Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Mommy...can I go out and kill tonight?"
The Misfits were hugely influential in introducing the goth aesthetic to the punk genre. This compilation, and its companion 'Collection II', includes the majority of their studio material from 1977 to the break-up of the original band in 1983. Glenn Danzig, who fronted the group, epitomised the DIY punk ethic: he single-handedly wrote all the songs, founded the fan club...
Published on 16 Jan 2007 by Gareth Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Must own
Great album but unfortunately there are no lyrics, no booklet.... just the plain Vinyl.. nice cover thought. At least you get the mp3 album if you buy the record through Amazon
Published 6 months ago by W. Malusa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Mommy...can I go out and kill tonight?", 16 Jan 2007
By 
Gareth Hall "Lord Rockingham" (Birmingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
The Misfits were hugely influential in introducing the goth aesthetic to the punk genre. This compilation, and its companion 'Collection II', includes the majority of their studio material from 1977 to the break-up of the original band in 1983. Glenn Danzig, who fronted the group, epitomised the DIY punk ethic: he single-handedly wrote all the songs, founded the fan club (the now legendary "Fiend Club"), made record covers by hand, printed t-shirts and mailed out letters and merchandise info. Between '77 and '83, many Misfits players came and went. The only other permanent member was bassist Jerry Only, who invented The Misfits' famous "devilock" hairstyle. Jerry's brother, the self-titled Doyle Wolfgang von Frankenstein, played guitar from '80-'83. The Misfits were named after the title of Marilyn Monroe's last movie, and adopted as a logo the image of a ghastly skull (nick-named "The Fiend") from 1946 horror movie 'The Crimson Ghost'.

Danzig had the lyrics to match their ghoulish appearance - on this album, 'London Dungeon', 'Night Of The Living Dead' and 'Death Comes Ripping' need no explanation. In the same pop trash vein, 'I Turned Into A Martian' and 'Teenagers From Mars' explore his love of kitsch sci-fi. Musically, Danzig referenced 50's rock 'n roll with instantly memorable guitar hooks, and the dynamism of his singing (which earned him the nick-name "Evil Elvis"). The Misfits played at a frantic pace - any track that made it past 3 minutes was an epic - and their production values showed total disregard for sharp, clear audio. The combination of Danzig's melodic songwriting with the band's vicious, chaotic performance style creates a unique tension that many have tried to imitate since.

Between this album and 'Collection II', it's a toss-up which one features more classic material. Quite frankly, it doesn't matter, because they both belong in every punk fan's stereo.

As for "What happened next?", post-1983 Danzig went on to front Samhain, and then the self-named 'Danzig' (still officially active today), both of which followed the cult success of the original Misfits with exciting alternative music. Jerry Only spent 12 years in obscurity before resurrecting The Misfits in 1995, without Danzig, after a bitter legal battle over the rights to the band name. Michale Graves, Danzig's replacement, proved to be an excellent frontman, forging a vocal style that was as much a respectful homage to Glenn as a fresh and distinctive new sound for the band. However, he only lasted for 2 albums before leaving to start a solo career. Since then, despite his obvious lack of singing ability, Only has attempted to front the band himself, and unsurprisingly The Misfits have floundered, with only one album (the disappointing 'Project 1950') released in the last decade. Sadly, due to continuing acrimony on both sides, a classic 'Fits reunion continues to look unlikely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Introduction ToThe Madness Of The Fiends...., 22 Jan 2001
By 
Mr. A. R. Brady "doctor mekon" (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If there was a way to buy instant punk rock credibility - youd buy it, wouldnt you??
If the answer to the above is yes, then MIsfits collection Vol.1 is for you. A collection of the essential Misfits tracks from the early part of their career, no one could hope for a better introduction to the band - unarguably one of the most important outfits of the scene to date - or perhaps even the whole punk scene.
Nestling nicely between obscurity and cult, The Misfits "cant play, but hold a killer melody" B movie inspired madness will perhaps never be quite as well exemplified as it here (despite the excellence of their newer material) on tracks such as Hollywood Babylon, Skulls, Teenagers From Mars and the ripping Bullet.
Some of the best songs by one of the best bands around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misfits newcomer? Get this., 13 Sep 2004
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
We all know what a state the Misfits have become in recent years, and 'The New Misfits' is hopefully a signal that they will finally be laid to rest. But listening to this collection of songs from throughout the original horror-punkers discography, you would have imagined they would never be defeated.
Many of the highlights of the original albums are present here; songs like She, Skulls, Where Eagles Dare, London Dungeon and Die,Die My Darling are reminders as to what the Misfits used to be.
We all hate Glenn Danzig now, and laugh at him whenever we can, but on this collection we can see why he was such an influential and iconic frontman back in the day. He actually has a great singing voice. Musically, the Misfits were not spectacular. It's pretty much run-of-the-mill punk, but that's all it needs to be. That isn't to say that they didn't have their share of cool riffs (I love the opening riff to Vampira). Of course, the production on this CD isn't crystal clear, given that the songs were recorded in the 70s, but it's not overly terrible.
This CD will serve as a perfect introduction to anyone wanting to give the Misfits a try, although it's a pointless purchase if you already own a few of their albums. There isn't anything new - no new songs, and nothing at all in the liner booklet. But again, this is a perfect selection of songs for newcomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Must own, 3 Jan 2014
By 
W. Malusa "Williamflipper" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album but unfortunately there are no lyrics, no booklet.... just the plain Vinyl.. nice cover thought. At least you get the mp3 album if you buy the record through Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the classics, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collection [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
They're all on here. If you don't know the Misfits then it's a good way to start off. Turn it up loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good enough!, 1 July 2009
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
I think that this ultimately is just a good, fun album - it is energetic and unstoppable, and the short songs mean that the incessant guitar riffs and shouted lyrics are suprisingly bearable. The production quality is poor so i recommend that you listen to it through big headphones so you get the full experience.

The frantic pace of the album makes it sound as if the band is playing live - a quality I find makes it even more appealing. Ultimately this is far from my favourite album, and the Misfits are not one of my favourite bands, but I did enjoy listening to it and recommend it to anyone who wants something easy to listen to for a good, fun half hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Misfits ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!, 16 Oct 2001
By 
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
This album is a fine combination of a lot of the amazing Misfit songs. If you are a fan and you haven't got this yet you better hurry up and buy this. Then buy collection II which is hard to get. This album has most of my favourite misfits songs like she, bullet etc. every single song on this album is amazing it is really worth it's value. So if you haven't got it go and get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Uhh no, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
I grew up in the 70's-80's and I just did not get this. Cannot see what all the hype is about, there are other punk/new wave bands who do it better. Sorry but not for me.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collection [Explicit]
Collection [Explicit] by The Misfits
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews