Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Octave...The Moodies Return after a break
Octave is an explosion of creative fusion after the Moody Blues got back together after a 4 year sabbatical..and a return of Justin and John after their successfull venture as The Blue Jays.
This album was an instant hit with classics such as, Stepping In A Slide Zone, reflecting the impressive album cover with the belting bass guitar on the intro. Dawn crept into my...
Published on 14 May 2004 by Joan-Violet

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Octave - Moody Blues
As a Moody Blues fan, I waited with baited breath for the new album from the reformed Moody Blues. After all, each of their previous albums had seemed better than the last, culminating with the excellent "Every Good Boy Deserves Favour" & then the brilliant "Seventh Sojourn", followed ny the even more brilliant "Blue Jays". However, on first playing "Octave" back in the...
Published on 5 Nov 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars wonder ful., 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
Worth owning if only for driftwood & stepping in a slide zone,but with the live versions as wellthis is great.In fact the whole album is truly superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blues best, 10 Dec 2011
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
the very best of the moody blues,all are classics for moody blues fans. This cd is well worth the money paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Moody Blues Eight Album, Released In 1978., 14 Aug 2011
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
From 1967's Days Of Future Passed to 1972's Seventh Sojourn, The Moody Blues carved a top class career in a certain mixture of rock with quasi classical music.
After a well earned break they returned with Octave.
Some fans state that it cannot be compared favourably with the preceeding seven albums.
Well, that is clearly personal taste, for me, maybe it did'nt add anything significantly new, however it maintains the high standards they set from Days Of Future Passed.
That may be because it reminds me of attending two concerts at The Empire Pool, Wembley, in 1979.
On the second occasion I attended the after concert party and found the band to be suprisingly unassuming and therefore a delight to meet.
Of the 10 songs here there is not one I dislike, while the most outstanding are One Step Into The Light, Driftwood and The Day We Meet Again, all three ballards with lovely harmonies and trademark backing guitars etc.
If you know other Moody Blues stuff, I think you should hear this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TIME WAITS FOR NO ONE..., 8 Jun 2011
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: octave LP (Vinyl)
By the time the Moodies split in the early Seventies, they had recorded seven album. Creatively shattered and tired of seeing each other day in and day out, they called it a day...that is, until they reformed for Octave (released 1978).

Octave is a 'slow burn' - it takes a few plays to truly warm to it, then suddenly the penny drops. It is an absolute gem, oozing with gorgeous melodies and genuinely moving compositions. Take for instance 'Driftwood' - just sublime in its construction with the most beautiful lyrics.

Compared with earlier Moodies albums, it has a 'poppier' sound, with synths replacing the Mellotron and more contemporary compositions.

Later releases of the CD come with five live bonus tracks recorded at the time, making this a terrific package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TIME WAITS FOR NO ONE..., 8 Jun 2011
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octave (Vinyl)
By the time the Moodies split in the early Seventies, they had recorded seven album. Creatively shattered and tired of seeing each other day in and day out, they called it a day...that is, until they reformed for Octave (released 1978).

Octave is a 'slow burn' - it takes a few plays to truly warm to it, then suddenly the penny drops. It is an absolute gem, oozing with gorgeous melodies and genuinely moving compositions. Take for instance 'Driftwood' - just sublime in its construction with the most beautiful lyrics.

Compared with earlier Moodies albums, it has a 'poppier' sound, with synths replacing the Mellotron and more contemporary compositions.

Later releases of the CD come with five live bonus tracks recorded at the time, making this a terrific package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TIME WAITS FOR NO ONE..., 7 Jun 2011
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octave [VINYL] (Vinyl)
By the time the Moodies split in the early Seventies, they had recorded seven album. Creatively shattered and tired of seeing each other day in and day out, they called it a day...that is, until they reformed for Octave (released 1978).

Octave is a 'slow burn' - it takes a few plays to truly warm to it, then suddenly the penny drops. It is an absolute gem, oozing with gorgeous melodies and genuinely moving compositions. Take for instance 'Driftwood' - just sublime in its construction with the most beautiful lyrics.

Compared with earlier Moodies albums, it has a 'poppier' sound, with synths replacing the Mellotron and more contemporary compositions.

Later releases of the CD come with five live bonus tracks recorded at the time, making this a terrific package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, 24 Jan 2009
By 
K. C. Simm "kenart" (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
A much flawed outing from the Moodies. After the Seven classic albums came this. Stories of the inevitable creative differences. Mike Pinder leaving, the Moodies would never really be the same again. Octave does have a lot to reccomend it but the best that can be said is it not one of the seven. It may have been better if Long distance Voyager had actually been the eighth. That is a much more together album, tighter musically than this collection of single songs. No real cohesive quality, the songs do sound as if they were recorded seperately by each member of the band. The Moodies have been on record as it were to say that the making of this album was fraught with difficulties. Both personal and musically. And it shows I'm afraid. High points Steppin in a Slide Zone, for me but for the rest only 3 stars. Could do better. See me after class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here they come again!, 16 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
I`ts been a very good work whit this old CD.

listen to it, an you will understandig what I meen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop go the Moody Blues, 13 Jun 2009
By 
M. Ash (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
By the time of 1978's Octave, the Moody Blues had completed their journey from the experimental sound of the earlier albums to a more conventional pop/rock aesthetic. Some commentators have suggested that this is evidence of the band's original ideas running dry and yet I would describe it as evidence of a new found confidence. Undoubtedly this album is much more mainstream in its sound than, for example, On The Threshold Of A Dream. There is nothing as conceptual as that earlier album's opening sequence, and whereas 'On The Threshold...' sees the use of recurring musical themes throughout the album, each song on 'Octave' is a clearly defined single unit. What makes this album work so well is the consistency of the songwriting and a strong stylistic identity that simply couldn't be mistaken for any other band or, indeed, any other Moody Blues album.
There is a good balance of up-tempo and ballad style numbers here, with the large-scale textures of 'Steppin' In A Slide Zone' and 'I'll Be Level With You' retaining a sense of the band's history and adapting it to the pop sensibilities of the album.
'Driftwood' and 'Survival' are amongst the band's strongest ballads and, in many ways, pave the way for some of the music that was to follow on 1981's Long Distance Voyager [Remastered]. Certainly, the later album's 'In My World' sits very much within the same vein, although both of the tracks mentioned here benefit from a tighter sense of structure.
The 2008 remaster is significantly better than the original CD release, with a much greater sense of space between the parts and more body to the sound. A good vinyl copy still offers a more three dimensional soundstage and a sense of realism that isn't quite in evidence here, but this remains the best sound afforded to the album on a CD.
In many ways the Moodies' career followed a similar trajectory to that of Oldham band Barclay James Harvest. Both bands suffered from weakening of inspiration and originality for much of the 80s. By the time of 'Octave' BJH's Barclay James Harvest XII was already showing signs of what was to come, but 'Octave' continues to stand up very successfully as an example of well written and cleverly produced pop/rock music.
If you have never heard 'Octave' you really need to give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Piece of Work., 22 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
The first time i heard this album i was in N. Wales ( Aberdaron ) on my Holiday's .Whenever you hear a track for the first time it alway's brings back memories of where you first heard it. Sitting on the Beach listening to " Driftwood ". Fortunately "Had to fall in Love" was appropriate at the time.One step into the light ( Love at first bite ).The day we meet again ( falling out of love ), I'll be level with you ( Honesty ), Steppin' in a Slide Zone ( mixed feelings ).My all time favourite M Bs Album of all time, a mixture of a roller-coaster of tracks (pertaing to the tempo).Graham L.B. Telford,Shropshire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Octave
Octave by The Moody Blues (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews