Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great Single Malt whisky
It's true we haven't all got the same taste, but for me this Single Malt combines the best flavours of the West and East of Scotland.
It has just a hint of peat, and yet somehow manages to get the clean sharp taste which is so characteristic of East coast Malts.
In the words of the poet:-
"It's soft as the song of a mavis on a summer's evening, and fiery...
Published on 14 Mar. 2012 by Duke

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor state of inner box!!!
product arrived in stated time and the outer packaging was intact. i was dissappointed to discover on opening the parcel to find the box was split on three sides, normally this would not matter, the bottle was fine. but it was bought as a 65th birthday present and apologies needed for state of box
Published 19 months ago by kathryn harvey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great Single Malt whisky, 14 Mar. 2012
It's true we haven't all got the same taste, but for me this Single Malt combines the best flavours of the West and East of Scotland.
It has just a hint of peat, and yet somehow manages to get the clean sharp taste which is so characteristic of East coast Malts.
In the words of the poet:-
"It's soft as the song of a mavis on a summer's evening, and fiery as a highland charge"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rewards some patience, 21 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Springbank 10 year old Single Malt Scotch Whisky 70cl Bottle
Ye Gods, this is complex. Springbank make their whiskies without cold filtration, artificial ingredients (it's shocking how many single malts include e-numbers, which they don't have to declare on the label), or much compromise to popular tastes....

Is that a bad thing? It might take you a while to work it out. It is a punchy 48 per cent, it has a perhaps unexpected peatiness (a peatiness with lots going in underneath it, unlike the overwhelming peatiness of some whiskies on first tasting), and then a quick and intense series of salt, dry fruit, a hint of honey, and a dry finish.

I'm 3/4 through the bottle and every time I get it out I feel a bit differently about it. Maybe one for the drinker who likes to their whisky to make them think. Whatever you might end up feeling about it, it's nice to drink something that challenges you like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spirit of Freedom 45, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Springbank 10 year old Single Malt Scotch Whisky 70cl Bottle
A very nice dram from the springbank distillery in campbeltown. The only Scottish distillery to come out publicly in favour of independence, so ill be sticking with them. Thank you ps wouldnt mind trying your 45 blend ! Saor Alba.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Whisky, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Springbank 10 year old Single Malt Scotch Whisky 70cl Bottle
The 10 year old is a lovely smooth Campbeltown malt that has a hintb of peat unlike the strong peaty taste from Islay close by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor state of inner box!!!, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Springbank 10 year old Single Malt Scotch Whisky 70cl Bottle
product arrived in stated time and the outer packaging was intact. i was dissappointed to discover on opening the parcel to find the box was split on three sides, normally this would not matter, the bottle was fine. but it was bought as a 65th birthday present and apologies needed for state of box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars christmas present, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good packaging and fast delivery. Bought for friend who is a malt whisky drinker. He was a little disappointed in the flavour as not as he was expecting - peaty flavour more than expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible experience, 27 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Springbank 10 year old Single Malt Scotch Whisky 70cl Bottle
It was the first time Id ordered on Amazon
my product was originally £36 plus a few pence it had a diagonal blue line running through it stating now £31 plus etc.
When I paid i noticed the £5 reduction has not been honoured. I emailed Amazon who promptly passed the buck the people who supplied didnt want to know and Amazon displayed the same in.a furthur e mail
Shoddy and slippery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews