Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highland Park 12 Year Old Review!
Distilled, Matured and Bottled on the island of Orkney, this is the most northern Distillery in the British Isles. Highland Park 12 year old is famed for is complex mixture of aroma and taste especially when you take into account the price and how old it is. At 12 years old you are getting a very good representation of what Highland Park is like.

My Personal...
Published 12 months ago by MrE

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sulphured
I had Highland Park years ago so at this price I thought I'd have another bottle. I have many malts, this one though is not too good. It has a strong sulphur (read burning rubber) aftertaste. This is a shame because the nose and initial taste is lovely spoilt by the sulphur. I have a cheap bottle of "supermarkets own" Speyside single malt which I have struggled to...
Published 8 months ago by bigzosso


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highland Park 12 Year Old Review!, 23 Dec 2013
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Highland Park 12 Year Old Orkney Malt Whisky Bottle 70 cl (Grocery)
Distilled, Matured and Bottled on the island of Orkney, this is the most northern Distillery in the British Isles. Highland Park 12 year old is famed for is complex mixture of aroma and taste especially when you take into account the price and how old it is. At 12 years old you are getting a very good representation of what Highland Park is like.

My Personal Tasting Notes:

Nose: Drinking neat you are immediately hit by a slight prickle on the nose with a warming yet mild sherry. There is a spicy note with fresh pear and a hint of Heather and very mild smoke.

Taste: Initially your tongue will tingle, the sherry on the nose finds it's way into the taste yet doesn't dominate. A sweet almost honey taste then becomes prominent with a faint heather note again. You can definitely taste the smoke although it's quite mild and mixes well with the initial sweetness.

Finish: Smoke persists with the heather and honey note quickly Disappearing leaving a dry aftertaste.

With a teaspoon of water added and waiting 15 minutes:

Nose: The heather note really stands out and as time goes by the honey becomes even more prominent. The slight prickle you initially got has gone and in its place the sherry note pronounces itself even more.

Taste: Intense Honey and Heather with the sweetness from the sherry wood influence persisting throughout.

Finish: Smoke intensifies and the sweetness quickly turns dry. At the very end i got a re-occurrence of the sherry.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Highland park has three trademarks that should be in every bottle and will identify it as a good one. Firstly they only use Sherry casks for maturation and you should notice the sherry influence in every bottle albeit it should never overpower the whisky. Secondly the herbal heather and honey note is indicative of Highland park and can usually be found in each and every bottle, possibly down to the influence of the peat they use. Third and possibly their most respected trademark, Highland park has a tendency to start sweet and turn dry which is unusual and rare to find. Usually Whiskies are either sweet or dry and don't change while it's in your mouth but highland park certainly does. After having tried many bottles i have had the same experience with each and every one, in a nutshell this whisky is consistent from bottle to bottle which believe it or not is actually rare to find these days.

VERDICT: Very well crafted using fresh casks. The blend of sweet sherry and honey, heather, smoke and eventually that dry nature of highland park makes this one of, if not the best value single malt on the market. It's complex for it's age, medium length and very easy to drink. My one tip is to try neat and then add a few drops of water and this whisky goes from good to great!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highland Park, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: Highland Park 12 Year Old Orkney Malt Whisky Bottle 70 cl (Grocery)
Highland Park is a whisky to savour. It has none of the harshness, in my opinion, of the Speysides ( that is excepting The Macallum from Craigellachie ) nor the sometimes over peatiness of Islay....but a lot will swear by these blends. I was introduced to Highland Park in a famous Italian grocer/delicattessan in Edinburgh only about 10 years ago when I was a whippersnapper of 63. I was looking for a particular Speyside which they didn't have but the chap who came from my own region near Dufftown suggested ( after blethering about the merits of this and that and the other ) I try Highland Park from Orkney which has a more delicate and long flavour, most especially when accompanied by a shortbread finger from Walkers of Aberlour. I was smitten from that moment....and this from a boy who like many Highlanders has as a youth been sick to the very stomach from overindulgence in the local blends. Try as many whiskies as you can afford but I don't think you will be disappointed with this one...which is my number 1 by a Highland mile!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highland Park 12 Year Old Orkney Malt Whisky Bottle 70 cl (Grocery)
excellent items ---highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highland Park 12 Year Old Orkney Malt Whisky Bottle 70 cl (Grocery)
Bought as a Christmas present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmmmm, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highland Park 12 Year Old Orkney Malt Whisky Bottle 70 cl (Grocery)
I like Whiskey - do you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highland Park 12 Year Old., 11 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highland Park 12 Year Old Orkney Malt Whisky Bottle 70 cl (Grocery)
Purchased as a gift.Knowing that this item would score 100% I was only cheesed off that I had not purchased it for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highland Park 12 Year Old Orkney Malt Whisky Bottle 70 cl (Grocery)
I bought this whiskey as a gift for my husband and it was an awesome buy! He absolutely loved everything about it! Couldn't be happier and would buy it again and again! Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highland Park 12 Year Old Orkney Malt Whisky Bottle 70 cl (Grocery)
I bought this as a gift for my husband, as it is his favourite whiskey. I don't drink it, but I was pleased with the quick dispatch and the excellent way it was packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highland Park 12 Year Old Orkney Malt Whisky Bottle 70 cl (Grocery)
This whiskey was bought as a present for my Nephew, he was thrilled with it. He said so well packed etc, not sure if he has tasted yet though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whisky Galore, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highland Park 12 Year Old Orkney Malt Whisky Bottle 70 cl (Grocery)
Any time you get a malt for around £20 you've got to be happy. I wish I bought more. Defo going to keep and eye out for a low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews