Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite lovely, actually
I'm 29, and I have to admit, it was so refreshing seeing a beautifully told love story for people of an older generation. There seems to be this taboo surrounding it where, upon turning 40 or so, people no longer need to feel loved, and are no longer capable of experiencing love that gives you butterflies and knocks your feet from under you and leaves you poleaxed. This...
Published on 29 Oct 2008 by Anna

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romantic
The novel written by Nicholas Sparks, who also wrote the Notebook, inspired the film.
Present day. Diane Lane (Adrienne) is a single mother and has 2 children.
One day, her husband calls her and asks her to be back with him. She's not sure, and says that she will need some time alone to think things through. She goes to her cottage in Rodanthe (where she also...
Published on 30 April 2009 by Laura82


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite lovely, actually, 29 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I'm 29, and I have to admit, it was so refreshing seeing a beautifully told love story for people of an older generation. There seems to be this taboo surrounding it where, upon turning 40 or so, people no longer need to feel loved, and are no longer capable of experiencing love that gives you butterflies and knocks your feet from under you and leaves you poleaxed. This film puts paid to that in short order.

Nicholas Sparks is the father of romance - a lone male voice in amongst a sea of oestrogen - and he has a way of creating epic love that puts you right there with the people feeling it. Film adaptations don't really live up to the standard of the book (the only exception being, perhaps, The Notebook another of Sparks's [a film of such power and beauty I don't even know the words to describe it]) but Nights in Rodanthe comes close - with one complaint.

Adrienne and Paul (Diane Lane and Richard Gere respectively, last seen together in Unfaithful) fall in love over the space of a weekend while alone in an inn that sits right on the beach. The cinematography is *stunning*: it's all washed out blues and bleached skies; bleak foamy seas and desolate sand dunes and long peppermint grasses being whipped about by the wind. The world created is insular and beautiful and mirrors their loneliness, and as they hold onto each other mid-storm, you can certainly see how deeply romantic the it is.

Add to that, both characters are going through difficult times, and both desperately need to be brought back to life; they both need to meet someone they could love... and yet, somehow the chemistry isn't quite there. Equally, the film isn't long enough to really make the depth of their love credible. I absolutely believe we can fall in love quickly - instantly, even. But it takes time for that love to flourish and to put down roots, and Adrienne and Paul go from being strangers to soul-mates in the space of 20 minutes or so, as both the build-up and "epilogue" are lengthier.

Something else Nicholas Sparks is a master at is heart-rending finalés, and this is no different. When Paul leaves the inn to work with sick children in Southern America (with his estranged son, played by James Franco of Spiderman fame) he and Arienne communicate by sending letters, and it's this old fashioned type of love that Sparks makes real. No emails or texts, no txt spk and "lols", but hand-written letters full of declarations and honesty. The problem is, this segment is done almost entirely in montage format so, again, it misses a huge (much needed) opportunity to drive home that these 2 people were created with the sole purpose of meeting and loving one another. Nevertheless, when tragedy strikes, it's genuinely painful, and the performances are completely mesmerising from everyone involved.

So while its power to affect is undeniable, and it's a gorgeous film to look at, the lack of exploration and depth means this is only a 4-star film where it so easily could have have been 5. But it is still highly recommended viewing - best watched with chocolates, girly friends and several boxes of tissues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous book and dvd...a must buy, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Liz P (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a brilliant film and Richard Gere and Diane Lane give wonderful performances in this adaptation of the Nicholas Sparks book. Its a story that really makes you think...and we should all make as much of opportunities when they come our way. Beautiful story and a film to watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable film, 5 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I watched this movie on a flight, which is a rarity for me and I was so captivated by the story that it made the trip pass very quickly. It is no great masterpiece but it is very well done and I found it to be a very touching story. It is one of the few films that I would bother to watch again, some time in the future when I have forgotton the details. It is well worth a watch, you will probably really enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romantic, 30 April 2009
This review is from: Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The novel written by Nicholas Sparks, who also wrote the Notebook, inspired the film.
Present day. Diane Lane (Adrienne) is a single mother and has 2 children.
One day, her husband calls her and asks her to be back with him. She's not sure, and says that she will need some time alone to think things through. She goes to her cottage in Rodanthe (where she also rents rooms), although nobody is there except Richard Gere, who plays Paul.
Paul is a doctor, divorced, who has a son, Mark (James Franco) of 28 years old, who is also a doctor. He doesn't have a good relationship with him because one year ago he performed surgery on a woman, and she died. Mark doesn't like the attitude of his dad because at the time he showed no emotion and seemed not to understand the loss of this man. He only blamed himself, because he wanted to be the best doctor he could be and he thinks he failed. Adrienne will help him to be a better man.
Adrienne's problem is that she wants to be the best mother she can be, and this is why she struggles with her personal life. Paul will help her see what she really wants out of life.
Soon, the two will embark on a love journey. This shows that even after a certain age, new love is possible. After that short period of time together, Paul decides that it's time for him to see his son again who lives in South America helping children there. He will be gone for a couple of months, but promises Adrienne to write her, and to come back for her and live their lives together. They begin to write to each other, and by doing so, they know each other more and more.
At the same time, Adrienne struggles with her teenage daughter who wanted her mum to be back with her dad. Although, towards the end, it seems that the daughter evolved a lot mentally (in a couple of month....) , and now totally understands her mother...
Adrienne used to built objects (such as little wooden boxes) but stopped. Now that she is in love, she starts again.
Nights in Rodanthe is a sad story, as maybe are all of Nicholas Sparks stories... but I won't ruin the rest for the viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD - Family viewing, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. R. Wilkinson (Lisburn, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008]

An excellent film that could be viewed as a family; however, it is a real "weepie"; keep the tissues at hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second chance, 7 April 2009
By 
Ennas Loredana "Loredana" (Sassari,Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008]

If you are looking for a story about life's second chance, and a little sadness, the right choice could be this movie. A very handsome Richard Gere with a nice Diane Lane in a fantastic location, where the story take place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the tissues out if you are going to watch this., 14 Mar 2014
By 
HMC7 (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I LOVE this movie.. it is on my top 10 favourites of all time. However, as my subject line suggest you need the tissues. Great if you are a Richard Gere fan too although don't let that stop you watching it if you are not. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE PRODUCT DETAILS..., 13 Feb 2009
EDITION UK PAL
AUDIO: ENGLISH 5.1, CASTILIAN SPANISH 5.1, GERMAN 5.1, ITALIAN 5.1
SUBTITLES: ENGLISH, CASTILIAN SPANISH, COMPLEX CHINESE, DANISH, DUTCH, FINNISH, GERMAN,ITALIAN, KOREAN, NORWEGIAN, PORTUGUESE, SWEDISH (Movie & Select Material)

BEAUTIFUL PICTURE, COLORS & SCENARY, PERFECT SOUND in the scenes that need it...a good Blu Ray! A++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful cast and a beautiful story, 13 July 2014
I prepared myself for disappointment when I came to watch this movie despite all the good reviews here. However, I was not disappointed! What a movie! It was romantic, fast moving and absolutely wonderful to watch! I was laughing at times and gasping at times! It is an enthralling movie, with a wonderful cast and a beautiful story. Nicholas Sparks is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but not bad. Both main actors saved it however, 11 July 2014
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Bit implausible in places, but not bad. Both main actors saved it however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008]
Nights In Rodanthe [DVD] [2008] by George C. Wolfe (DVD - 2009)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews