Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read if you like flying stories, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mark Berent is one of the better writers of flying stories. Most of Berent's books including this one relate to American pilots during the Vietnam war.

It's an enjoyable read and the action sequences are pretty good. The writer obviously served in the war and knows his aircraft pretty well.

If you're stuck in an airport then this will pass a few hours reasonably well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 3 Jan 2014
By 
B. Harkin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHANTOM LEADER: An Historical Novel of War and Politics (Wings of War Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This is the third book in the series which I have read and like the first two I enjoyed it. I will be reading number four soon. The writing style is fluent, interesting and the story moves along at a nice pace. The author avoids littering the pages with air force jargon unlike some authors but at the same time gives a good insightfuly account of the air war from the pilot seat of the phantom screaming over the jungles of NV. The characters involved are multi dimensional and come across as flawed individuals doing their best to stay alive in a dirty war where the enemy is not always the VC but inept and disconnected politians managing the war from the comfort and safety of their desks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Berent clearly illustrates the stupidity of the LB Johnson in his handling of Vietnam, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHANTOM LEADER: An Historical Novel of War and Politics (Wings of War Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The entire series is just a great read, you feel for the guys on the frontline and as for McNamara and LB Johnson .. they killed more US Servicemen than the Viet Cong with their policies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Dec 2013
By 
Paul Chandler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHANTOM LEADER: An Historical Novel of War and Politics (Wings of War Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read - continues with the same group of people whose paths have crossed several times. Difficult to put down once started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VIETNAM WAR, 9 Oct 2013
By 
K. H. Buxton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHANTOM LEADER: An Historical Novel of War and Politics (Wings of War Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book could not put it down.It is a must to read all wings of war series in ORDER to get thin the mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The action will keep you reading, 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: PHANTOM LEADER: An Historical Novel of War and Politics (Wings of War Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all Marks books, when it comes to the action parts it's brilliant, once you start reading his books you will want to read them all....so well written it's like you part of the action....more please Mark..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third of five and excellent., 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHANTOM LEADER: An Historical Novel of War and Politics (Wings of War Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Mark Berent delivers his usual blend of rivetting story, incorporating realistic flying sequences and gripping background activity. Brilliant start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Aviation Adventure, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHANTOM LEADER: An Historical Novel of War and Politics (Wings of War Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Since picking up 'Rolling Thunder' I've been glued to these books by this Author. The detail, exciting plot lines and main character continuity delivers a well crafted follow on to 'Steel Tiger'.

'Phantom Leader' unfolds at great pace and answers questions of 'What happened too ...?' From the first two books. Also quite amazingly a few cliff hangers are thrown in for good measure.

All in all I'm heartily impressed with this series of books that are well priced and richly deserve to take place in my library. I also salute the author for his book writing as he pieces together a stomping good read, pick it up and read only after the previous 2 novels. It's spectacular aviation adventure at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHANTOM LEADER: An Historical Novel of War and Politics (Wings of War Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
A real page turner that made me want to get the series. The other two that I read were just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, the saga continues at pace., 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHANTOM LEADER: An Historical Novel of War and Politics (Wings of War Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Puts you right in the action with the characters. Looking forward to the next instalment and seeing how the story develops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews