Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Present one of the Moody Blues finest albums
Brilliant album. I believe this is one of their finest albums and that includes the core 7. Wonderful songs.Tehnically breathtaking. They rock or can make you cry. Running Water is a superb ballad and I think one of Justin Haywards best.Why do the Moodies think this is a bad album and refuse to play any of the music from the album at any of their concerts? Recorded 20...
Published on 12 Jan. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as some people say...
I Have just listened to this after not playing it for many years - I can see why some people run it down but to be honest, what we have here is a typical "2nd period" Moodies album. In other words, it isnt on a par with the "classic first 7 albums" but is no worse than many other rock albums being released around that time. I have no grouse with Patrick Moraz - his...
Published on 9 April 2012 by mariopops


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Present one of the Moody Blues finest albums, 12 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
Brilliant album. I believe this is one of their finest albums and that includes the core 7. Wonderful songs.Tehnically breathtaking. They rock or can make you cry. Running Water is a superb ballad and I think one of Justin Haywards best.Why do the Moodies think this is a bad album and refuse to play any of the music from the album at any of their concerts? Recorded 20 years ago and sounds fresh today as it did then. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 28 Feb. 2002
By 
john.cockcroft@gb.unisys.com (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
This is by far my favourite Moody Blues album and one of my favourite albums of all time. There is not a single track that will disappoint here from the Rock and Roll classics such as 'Blue World' and 'Sitting by the Wheel' to the quietly reflective 'Running Water' and 'Sorry'. If you like Justin Hayward's music or The Moody Blues at all then buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cult Favorite..., 14 May 2013
By 
R. Prescott "longplayer1" (Blackfoot, Idaho USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
For years "The Present" was heralded as an insignificant album for the Moody Blues. Some people felt it was rushed to cash in on the success of "Long Distance Voyager". However, slowly but, surely, this album has crept up from the backbone of the fans to become one of the Moody's most memorable albums and has developed a cult following of fans that would love to hear at least a cut or two from this LP included in their live show. "Sitting at the Wheel", "Blue World", & "Running Water" quickly come to mind.

Anyone with an eye for art would have picked up on the take off of Maxfield Parrish's "Daybreak" as the album cover. Making some fans covet the vinyl album even more and some to want it on Vinyl to get the FULL EFFECT of the artwork of the cover (something that is sadly lacking in cd's and mp3's).

Music fans today who are not into Vinyl have no idea what they're missing but they are catching on quickly!

"The Present" has some fine guitar work from Justin, some incredible bass work from John, and Patrick Moraz on the keyboards really make this album shine.
It's still one of my favorites as time passes, it's becoming more and more THE "classic" or "favorite" of many of the fans due to the overlooked work on this album that is easily appreciated after a few listens. Be surprised. Good Moody Blues On This CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as some people say..., 9 April 2012
By 
mariopops "Andy Rogers" (SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
I Have just listened to this after not playing it for many years - I can see why some people run it down but to be honest, what we have here is a typical "2nd period" Moodies album. In other words, it isnt on a par with the "classic first 7 albums" but is no worse than many other rock albums being released around that time. I have no grouse with Patrick Moraz - his keyboard work is fine and if it has dated then it is no worse than any other keyboard / syn-drum record of that era. My complaint is simply that the songs are not that strong. There are one or two notable exceptions- Blue world is a great opener and Running water is possibly one of the best songs that Justin Hayward ever sang. Most of the rest are "OK" , the only track I skip completely is Sitting at the wheel which (to my ears) sounds like Jane wiedlin's "Rush hour" with John Lodge on vocals. Not a good thing. So, buy it to somplete the set if you are an ardent fan. If not, download Blue world and Running water is my advice .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Damned by Faint Praise..., 18 July 2014
By 
A. Shelton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Present [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is not what I would call a typical "Moody Blues" album. It has none of the earlier subtleties of melody and harmony, but it still OK.
Moraz is a less than gifted musician when compared to the greats of the time, and the fact that Yes dispensed with him pretty quickly sums up his contribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 15 April 2009
By 
Kit Maybin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
My introduction to the band, outside of Nights... and Tuesday Afternoon, didn't come until Long Distance Voyager. For me the aforementioned title and The Present are Classic Moodies and deserve to be placed along side the Classic Seven. Glad to see it's finally been remastered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Present, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
This Album was quite a "departure" from their old style of music as I've only got it on vinyl I had forgotten what it was like ... even after all these years it is still very "fresh" sounding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those interested in the history of British Pop, buy it and enjoy!, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
Brought back memories instilled by the original vinyl LP. Very enjoyable and will hopefully cause many more pleasurable hours of listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars moodies as good as ever, 13 July 2010
By 
A. Peers "Hobbitry" (Gods county) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
ifound this album as good as any moodies previous releases, although every good boy is my ultimate favourite, ifeel that "the present" has great content, the songs are good. as for patrick moraz, he is a brilliant keyboard player. people should realise that things change,mike pinder was not the be all and end all of the band but only a part of it as is patrick. as an ardent fan of more than forty years i will always give the band my 100% support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moody Blues - The Present, 27 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
This CD is good quality with a melodic pop, well written and nice melodies. This CD along with Long Distance Voyager form two of the 80 albums that deserve to be known. The fans can not fail to have them especially this remastered version. The songs "Blue World," "Meet Me Halfway" and "Under My Feet" are preferred, but there are other pretty well. Note 8.5. Very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Present
The Present by The Moody Blues (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews