Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true gem...
Many thanks to Whirlie Records for releasing this diamond (even if it is in the rough). Do not let any of the negative comments put you off adding this amazing piece of musical creativity to your collection. The pure and unadulterated quality of the music by far exceeds any issues with the minor graininess of the film.

As a previous commentator mentioned, the...
Published on 5 Feb. 2009 by C. Walton

versus
42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, poor DVD
The music preserved and presented here is top notch. Great singers, great players, great songs, sparkling performances. But this is a DVD (not DVD-Audio as Amazon are advertising) and so we must consider the whole package, and it's a flawed. I know that this was filmed and recorded a dozen or so years ago, but I have other DVDs with footage of that vintage, and this one...
Published on 26 Nov. 2008 by Bob Dubery


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true gem..., 5 Feb. 2009
By 
C. Walton (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Many thanks to Whirlie Records for releasing this diamond (even if it is in the rough). Do not let any of the negative comments put you off adding this amazing piece of musical creativity to your collection. The pure and unadulterated quality of the music by far exceeds any issues with the minor graininess of the film.

As a previous commentator mentioned, the John Martyn masterpiece 'May You Never' is worth the miserly price of this DVD, not to mention Emmy Lou Harris's beautiful rendition of The Beatles classic 'For No One' and Russ Barenberg's 'Big Bug Shuffle' display of immaculate guitar playing.

I could go on and on and on and on about the delights to be found on this DVD but I will just leave you to experience it for yourself...

Do not hesitate for one moment, but it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest bits of music TV ever - on DVD *Video*, 24 Nov. 2008
By 
Jimbo (Cumbernauld) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Worth the full purchase price for the outstanding John Martyn/Kathy Mattea performance of "May You Never" alone, never mind the rest of the great stuff that's on here.
Note: I've confirmed today with Whirlie Records that this is in fact a full DVD-Video release, not DVD-Audio as listed above by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait...and the price!, 14 Oct. 2009
By 
D. Currie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Several years ago I tried in vain to obtain a copy of the original series...as I had just a couple of programmes recorded on VHS. What a delight it is to sit down and savour the music of these talented musicians - as well as enjoying some fantastic footage of wild Scotland...

DON'T be put off from buying this DVD because of comments about the sound/picture quality.

The pictures were shot in 4:3 format - so make sure you adjust your LCD/plasma TV accordingly - or you will stretch the original format and reveal all the problems associated with footage not shot in either HD or 16:9 wide screen format.

This is classic footage - and should be treated as such! I'm sure it would benefit from being viewed on an old 21 inch CRT screen too - if you've still got one!!

Sound-wise I fed it through my stereo system - as I usually do when listening to music - and found I could even hear it upstairs without any problems!!!

Having given up on ever getting hold of this original series I'm so glad that It's finally been released. VINTAGE FOLK THAT'S LOST NON OF ITS ORIGINAL CHARM!

Personally, I think it's worth buying just to see a happy- smiling - J.M. delivering a superb rendition of: "May you Never..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked delight, 12 Mar. 2010
By 
Alano (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Came across the later series on BBC4. Found the sessions evocative, expertly-executed and warm-hearted. The DVD is excellent. Informative about the folk history of the three countries - or at least what drives and inspires their folk musicians - totally engaging, and musically very satisfying. In time I'll have the whole set. This DVD is a fine introduction to the series for anyone at all interested in folk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic sessions series 1, 14 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
If you are into folk and country music, preformed live, by an assortment of accomplished artists in a relaxed and informal environment, then this is the DVD for you. This DVD has all 7 half hour episodes of the BBC TV series of the same name. The performances are of a high quality,especially seeing as most of them have only been rehearsed for a couple of hours. Definitely a must for all serious music lovers. The DVD's favourite moments for me are a number of excellent songs by John Martyn.
Series 3 of the Transatlantic sessions has also just been released, but, as of yet, there is no sign, unfortunately, of the BBC releasing series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, 12 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Fantastic 7 pogrammes of TA sessions with great performances by Dougie Maclean, Kathy Mattea,Michelle Wright and many more. The atmosphere of a group of musicians delighting in each other's company in a beautiful place and no audience is fantastic. I just wished they would allow an audience of one ...me!

For those who missed or enjoyed TA sessions this is just wonderful.

The volume on the dvd seems a little low so you can get a bit of a shock when the titles of the next programme blasts out if you don't turn down volume between programmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST!!!!, 17 Jun. 2009
By 
Charles Brett "doc_cb" (cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I recorded some of this first time around and have preserved a rather poor VHS home recording of it until now.. Simply it is the best session of its type - an informal gathering of a handful of folk musicians from both side of the Atlantic purely together for a bit of a jam. Later sessions may have technical quality, but they lack the magic of the original.
Settle down with a glass of single malt and enjoy (especially program 2 &3)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, poor DVD, 26 Nov. 2008
By 
Bob Dubery (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The music preserved and presented here is top notch. Great singers, great players, great songs, sparkling performances. But this is a DVD (not DVD-Audio as Amazon are advertising) and so we must consider the whole package, and it's a flawed. I know that this was filmed and recorded a dozen or so years ago, but I have other DVDs with footage of that vintage, and this one does not stack up. The picture quality is grainy, and the soundtrack is mastered at a very low volume. I had my home theatre system cranked up to a point where it started distorting but could still easily talk over this DVD. The previously released, still available and cheaper Series 3 is a much better overall package - and gives nothing away in terms of musicianship and performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited release, 11 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. M. Parker "Bluegrasser" (Farnborough, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The first of the "Transatlantic Sessions" was a real breakthrough for lovers of traditional acoustic music regardless of its nationality. It gave an opportunity to see and hear top class players and singers from both sides of the Atlantic in a relaxed environment performing with real heart and thoroughly enjoying themselves. It has taken far too long for these performances to be released and if the fi is not hi enough for the equipment fanatics, there is more than enough there for the music lover. This is a perfect DVD to sit down to with a glass of amber fluid and massage away ones cares. Thoroughly recommended and I look forward to the release of the CD's and Series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legendary session, 28 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
...well, it has the feel of an impromptu session and that's reinforced by the voice-over on the opening credits. But who cares if it was rehearsed or not, it is simply one of the finest gatherings of musicians ever captured on camera and in its own less flamboyant way ranks alongside Woodstock and The Last Waltz in this respect. The mix of Celtic, country, bluegrass and ballad is a powerful and often emotional celebration of the common origins of all popular or roots music forms. It's just one classic song or tune after another, one legendary musician after another, supported by the finest session men and women in the business. Here names mean nothing such is the array of talent behind the music. All get their moments in the spotlight with virtuoso performances filmed by people who clearly love to watch musicians play and share with us that fascination. I won't bother listing everyone as they're all there on the tin. Just enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009]
Transatlantic Sessions - Original Series Complete [DVD] [2009] by Aly Bain/Jay Ungar/Emmylou Harris (DVD - 2008)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews