Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun
You can see a definite Almodovar influence in this black comedy about a sociopath real estate agent who is killing the old widows of Madrid's gay neighbourhood in order to sell their apartments for a profit. Will the nervous wreck of a police inspector catch him in time before her next breakdown? Does Leo secretly hope his mother-in-law from hell is next on the killer's...
Published on 20 April 2009 by Mr. R. J. MacRae

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly run of the mill. Not side splitting anyway
I suppose this is a rom-com because it says on the promotional material. Don't hold your breath waiting to laugh anyway. It's a bit clichéd. Standard monster mother stealing the lines. Big chubby bears - that sort of thing. I'm not easily provoked to mirth but I just sat through this one.
If you like this sort of storyline you would be better off with `9 Dead...
Published 19 months ago by JOSEPH OLIVER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, 20 April 2009
By 
Mr. R. J. MacRae "jayhawk2000" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boystown [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
You can see a definite Almodovar influence in this black comedy about a sociopath real estate agent who is killing the old widows of Madrid's gay neighbourhood in order to sell their apartments for a profit. Will the nervous wreck of a police inspector catch him in time before her next breakdown? Does Leo secretly hope his mother-in-law from hell is next on the killer's list??

Unlike many gay films it was made on a decent budget and features some familiar faces. Lots of eye candy too, a great popcorn movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spanish candymen, 28 Mar 2009
This review is from: Boystown [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen this film in the film festival 'Queer Lisboa' last fall. It was a laugh! A very endearing love between a chubby bear and his cub. Apart from that an hilarious plot with lots of granny deaths.

A must for any gay latin lover ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gay, muder mystery and bad property deals!, 10 May 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boystown [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great little Spanish film that doesn't quite know what it is, and that is its' strength. It is a gay, murder, mystery, relationship film that surrounds property deals, but is actually a comedy.

The basic plot is that a corrupt estate agent is bumping off old ladies in Madrid's gay neighbourhood in order to but the property cheep and make big bucks out of the pink pound. The story revolves around two cuddly bears, one with an over bearing mother in law and one who develops a crush on the estate agent.

There are some lovely comedy pieces and some great direction from Juan Flahn. There is a stressed police chief who is trying to track down the murderer and her side kick son is just excellent as he slowly creeps out of the closet.

The title sequence is lavish by comparison to some productions and I think this signals that this was not a low budget effort and a lot of attention to detail has gone in, which really pays off. This is in Spanish with very good English sub titles, and even with a run time of 94 minutes it just flew past.

This is said to have been influenced by Almodovar and yes you can see it, but this is a great film in its own right and signs of an ever emerging Spanish film scene that needs supporting and applauding. If you like this then check out `Chefs Special', another little gem of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Almodovar-ish, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: Boystown [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
The title is a compliment! "Boystown" is a very good black comedy, style of which reminds me some works of Almodovar.
Laughter is mixed with tears, happiness with sadness, comedy with thriller plus a bit of absurd.
There are not paper characters in this film. From "straight-from-hell" mother-in-law to hypohondric detective and her "still-in-the-closet" son. From evil estate agent to cute chubby driving instructor.
Very good and very advised to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable, but lightweight, romp, 9 May 2011
This review is from: Boystown [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
The plot can be summarised in one sentence, which reveals most of what there is in this film. A psycho killer bumps off single elderly women to release their homes for renovation and resale to the gay mark; will he be caught in time?

And that's it. The murders are a mixed bag, rather as if Jack Lemmon was back again from How to Murder Your Wife, except he failed each time whereas our killer here gets it almost right. Eventually he's caught (that's no spoiler as it is totally predictable). The jokes come along the way, often drawing on steretypes, and the Almodovar analogy is rightly made - loud women, grumpy mothers, camp gays. If I only show limited enthusiasm it is because I watched it late at night and had to re-view sections as I nodded off; but it is good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boystown, 23 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boystown [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Realy nice feelgood gay movie with normal sized gay men, not boys or Muscle Mary's....not much of a plot and a Mother you just want to slap stupid. (She was a little over the top) Subtitles but worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Gay Fun, 15 Mar 2013
By 
S. Porter (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boystown [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Comedy adventure in the gay style. Unscrupulous real estate agent takes serious advantage of vulnerable people but has not reckoned on snoopy gay characters . The most painful part is when one of them shaves off his chest hair.

I mean why would you do that ?

Apart from that it was a highly enjoyable comedy romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly run of the mill. Not side splitting anyway, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boystown [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose this is a rom-com because it says on the promotional material. Don't hold your breath waiting to laugh anyway. It's a bit clichéd. Standard monster mother stealing the lines. Big chubby bears - that sort of thing. I'm not easily provoked to mirth but I just sat through this one.
If you like this sort of storyline you would be better off with `9 Dead Gay Guys' - which is a real black comedy - or for a Spanish flavour `Chef's Special'. They have a solid plot and are quite funny. This film is fine if you're not too pushed about having a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny, dark humor, 2 Dec 2012
By 
Istvan Maga "Lord Revan" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boystown [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Don't except too much, it's a silly comedy about a gay couple, a homophobe mother in law and a hot serial killer.

we had a good laugh when we watched this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boystown [2007] [DVD]
Boystown [2007] [DVD] by Juan Flahn (DVD - 2008)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews