Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
This is the perfect video for Christmas. Aled Jones accompanied by the wondefully talented and refreshing boys choir, Libera, sing their way through a selection of Christmas Carols while Aled also takes us around many of the locations behind the songs. It's Festive, it's informative, it's entertaining and it's fun. Put your feet up, slip this into the DVD player and enjoy...
Published on 8 Dec 2008 by Britzone

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doom & Gloom !
Terrible purchase! I already have the CD, absolutely superb of course, but the DVD is horrible. It's full of images of WW1, dead bodies, death and decay all over the place. I hate it, hate it, hate it! Not festive at all and I wouldn't recommend it to anybody. Wonderful music, completely ruined by the war film with it.
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by Mayor Hobbies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] (DVD)
This is the perfect video for Christmas. Aled Jones accompanied by the wondefully talented and refreshing boys choir, Libera, sing their way through a selection of Christmas Carols while Aled also takes us around many of the locations behind the songs. It's Festive, it's informative, it's entertaining and it's fun. Put your feet up, slip this into the DVD player and enjoy a taste of the real Spirit of Christmas.

This DVD delivers what it promises, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate `must have' Christmas Carols DVD, 7 Dec 2008
By 
RJ (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] (DVD)
Aled Jones travels to far distant places around the world, to source the origins of some of our favourite Christmas Carols. Interspersed at strategic points within the documentary are vocal performances by Aled himself, Libera and The Adventist Vocal Ensemble.

The venue (St Bartholomew the Great, City of London) provides a dramatic backdrop and sets an authentic stage for the carols. The lighting, production and filming was of an exceptional standard. The behind the Scenes extra revealed over 2,500 candles were lit; most of these guided an atmospheric walkway the length of the floor for the Libera boys to walk down towards the high altar as they were singing holding candles of their own.

A particular delight for me was the inclusion of the world-renowned boys choir Libera, who got to perform two carols (Gaudete and While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks by Night) on their own. Liam (Connery) performed a stunning solo opening to `Gaudete'; Josh (Madine) a sweet and angelic solo beginning too `Once in Royal David's City', and Ben (Philipp) was confident and faultless with his solo contribution during `While Shepherds Watched their Flocks by Night'.

Libera also assisted Aled on most of his carols, and the collaboration of Aled's strong tenor voice with the ethereal treble voices of the choir worked like a dream. The inclusion of the full choir added further weight to the soaring harmonies and spine tingling descants as most of the carols reached their climatic conclusion.

The Adventist Vocal Ensemble gave an uplifting and unique rendition of Mary's Boy Child. I will be sure to find more about them in the future.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable and feel good factor festive music DVD, that would stand proud at the front of anyone's Christmas music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story of Christmas Carols, 14 Feb 2009
By 
LJ Callum - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fascinating insight to some of our well known carols and how they came to be so popular.They are beautifully sung by Aled Jones and Libera set in some lovely surroungings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful bargain, 9 Dec 2008
This review is from: Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is a bargain for any Libera fan. Not only do they get to enjoy the talents of Aled, and the beautiful scenes across the world but they see a lot of the work of Libera and the behind the scenes bit shows you the fidgety, natural reality of these talented boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas without Aled - unthinkable!, 29 Oct 2009
By 
Mme Rachel Frise "Dorisdog" (Normandie, FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] (DVD)
Aled has been part of our Christmas for so many years now - which belies his age. But we were so lucky to know his voice when he was so young and so talented.

Now we have the man. Always charming, beautifully spoken and the singing voice that sings to my soul.

Enjoy this dvd as part of a magical journey with a trusted friend. It is both spiritual and uplifting.

And gives us a true flavour of Christmas.

Diolch yn fawr Aled

Sally Frise
Normandie, France
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 22 April 2009
By 
Fred C. Wilkerson "Fred Wilkerson" (Vermont, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] (DVD)
Alad Jones has made a wonderful and informative video about Christmas Carols. His guest singing groups, The Adventist Vocal Ensemble and Libera, added to his beautiful voice in a magnificent way! It was the best Christmas event of the season, for me. Will be played over & over again each Christmas...and during the year too! Fred
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true Christmas treat!, 4 Jan 2009
This review is from: Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] (DVD)
got this just in time to show at our little country church here in illinois on the 20th. aled did not/does not disappoint! the concert at st barts plus the background of the carols was such a blessing. thank you for sharing your beautiful voice and spirit with us aled, keep the music coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Carols, 8 Nov 2009
By 
S. BROWN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent - the singing, the background material, the traditional carols.
The singing is clear and easy to follow - the young boys' voices complement Aled's very well.
This was bought for my elderly mother - she will love it. It is particularly good for her that the places Aled visits are on the screen in a title form before we see him there; it ties it all together neatly.
I am so impressed that I am considering buying another copy for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommend, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] (DVD)
I highly recommend this to anyone wishing to have a Christmas not commercialised by the High Street retailers.
Aled Jones, provides and excellent Christmas program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Value, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. W. Chamberlain "Bill C" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] (DVD)
A nice DVD to put on at Christmas. Excellent photography, stunning locations, nicely sung carols and the story of Christmas. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD]
Aled Jones - Christmas Carols [DVD] by Aled Jones (DVD - 2008)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews