Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars July - self-titled (Rev-Ola)
Originally released in 1968, this was the British psychedelic band's only record. That's too bad because I believe these players would've definitely had more to say. I've heard a bit about this lesser-known group but this was my first listen to the CD reissue. Very nice. Tracks that stand on their own are "Dandelion Seeds", the catchy "Jolly Mary", the tripping "Way", the...
Published on 22 Dec 2009 by Mike Reed

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor pressing
I compared this pressing to an original on major minor and whilst not shocking, it's lacks the volume and the clarity of the original. Sadly the original is well out of the price range for most but it begs the question, Why can't reissue labels do it properly? Maybe the masters are just not available but digital rips (as i suspect this is) are just not doing it justice.
Published 8 months ago by Hans Gruber


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars July - self-titled (Rev-Ola), 22 Dec 2009
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1968, this was the British psychedelic band's only record. That's too bad because I believe these players would've definitely had more to say. I've heard a bit about this lesser-known group but this was my first listen to the CD reissue. Very nice. Tracks that stand on their own are "Dandelion Seeds", the catchy "Jolly Mary", the tripping "Way", the awesome "Crying Is For Writers" and both versions of "Mr. Clown". Personnel: Tom Newman - vocals, Tony Duhig (Jade Warrior) - guitar, John Field (also, later in Jade Warrior) - flute & keyboard, Allan James - bass and Chris Jackson - drums. Should appeal to fans of Pretty Things, early Who, La De Da's, the Creation and the Action. A good find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This one still cuts it., 5 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Most so called British psychedelic classics often turn out to be damp squibs when you finally get to hear them......yes, I am talking about you, Open Mind, Skip Bifferty, Blossom Toes et al.

This one thankfully, bar one or two weak songs, is great. Really excellent players, a few eastern tinges, some good grooves and the silliness (Jolly Mary) kept to a minimum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Choice Brit Psyche, 12 Jan 2009
By 
Z-Car (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
Thoroughly recommended to all collectors of Brit Psyche. July have been likened to early Pink Floyd. If you like distorted guitars and vocals this should appeal. As you would expect from this era sitars, mellotrons and phasing feature. Don't expect deep and meaningful lyrics as things edge rather towards the whimsical. Could have been made in no other year but 1967. Only a couple of tracks disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poor pressing, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: July [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I compared this pressing to an original on major minor and whilst not shocking, it's lacks the volume and the clarity of the original. Sadly the original is well out of the price range for most but it begs the question, Why can't reissue labels do it properly? Maybe the masters are just not available but digital rips (as i suspect this is) are just not doing it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great psychedelia, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
I do like these "long lost" albums.

July certainly rate in this area and the album is loaded with catchy, sometimes crazy tunes and arrangements.
-what more could you want?

Do buy if you love whimsical, mad music from the late 60s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sounds but not great, 30 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: July (Audio CD)
July is a hidden gem there are better but if you like late 60's sounds then give them a go,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

July
July by July
Buy MP3 Album£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews