Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best-ever visual Elton John
What a revelation this package is and how glad I am that I bought it. Elton should be proud of himself for reaching 60 and playing his 60th gig and Madison Square Gardens. What a great venue that is and how well it lends itself to the pomp and intimacy of an Elton John show.
There are too many highlights to enumerate and I like to keep my reviews to the point; but...
Published on 30 Oct. 2007 by THEWHITLAM

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
Fun to watch Elton perform. Not as energetic as when he was younger but enjoyable.
Published on 16 Aug. 2010 by Tadeusz Kubiak


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best-ever visual Elton John, 30 Oct. 2007
By 
THEWHITLAM (leafy Clapham) - See all my reviews
What a revelation this package is and how glad I am that I bought it. Elton should be proud of himself for reaching 60 and playing his 60th gig and Madison Square Gardens. What a great venue that is and how well it lends itself to the pomp and intimacy of an Elton John show.
There are too many highlights to enumerate and I like to keep my reviews to the point; but the visuals, which have often been rather blurry in previous Elton DVD's ,are superb in this show and add a new dimension. The gospel-type choir, which features on quite a few tracks, is absolutely lovely and reminds me how many types of music have influenced our hero. He performs an outrageous variety of songs and is extremely good-natured throughout, as he ought to be, of course, with a mass of celebrities in the audience.

Well done to the reviewer who has created some of the extras on the video package. I loved the 'Your Song' montage, with one line delivered from various shows from the years gone by. I haven't had time to see everything yet but this is a very, very good value edition.

I won't write any more because I'm going to go and watch the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocket show, 2 Jan. 2010
By 
Eilon Shimko (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elton John: Elton 60 - Live At Madison Square [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
I'm not much of an Elton John fan and bought this BR out of curiosity.
The concert hall is full with Holywood celebs and others like Bill Clinton..
Not that it indicates the quality of the concert, but it certenly does as far as the atmosphere is concerned. It seems like a huge, well produced birthday gig.
Great musicians, nice pinky video art and most of Elton's hits in an over 3 hours shaw.
Sound track is two or multi channel PCM. Make sure your reciever can handle the multi channel PCM (No Dolby Digital or DTS multi channel fallback).
I have become a fan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing HD Image ; Amazing Audio PCM and Amazing Show !, 24 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Elton John: Elton 60 - Live At Madison Square [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Excellent Buy * Clear HD Images , detailed and whit great deep colours specialy the darks !
In Audio PCM 2,0 or 5,1 It is Stunning, and we almost forgot DTS HD or Dolby True HD ***
* RECCOMENDED this 3 Hours and 20 Minutes in the Madison Square Garden *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Producer of The ELTON 60 Bonus material provides archival info, 18 Oct. 2007
By 
Henry Scott Irvine "Henry" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I produced the Bonus material entitled LIVE RARE & UNSEEN and
NEW YORK STORIES: 25 Archival performances remastered from all manner of
archival audio sources: 16 track multi track masters, 24 track masters, quarter inch radio simulcast masters:- all now married to the remastered/regraded videotape masters, which I oversaw with the help of three of the top audio-mixers in the business: e.g. George Foulgham (BAFTA award winning mixer on former Python Palin's travelogues for Prominent TV/BBC TV), Simon Heyworth (Co-Producer of Mike Oldfield's Tubular Bells album, and the man who remastered Nick Drake's output, as well as Brian Eno's) and lastly but by no means least, David Woolley (who engineered the Jam's final album The Truth and remastered Led Zep's DVD Boxed set, and Macca's Wings DVD Boxed set.

Many songs are seen here for the first time on DVD:
Border Song (1970/Swiss TV),Tiny Dancer (Sounds For Saturday, 1971 BBC TV),
Crocodile Rock (a redisovered master from The Royal Variety Show,
1972), Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (a lost Top Of The Pops from BBC TV, 1973), Rocket Man, Honky Cat, Mona Lisa's & Mad Hatters (from Live At The Royal Festival Hall - Honky Chateau Live, 1972), Daniel, Candle In The Wind, Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word, and Someone Saved My Life Tonight (from the Edinburgh Playhouse 'Solo' Concert, 1976) Empty Garden - Hey Hey Johnny (an untransmitted outtake from BBC TV's Old Grey Whistle Test, Live at the Odeon Hammersmith, 1982), Believe, (untransmitted outtake from Live At Madison Sqaure Garden, 1995), We All Fall in Love Sometimes (an untransmitted outtake from MSG NYC, 2005), Tinderbox, and New York City Wouldn't Have You Any Other Way (untransmitted outtakes from last year's BBC 1 Session's from LSO's St Luke's Church, London, which I personally attended) amongst other titles ...

See "Special Edition" ***** star review by me for Audio Remastering
details, etc - also here on Amazon.co.uk - or, go to "See all my reviews"

Henry Scott-Irvine
Producer: Elton 60 - Live Rare & Unseen/New York Stories (25 Bonus songs)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good show & great rare footage, 29 Jun. 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Without the rare and unseen footage this wouldn't get five stars from me. It IS a special concert and a true celebration of Elton John's unique musical gifts and of course his 60th Birthday. Sadly as Elton John has got older his voice has become a less expressive musical instrument. I say this as huge fan of the artist. Its not a criticism, sadly age catches up with all of us and Elton is as human as the rest of us.
If you decide to watch some of the rare and unseen concert footage before you watch the main concert, this is when the limitations in Eltons voice becomes painfully obvious. That said there are some performances in the birthday concert that are better than the archive ones. Honky Cat being one example.

Credit then to Elton John that when he sings a song like 'Where to now St Peter', where in the past the melody required him to sing falsetto he has now changed the melody to work with his less flexible voice. Lesser artists would cheat and have somebody else sing the high notes. Its a great occasion and for a man of 60 he still is the ultimate rock showman. How many other artists of Elton's era are doing 3 hour stage shows. Not many did in the 70's let alone now. Songs that haven't been performed live since the 70's are resurrected like "Ballad of a well known Gun" and some of the best songs from his recent albums like "Tinderbox" (incredibly catchy) are performed on a great stage set which is a wonder of lighting and video.

The rare and unseen footage is a treasure trove of classic footage. Noteably excellent are the 'Sounds for Saturday' performances with only Dee and Nigel (on bass and drums respectively). Four solo Piano performances from the Edinburgh playhouse are very good and a 2001 performance for a Top of the Pops special of "This Train don't Stop There Anymore", which is my favourite recent Elton John song is magnificent.

Overall then this is a great package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the Live,Rare, Unseen extras, 24 Feb. 2013
This concert is indeed exceptional, the package is intelligently and lovingly put together, and the version of 'Someone Saved My Life Tonight' with Elton alone at the piano from the late 70's Glasgow concert is phenomenal. Elton connects with every line, lets himself go, and ends up wiping the tears from his eyes, genuinely affecting ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing set, 4 Feb. 2011
By 
Me, Myself & I (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This is a fantastic concert with loads of extras included on the discs, the only downside for me was the concert is split across the 2 DVDs rather than a concert then extras disc but still wonderful.

The tracklist is fantastic and includes a mix of the classics as well as one not played quite as often which is good as you get a chance to hear them live, also his voice is excellent throughout.

He interacts with the audience, introducing his band, talking about the songs and dedicating songs to people. You also get to see Bernie Taupin come on stage and wish him a happy birthday and gets the audience to sing along.

The extras are great as well as these show early performances through the decades of songs that were played at the concert.

I would highly recommend this DVD set to everyone who is a fan or those wanting a first live DVD of Elton John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars elton IS the Rocket Man!!!, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
wolfers "bluesman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elton John: Elton 60 - Live At Madison Square [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Truly stunning concert from EJ.
Sound and image make this one of the best music blu rays out there.
And ofcourse all the hits are here, you know the ones I mean.
What sets this show apart however is the performing of songs that Elton rarely performs.
Example
Madman Across The Water, Holiday Inn from 1971 album Madman Across The Water
Where To Now St.Peter, Ballad of A Well Known Gun from 1970 album Tumbleweed Connection
Hercules, Mona Lisa, s and Mad Hatters from 1972 album Honky Chateau
High Flying Bird from 1972 album Don't Shoot Me I'm only The Piano Player
Roy Rogers,All The Young Girls Love Alice from 1973 album Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, and ofcourse the poignant John Lennon tribute song Empty Garden from 1982 album Jump Up.
All of these classics with a host of the familar songs make this 3hr + show unmissable.

Stunning show!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixty Years On!, 25 May 2008
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Elton John has produced a dozen or so concert DVD's, but this is the ultimate in entertainment. Recorded on his 60th birthday at his 60th performance at Madison Square Garden, this DVD excels in pure entertainment satisfaction. Over two DVD's you witness thirty-three classic songs from over the last five decades including such little performed gems like, "Hercules" and "Roy Rogers". The standards like, "Crocodile Rock" and "Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding" are also lent out in slightly new versions that more than please.

Unlike the Madison Square Garden show he previously released with shots of fans over-riding the stage show; this one showcases those people as well as dozens of famous political, musical and acting celebrities. Robin Williams and Whoopie Goldberg bring on a fantastic, "Happy Birthday" and Bernie Taupin, who never appears on stage, gives a heart-felt salute to Elton on his birthday. It's all amazingly good fun and very emotional.

The light show is fantastic and the sound is pin-point perfect with a large young choir singing backstage that enhances the performance like no other Elton John has given. It truly feels like the celebration in New York City that night was something very special.

That's not all. This double disc set also includes eighteen "live, rare & unseen" performances from over the years that are a stunning reminder of what a fantastic musician Elton John is. On top of that, there is a section called, "Elton's New York Stories" that includes four personal emotional song videos of Elton that just pack more of a whollop you would not expect.

The sound quality (DVD, dts, 5.1) is superb enough to hear audience members actually talking and the band never sounded more crisp. Add to that an extensive booklet of liner notes and you have a keeper of a Birthday celebration. Elton John - you are a spectacle of a celebration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even Better on Blue-ray - but extra material is missing., 5 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Elton John: Elton 60 - Live At Madison Square [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
I already have this great concert on DVD, but bought the Blue-Ray because I wanted best possible picture and sound, which is actually even better on the BD disc. What I miss with the BD is the extra disc that followed the DVD with a lot of other songs from shows etc. Since the quality and content is so good on the DVD version I`m not sure it`s really worth buying the BD version, at least if you all ready have the DVD or don't have an expensive surround equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elton John: Elton 60 - Live At Madison Square [Blu-ray] [2008]
£17.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews