any rock band, I kid you not. And No Heavy Petting is the perfect balance of melody and fretboard-shredding rock. Listen to that Schenker solo on Reasons Love - you will not find a more blistering solo anywhere. And Highway Lady is sublime - it sums up everything about UFO in to one classic rocker. This album has to be in your collection. Trust me on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent reissue which now paints the complete picture.., 25 Jan 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Heavy Petting (Audio CD)
of a fairly overlooked UFO album,probably the least heralded of the(original) schenker era,falling between FORCE IT & LIGHT OUT,this has been marginalised by many including myself however this reissue re-address' this album and what a revelation it is.Opening as was now expected with a couple of UFO standards - 'Natural Thing & Im a Loser' this rocks from the outset , then the changes 'Can you roll her' with its blatant WHO influences and the haunting 'Belladona',this is less heavy rock and certainly a softer side to the band and the fabulous Reason to Love' and superb 'Highway Lady compound that fact,this is UFO takin' chances confident in their ability to produve quality music and not be tied in to the rock/metal scene.The album closes out with 'On With The Action',Fool In Love' and Martian Landscape,the latter returning to the heavy rock arena the fomer duo highlighting again the softer side,back in the day,i was slightly disappointed with this album and it passed me by,it probably would have gotten 2 stars.

bonus tracks: 5 studio tracks none of which will ever trouble the heavier classics in the bands catalogue but they are all excellent, covers of the small faces and frankie miller(the 2nd cover on this album),all would have been welcome on the original release although it does hint at maybe the band wanting to head off into a mellower area,more Bad company than Judas Priest.This is the UFO album to listen if you want something different.

All in all after 30 odd years and the addition of 5 excellent studio tracks this album has warranted a reappraisal and a solid 4 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The forgotten gem!!, 27 Aug 2007
By 
TV "tval2112" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Heavy Petting (Audio CD)
May I first say, I think it's criminal that EMI bought the rights to the other 4 Chrysalis releases, but never bothered to reissue this one. Why?

Maybe it didn't have the immediate impact of "Force It", but it's still great, anyway.

I could never understand why this wasn't the breakthrough album that the band deserved, it's a complete mystery! Some blamed new keyboard player Danny Peyronnel, but it wasn't his fault, as the keyboards always added something to the sound. I think the main problem is that UFO really needed a keyboard/guitar player (which they got with Paul Raymond), to beef up the heavier songs, and add sparkle to the slower ones.

It opens with the brilliant "Natural Thing", and then continues with a particular favourite of mine "I'm a Loser", both later immortalized on the superb live "Strangers in the Night". The live versions even surpassed these studio ones, but they are both brilliant songs anyway, so they still stand up.

The material on this album is first rate, and I can't understand why the likes of "Belladonna" (probably their best ever ballad), the powerful "Reasons Love" (with Schenker on fire, again!), and the brilliant, sleazy "On with the Action", didn't ever make it into the live set, as they are all as good as any songs that the band ever wrote. Even the stuff that Peyronnel co-wrote were still good, and I like listening to "Highway Lady" and "Martian Landscape".

There's nothing at all wrong with this album,even the production is pretty good, although producer Leo Lyons got his marching orders after this one to be replaced by Ron Nevison for the next three. It seems like "scapegoats" were needed for this album not being the success that the band had hoped, so the producer, and the keyboard player got the boot!

Anyway, it's still a top notch album, and I can't understand why it's only available as an expensive Japanese import (although it's still worth the money in my book). Come on EMI, if you are reissuing the UFO stuff, you've got to include this one, as it's an important part of the history, and should NOT be overlooked!!

UPDATE: All the UFO albums of this era have now been remastered with extra tracks. Better late than never, I suppose!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Mar 2008
This review is from: No Heavy Petting (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant re-master of a classic rock album. Please see my review of the original album for more detail if you like, suffice to say this is well engineered and comes with bonus material for the collectors. One of their best studio albums from a golden age and one of my favourites to this day. Bliss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Heavy Rock 'n' Roll, 10 Feb 2007
This review is from: No Heavy Petting (Audio CD)
This is possibly my favourite UFO studio album although it's a tough call between two or three. It still stands up well with today's music due to the quality vocals, great guitar playing and a solid rhythm section. It lacks the polish and variety of "Lights Out" but wow does it rock with dazzling 70's style lead guitar! I understand that the band were worried about the sound with Peyronnel on keyboards and he later left to be replaced with Paul Raymond. This line up certainly created a tasty enough studio sound with classics such as "Natural Thing" and "I'm a Loser" and one of my all time faves "On With The Action" (Phil Mogg lyrically at his best). All the tunes are great even with a few trademark clunky lyrics. Also one of the best album covers ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic. the best ufo album, 9 Aug 2007
This review is from: No Heavy Petting (Audio CD)
it always amazes me how this album is overlooked when ufos recorded output is reviewed cos this is by far their strongest album, far stronger than, for example, the over-rated 'obsession' - every song is a winner here. its got it all, massive heavy rock, melodic pop-rock, to a couple of awesome ballads. its beautifully produced. crystal clear. with a fabulous guitar sound (schenker never sounded better) and warm, lush vocals from the great phil mogg. in fact, the overall sound of this album is very warm and round. plenty of low end and brimming with power throughout. the musicianship is faultless throughout and all the songs are structured and to the point. a truly great album from one of the best rock bands around. i rate ufo higher than zeppelin and its a mystery how they never got recognized as they giants they were. (indeed, still are!)
released in 1976, this is just about as good and classy as heavy rock music gets. the absolute bollocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... a long time since I've heard this album so glad I have it again, 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Heavy Petting (MP3 Download)
It's been a long time since I've heard this album so glad I have it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Heavy Petting [VINYL] (Vinyl)
superb. Its classic UFO, brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews