Customer Reviews


361 Reviews
5 star:
 (301)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


153 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC DRAMA AT ITS BEST
An epic soap opera following the life and times of the great imperial Cesars in Rome at the height of its world power. Massive helpings of sex, intrigue, violence and madness all acted with gusto by a stellar British cast, aided by a witty script and skillful direction. Both Derek Jacobi as Claudius and especially John Hurt as Caligula are absolutely mesmerising. If you...
Published on 14 May 2003 by MR BEN W HALTON

versus
45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series ruined by Appalling DVD Mastering!
I Claudius is a brilliant T. V. series, but not if you watch it using these DVDs. The series is split over 2 DVDs with episodes 1-7 on DVD1 and 8-13 on DVD2. In order to fit the episodes on they have compressed the video resulting in very bad pixelation, the picture breaking up, the picture freezeing and halos around bright objects making it almost impossible to watch...
Published on 24 Jun. 2011 by kjp-gb


‹ Previous | 125 26 2737 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! Excellent! Superb!, 6 July 2014
This review is from: I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a truly great series, one of the best things ever to have been made for television. The wonderful script captures the spirit of Graves' novels to a tee, and the acting performances are by people at the top of their game. I love it and watch it every couple of months - it never seems to go stale. Simply excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I, Claudius [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
If you are interested in Roman history, this is the most amazing series. Many have waxed lyrical about it in these reviews and I can only echo what they have said. The acting is superb, the scenes, simple and effective, it is definitely a must watch even if you have not historical interest, this will have you hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Claudius, 5 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Wow !!!!! What a series it was magnificent i remember whatching this as a young teenager woops i`ve given my age away ha ha and thinking it was good then but now what can i say the acting the story and the sheer brilliance of it is truly remarkable i would recommend it to anyone who loves riviting viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CCCCCCCClaudius, Ave!, 12 April 2009
By 
Peter E. Bradley (Newcastle, NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this series, or most of it, when it first was shown on TV. It has lost nothing in transferral to DVD. The casting, sets and acting are all superb. Bravo BBC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BBC PRODUCTION EVER, 13 April 2014
By 
Mr. D. R. Swindells (BRADFORD--UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I CLAUDIUS is a brilliant `history` of ancient Rome written by Claudius himself.relating
his lifestory and the lives of others before him.Derek Jacobi is brilliant and is supported
by a fantastic cast.At this price you cannot afford not to buy its a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOOKING BACK AT A BBC CLASSIC SERIAL, 1 Feb. 2009
This review is from: I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
MADE IN 1976 THIS BBC SERIAL WAS COMPULSIVE VIEWING AND HAS WORN WELL.
THE SETS WERE RATHER CARD BOARD..NO SFX BUT THE CAST WAS STAR STUDDED,DEREK JACOBI IN THE TITLE ROLE SUPPRTED BY A ROLL OF CLASSIC BRITISH ACTORS.
WELL WORTH RE-VISITING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series in flimsy cardboard, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I Claudius is a spectacular BBC production, with a top cast of superb British actors; including Derek Jacobi, John Hurt, Brian Blessed and Patrick Stewart (with hair!) However, this DVD set is presented in a fold-out cardboard box. If you're going to buy this box set, don't order it online if you care about how it looks on the shelf. Mine arrived all creased and dented. If these DVD's were in a plastic box, I wouldn't have this problem!

I Claudius - 5 stars
2 Entertain's packaging - 2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Claudius, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this from start to finish and loved every moment! Although the set is not state of the art and you know there are no booing crowds or lions and gladiators, it doesn't detract from superb acting skills of the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 125 26 2737 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD]
£13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews