Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.
One of my favourite films.

It starts off where a young couple Kristen (Liv Tyler) and James (Scott Speedman) arrive home in the early hours of the morning after attending a friends wedding. They then get a knock on the door and when they answer they discover a girl they who james sends away.

James then goes out to get a pack of cigarettes leaving his...
Published on 30 Jun 2010 by Filmbuff 89

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars An American version of "Them"
After a turned down marriage proposal this once happy couple find themselves angsting over the state of their relationship in the proverbial house in the woods when someone comes knocking. Having seen "Them" I quickly realised that the premise was basically the same although the ending, beautifully ruined by S. Ahmed's review, is a little different. At the start of...
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by R. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 30 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Strangers [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite films.

It starts off where a young couple Kristen (Liv Tyler) and James (Scott Speedman) arrive home in the early hours of the morning after attending a friends wedding. They then get a knock on the door and when they answer they discover a girl they who james sends away.

James then goes out to get a pack of cigarettes leaving his partner in the house on her own where she gets even more shaken up by wierd knocks on the door only to discover theres no one there. When james arrives home kristen is hysterical with fear and thats when the fun starts.

I don't want to spoil what happens in the film so i won't explain the story anymore. Its doesn't have a lot of gore or blood in it but its filled with tension and suspense and keeps you hooked. What i like about this film also is that this could happen to anyone in real life and not just in a film. Also the fact that its loosely based on a true story makes it seem more real and thats what makes it a really scary film.

Great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the criticism, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Sam "Sam" (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Strangers [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is brilliant.

It is in fact based on a true story & it keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout

It is very, very scary throughout!

Brilliant horror!

If you liked Vacancy you will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turning up the tension, 16 Sep 2008
By 
R. Fisher "entertainment lover" (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strangers [DVD] (DVD)
The strangers,a thriller/horror proves to be a gripping hour an half of twisted entertainment.

James and Kristen's relationship lies in tatters after a rejected marriage proposal, isolated in what was to be an idyllic getaway late into the night a stranger comes a knocking appearing to be lost, they attempt to help her on her way little realising she's not going anywhere and she's not alone.

The strangers is an interesting film in the fact its a very visual experience, there's little dialogue using mainly visuals and sound or in some cases silence to crank up the tension.
A lot of the films scary moments are classic 'BOO' moments which most of time you can see coming if these types of scares do little for you it probably wont be a film for you. But for those of us who do it proves to be an enthralling ride that flies by.

Also anyone who has seenVacancy [2007]may get a feeling of deja vu as the films are rather similar in certain aspects but if you enjoyed vacancy chances are you'll enjoy this.

All in all the strangers proves to be an effective thriller mixing psychological scares with sparse disturbing violence which gives the end product a lasting impression. If your a fan of psychological thrillers/horror it's worth checking out

P.S- you may want to avoid S. Ahmed's review while its good to see he enjoyed the film it does ruin the ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars An American version of "Them", 7 Feb 2009
By 
R. Griffiths (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strangers [DVD] (DVD)
After a turned down marriage proposal this once happy couple find themselves angsting over the state of their relationship in the proverbial house in the woods when someone comes knocking. Having seen "Them" I quickly realised that the premise was basically the same although the ending, beautifully ruined by S. Ahmed's review, is a little different. At the start of "Them" they also inform you that it is all based on true events etc etc which makes you wonder just how many people get woken up at 4am by bored psychopaths.

Liv Tyler irritated me immensely, as did the lead chap whose name I didn't really bother to remember. I spent far too much time thinking "What are you doing?" and "Why don't you...?" because, much like "Them" and "Vacancy" I like to think that I would take the "Storm Warning" approach to being terrorised and not this one. The premise is the scariest bit, as is the reason stated by the visitors as to why they are doing it. I watched this alone, in my very isolated house in the middle of nowhere and did not bother to check the doors, windows and look under the bed. This just did not do it for me I'm afraid and I certainly wouldn't buy it. It is not a horror film in the gore sense, more of a copycat thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and has its moments, 14 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Strangers [DVD] (DVD)
The Strangers is a reasonable horror film based (loosely) on a true story. For the first 45 minutes the director does a good job of cranking up the suspense in a similar way to John Carpenter in the original Halloween. There are masked weirdos loitering in the background behind Liv Tyler and her boyfriend.
Unfortunately there's not really much in the way of plot, ie there are no twists so basically this could have been a half hour episode of The Twilight Zone. A very good one at that. But to make it the length of a feature film (82 mins) there's a fair bit of stretching out the plot to be done. So after a decent first half, the script starts wheeling out all the usual cliches in order to fill up the running time.
I liked the idea of the film and the motive (or lack thereof) of the "strangers" and it's well acted and directed, but underneath the style and direction there's just not quite enough to make it worth watching a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, poor ending, blu ray lacking quality and features, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strangers [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
First, some technical points. The audio mix seems all wrong, the dialog is barely audible in comparison to the rest of the sound track. I turned it right up just to hear them speaking but then the sound effects and music were way too loud. In the end I had to use subtitles, although I could hear everything else just fine, but not the dialog. And then we have the picture quality. For me it was no better than DVD. If you buy Blu Ray for the better visual experience you might as well not bother, save yourself some money and get the DVD instead.

Now, about the movie. It has a lot going for it. There is genuine tension and creepiness, and some good almost "noir" scenes throughout the setup. A simple knock at the door manages to hold more fright than your average horror scene, and this subtlety is what makes The Strangers work so well. The simple, subtle things like a masked person drifting into shot and then out again, unseen, unannounced.

The acting is good, despite other reviews, I liked it and was convinced. However, the characters are somewhat stupid in their lack of ingenuity. They are under attack in a home full of potential blunt weapons but never think to simply pick up a fire poker or a chair leg and whack the bad guy with it!

There is a strong mystery element to this film, ie. who are the strangers, and why are they attacking these innocent people? It is critical for any strong mystery to be resolved, or at least the solution hinted at, but in The Strangers we are left none the wiser. This makes for a dissatisfying experience, although the ride was gripping up until the point where you realize no answers will come. One could argue the unresolved aspect is the whole point, however I judge it to be sheer laziness in the writing.

Good film, poor ending, dodgy disc quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tired old premise not really given new impetus., 29 Aug 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Strangers [DVD] (DVD)
Kristen McKay and James Hoyt return from a night out to find a knock at the door at some ungodly hour. What follows is a terrifying invasion as three masked raiders torment and attack the couple at frequent intervals, can the couple find within them the strength to survive their ordeal?

The horror genre is a tough cookie to work out these days, so many remakes and re-images rightly suggest that it's a genre in steady decline. Occasionally hope of a resurgence is offered up by the likes of hyperbole supremo's like Eli Roth and here with first time writer and director, Bryan Bertino. If these guys promised half of what they proclaimed they would do with their respective horror entries, well the genre would be born again and the fans would be rejoicing around the graveyards.

The Strangers is not a bad film by any stretch of the entrails, it's just not a particularly good one, and certainly not the original and fresh home invasion spin promised by Bertino. The premise of course is very solid, we all as human beings live in perpetual fear of a home invasion by psychos or chav like aggressors (the latter of concern to UK residents, see Eden Lake for example), and with this pro porting to be based on real events, the impact was waiting to, well impact, but questionable resources from our besieged couple just add a shrug of the shoulders to an already yawning audience. The project had been on the back burner for a couple of years, with the script being altered by Bertino from its early incarnations, I wonder just how much was changed because it looks to me that Bertino has altered an intended psychological chiller, and instead settled for a blend of boo jump scares and edginess, and it fails to successfully achieve either.

The film also suffers badly by having two lead actors barely up to the job of convincing as terrified victims. Liv Tyler can sit adequate in the most basic of acting roles, but when it calls for a role to get the audience involved she sadly comes up short. Scott Speedman can act, but here he seems lost within the confines of a poorly written character, both actors unable to carry the film to any sort of genre highlight. The ending to the piece just about works, and pair that with the creepiness of the masked raiders then The Strangers just about sits in the average horror department. But really we are no further forward than when we had the mighty and magnificent Black Christmas back in 1974, at least the likes of Vacancy (almost killed by its ending) from 2007 have a sense of adventure about them, setting out (and delivering) honest intentions from the off, likable leads and a willingness to entertain whilst knowing its limitations. Sadly The Strangers is a missed opportunity to create something memorable and totally scary, director Bertino's next protect, Alone, could quite possibly make or break a fledgling genre career. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Strangers [DVD] (DVD)
This film was truly gripping and very entertaining throughout the film, I havent been truly scared by a horror film for a while until I watched this film which i was very pleased about. Firstly I felt the film was very well made and thought threw, instad of the usually reckless killing you could tell the three tormentors didn't want to kill them they wanted to torment them which they undoubtedly achieved.

Would recommend this film very highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unbearably tense pyscho terror, 4 Jan 2010
By 
M. A. Bennett (Wiltshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strangers [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is very similar in concept to 'Funny Games'.
I found especially the first hour extremely creepy and jumped a few times. My wife had her eyes shut most of the time!
Four stars for the film makers' efforts in creating some tension.

Didn't realise this was loosely based on a real life incident, although the actual events were probably guessed and designed for dramatic effectsed.
Not much info regarding this was divulged on the disc, only extras are a couple deleted scenes and the basic 'making of'.

The blu ray has excellent video quality, despite most of the film being shot at night, the photography is very well lit.
The 5.1DTS-MA soundtrack is jolting at times, knocking on doors etc. brings it to life, but it is a restrained sound design suiting the material.

Not sure I'd want to watch it again but if you are into this sort of thing file alongside your copies of Eden Lake, Wolf Creek, Martyrs etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strange indeed..., 12 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Strangers [DVD] (DVD)
In The Strangers, a simple-enough plot revolves around a couple returning to their home in the country. But once back, their every move is watched, by strangers in the dark waiting to terrorise them on the longest nights of their lives. The climax may be the usual ridiculous over the top horror nonsense but the first 50 minutes provide some of the best scenes to grace the genre in years. Shaky cameras and obscure angles make you feel like it's you being terrorised, not just the cast; but it's the simplistic, realistic and believable story and excellent performances from Tyler and Speedman that make this fresh and interesting. Screen violence has lost its edge but Bertino has left a lot of the violence off screen and lets your imagination take over. Plenty of scares and tense moments will make the idea of a romantic weekend away in the country a frightening prospect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Strangers [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free]
The Strangers [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] by Bryan Bertino (Blu-ray - 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews