Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Octave...The Moodies Return after a break
Octave is an explosion of creative fusion after the Moody Blues got back together after a 4 year sabbatical..and a return of Justin and John after their successfull venture as The Blue Jays.
This album was an instant hit with classics such as, Stepping In A Slide Zone, reflecting the impressive album cover with the belting bass guitar on the intro. Dawn crept into my...
Published on 14 May 2004 by Joan-Violet

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Octave - Moody Blues
As a Moody Blues fan, I waited with baited breath for the new album from the reformed Moody Blues. After all, each of their previous albums had seemed better than the last, culminating with the excellent "Every Good Boy Deserves Favour" & then the brilliant "Seventh Sojourn", followed ny the even more brilliant "Blue Jays". However, on first playing "Octave" back in the...
Published on 5 Nov 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Octave...The Moodies Return after a break, 14 May 2004
By 
Joan-Violet "Jo" (Lancs UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
Octave is an explosion of creative fusion after the Moody Blues got back together after a 4 year sabbatical..and a return of Justin and John after their successfull venture as The Blue Jays.
This album was an instant hit with classics such as, Stepping In A Slide Zone, reflecting the impressive album cover with the belting bass guitar on the intro. Dawn crept into my room Under Moonshine and stole My Dream..its a dreamy number...written by the band's flautist Ray Thomas, who has recently left the band. Graeme edge the drummer wrote I'll be Level With You...with words like, little guy, little hands, little eyes and lots of time...clever words of a rare writing composition by this band member. The highlight of this album has to be Justin Hayward's brilliant lean towards jazz (a classic) "Driftwood" a cool tranquil and timeless composition....wonderful..Time waits for no one at all, no not even you...Just like the driftwood of a dream...it is dreamy, yes the mood is great. Top Rank suite, The rain on the river bursting with fiery melodies and thanks Justin a good one and not aired very much on your shows. Survival by John Lodge is a philisophical dream and it works. I love it...Shadows of dreams falling out of the blue...great words John. One Step into the Light By Mike Pinder is of a similar theme but holds it's own tangable and with a sense of spirit within, and the stairs that lead into your open mind, a great number and not heard often...this ventures into the sad but moving reprieve of The Day We Meet Again, in the garden down the road..by Justin..this song so moves my emotions and the dramatic orchestration adds to its meaning..When the mist of time is lifting oh no I wasn't there! Justin's vocals hit a spot in that one...Its a fusion indeed of the band reincarnated and they continued producing more albums after this...Octave is a must-have for all lovers of the Moody Blues and Justin Hayward's accomplished songwriting...along with the other band members contribution of wonderful songs almost and as equal to his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile remaster for a great album, 1 Mar 2009
By 
Patrick Ovenden (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
Octave wasn't the Moody Blues' most popular album - it has a more subtle and mature sound than the 'core 7.' The band had a tough time when recording this, but you really don't get that impression from listening. Every voice and instrument blends in perfectly, making it a 'full frequency' album and in LP format I've used it to test many pieces of equipment.

People used to the sound of the mellotron as an essential part of the Moodies' sound may be surprised to hear layers of synthesisers that could easily have been used on Abba's The Album. There are also some string arrangements, and saxophones can be heard more frequently than the flute.

Everyone is in good voice, especially Ray Thomas, who sounds mellower here than on his solo albums. Justin Hayward had a well-deserved hit with Driftwood, and Mike Pinder's swan song with the group is a sage message with a bluesy, relaxed tempo. Graham Edge's song is rewarding for its energy and some great words.

The instruments used to sound quite close together, 'boxy' on some record players. I used to have to listen very carefully to identify the car sounds at the start, and only the American pressing of the vinyl had a strong bass sound. On this CD remaster each sound gets its own space, and the strong bass is preserved without detriment to the highest frequencies.

The real treat here are the five bonus tracks, recorded live during the 1978-9 tours. They are all worth listening to, although Steppin' in a Slide Zone always used to falter a bit after the atmospheric intro (until the group learned in the early 2000s to leave the lead vocals to John Lodge - see Lovely to See YouLovely to See You.) Ray's I'm Your Man has lots of soul, while Justin's Driftwood gets a flanged or phased electric guitar. The Day We Meet Again seems to lead naturally to their next album, Long Distance Voyager (also remastered.)

Packaging is a conventional jewel case. This is a pity after all the digipaks. It's also a pity they didn't find more live work to expand the next two albums - but then that's another story. Long Distance VoyagerThe Present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1978, the Moodies are back!, 7 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
The last album to feature Mike Pinder, this album, although not the most critically aclaimed, flows beautifully from one track to the next. The upbeat songs, (time zone, I'll be level with you, etc.) are on par with earlier recordings such as 'I'm just a singer in a rock and roll band' and 'ride my see-saw', but without the pycadaelic edge of the previous seven albums. It was recorded after a lenghty pause, when the existence of the band was in question. The slower songs are of the highest quality and play instrumentally after the song has finished in a wonderfully relaxed way, with many instrumental lines intertwining over and under each other in a wash of melodic beauty that the moody blues are so good at. The vocal harmonies in the songs are just the same as previous albums and I love this album. If you like the Moody Blues, buy this one, it's not as well known, but it is certainly of merit. 1978 was a year for the punks, but in the background the Moody Blues were being nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Octave - Moody Blues, 5 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
As a Moody Blues fan, I waited with baited breath for the new album from the reformed Moody Blues. After all, each of their previous albums had seemed better than the last, culminating with the excellent "Every Good Boy Deserves Favour" & then the brilliant "Seventh Sojourn", followed ny the even more brilliant "Blue Jays". However, on first playing "Octave" back in the summer of '78, I was somewhat disappointed - tracks such as "Under Moonshine", particularly "Top Rank Suite", & also "Steppin' on a Slide Zone" (although I've since revised my view of this one since seeing it performed live) just didn't seem up to the Moodies' previous form. The album did grow on me with time, stand-out tracks being "Driftwood" & "The Day we Meet Again", but isn't one I play much nowadays. Notable in containinmg the last Mike Pinder recording ith the band - "One Step into the Light". Definitely one for the Moodies fans rather than the casual listener who wants a Moodies album - [I'd recommend "Blue Jays" or "Seventh Sojourn", or "This is the Moody Blues" compilation for such folks!]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TIME WAITS FOR NO ONE..., 7 Jun 2011
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
By the time the Moodies split in the early Seventies, they had recorded seven album. Creatively shattered and tired of seeing each other day in and day out, they called it a day...that is, until they reformed for Octave (released 1978).

Octave is a 'slow burn' - it takes a few plays to truly warm to it, then suddenly the penny drops. It is an absolute gem, oozing with gorgeous melodies and genuinely moving compositions. Take for instance 'Driftwood' - just sublime in its construction with the most beautiful lyrics.

Compared with earlier Moodies albums, it has a 'poppier' sound, with synths replacing the Mellotron and more contemporary compositions.

Later releases of the CD come with five live bonus tracks recorded at the time, making this a terrific package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moody Blues, 28 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
Got the CD as I'm a fan of the group and this was missing from my collection. Extra tracks appear on the re-mastered CD so that's even better than the old vinyl. Great CD!Octave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOODY BLUES ROOL OK, 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
Having seen the Moody Blues live, gathering a collection of some of their old albums has been a pleasure. Apart from the more well known tracks - at least among Moody fans - there are other lesser known gems. Octave is an interesting album and added to by the bonus tracks (some live) that are contained. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly top rank, 13 Aug 2010
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
As has been pointed out elsewhere, 'Octave' is completely different in style to all other Moody Blues albums. At times, it sounds more like a pub workout. The sound is stripped of its dramatic elements, notably the sweeping Mellotron backgrounds, while even the drumming is often perfunctory. On several tracks, the band seem to be leaning towards a similar approach to that of Justin Hayward's pal from 10cc, Eric Stewart, another band whose best work was behind them by this time. 'Steppin' In A Slide Zone' and 'I'll Be Level With You' are perhaps the only two tracks that would obviously fit in with the usual fare. The jaunty, brass-backed 'Top Rank Suite' is the most unusual. I like 'Octave' on its own terms, but for me this is nearer three stars than five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surround Sound Would Have Saved This Album, 24 Sep 2009
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
As the eighth album form the original ensemble of the Moody Blues, this is the only one not to be remastered in 5.1 (actually 4.1 as the center speaker is not used). I can only guess it is because the group recorded at the Record Plant in California and did not have the same access to the mixers. However, Justin Hayward and Alberto Paroldi did a fine job remastering in stereo with this 2008 release. The songs are more vibrant than the original recording and the five `live' songs are incredibly clear, unlike the 'Caught Live + 5' album, which had horrible mixing.

As is usual with the first song on a Moody Blues album, there is a special effect `hook' used for introduction. However, "Steppin' In A Slide Zone" falls short as a single with a repetitive chorus and forced melody. In fact, some of the songs sound terribly dated, which is unusual for the Moody Blues earlier albums. "I'll be Level With You", "Top Rank Suite" and "Survival" just seem out of synch with a typical Moody Blues song. Note that this was a tough period for the group in general, not knowing what the future held. However, songs like, "Driftwood", "The Day We Meet Again" and "One Step Into The Light" (Mike Pinder's only contribution) are represented in the classic Moody Blues ethereal sound. In Fact, Pinder's song contains lyrics that harken back to the psychedelic era and the mellotron works well without being overpowering.

The additional five live songs don't make up for the lack of the quadraphonic sound most had hoped for, but at least they are crisply and clearly recorded. Again, "Driftwood" (with its reverb guitar) and "The Day We Meet Again" are nice surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can one say about the Moodies, 28 July 2009
By 
Shaun Bailey "Autumn" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Octave (Audio CD)
A friend originally introduced me to the Moody Blues and I bought 'In search of the lost Chord' on vinyl. I have never looked back, but vinyl wears so I am slowly replacing my collection with CD's.....but keeping the albums of course.
Their style of music will live forever as will a lot of their tracks, as to me there is a deeper significance in the meaning of a lot of the vocals and a feeling of Spirit. This album is no exception, and as with all their albums, there are always some tracks that really hit home. No I am not saying which ones as you will have to make up your own mind about that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Octave
Octave by The Moody Blues (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews