Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Present one of the Moody Blues finest albums
Brilliant album. I believe this is one of their finest albums and that includes the core 7. Wonderful songs.Tehnically breathtaking. They rock or can make you cry. Running Water is a superb ballad and I think one of Justin Haywards best.Why do the Moodies think this is a bad album and refuse to play any of the music from the album at any of their concerts? Recorded 20...
Published on 12 Jan. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as some people say...
I Have just listened to this after not playing it for many years - I can see why some people run it down but to be honest, what we have here is a typical "2nd period" Moodies album. In other words, it isnt on a par with the "classic first 7 albums" but is no worse than many other rock albums being released around that time. I have no grouse with Patrick Moraz - his...
Published on 9 April 2012 by mariopops


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Present one of the Moody Blues finest albums, 12 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
Brilliant album. I believe this is one of their finest albums and that includes the core 7. Wonderful songs.Tehnically breathtaking. They rock or can make you cry. Running Water is a superb ballad and I think one of Justin Haywards best.Why do the Moodies think this is a bad album and refuse to play any of the music from the album at any of their concerts? Recorded 20 years ago and sounds fresh today as it did then. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 28 Feb. 2002
By 
john.cockcroft@gb.unisys.com (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
This is by far my favourite Moody Blues album and one of my favourite albums of all time. There is not a single track that will disappoint here from the Rock and Roll classics such as 'Blue World' and 'Sitting by the Wheel' to the quietly reflective 'Running Water' and 'Sorry'. If you like Justin Hayward's music or The Moody Blues at all then buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cult Favorite..., 14 May 2013
By 
R. Prescott "longplayer1" (Blackfoot, Idaho USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
For years "The Present" was heralded as an insignificant album for the Moody Blues. Some people felt it was rushed to cash in on the success of "Long Distance Voyager". However, slowly but, surely, this album has crept up from the backbone of the fans to become one of the Moody's most memorable albums and has developed a cult following of fans that would love to hear at least a cut or two from this LP included in their live show. "Sitting at the Wheel", "Blue World", & "Running Water" quickly come to mind.

Anyone with an eye for art would have picked up on the take off of Maxfield Parrish's "Daybreak" as the album cover. Making some fans covet the vinyl album even more and some to want it on Vinyl to get the FULL EFFECT of the artwork of the cover (something that is sadly lacking in cd's and mp3's).

Music fans today who are not into Vinyl have no idea what they're missing but they are catching on quickly!

"The Present" has some fine guitar work from Justin, some incredible bass work from John, and Patrick Moraz on the keyboards really make this album shine.
It's still one of my favorites as time passes, it's becoming more and more THE "classic" or "favorite" of many of the fans due to the overlooked work on this album that is easily appreciated after a few listens. Be surprised. Good Moody Blues On This CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Moody Blues move ever nearer the middle of that road., 20 Nov. 2009
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
The Moody Blues were never going to be as good once quasi - mystic mellotron noodler Mike Pinder left the band. For a start they lost one of their strongest song writers and replaced him with bouffant topped knob twiddler Patrick Moraz who contributed...well lots of knob twiddling I suppose. Still the Present is by no means a bad album . Its just not up there with the bands best.
Released in 1983 it's the second album to feature Moraz after errr the other one Long Distance Voyager, and the album see's the band embrace many of the significant aspects of the times with the lush synth textures, plump bass lines and shiny production courtesy of Pip Williams . Lest this terrify any fans of the Moody Blues earlier work not familiar with this album there are still lots of crystal clear chords wonderful vocals and terrific songs .
"Blue World " with it's wavering keyboard lines and squelchy electronic bass spine may have ,at the time signalled a brave step into the future ( or the present !) for the band but the plea from Justin Hayward ( in fine voice as ever ) for a world in which everyone cares more for their fellow man ( or woman ) is a classic Moody's theme . Indeed the first four tracks of this album are great. "Sitting At The Wheel " is John Lodge in typical rocker mode and goes with a real swing led by a zesty keyboard melody and Graeme Edges "Going Nowhere " once again signifies him as an under-rated contributor to the bands cannon of songs. Best of all Is "Meet Me Halfway " a Hayward /Lodge collaboration with wonderful vocal interplay and that irresistible aching lamenting quality of all the best Moody Blue tracks
The Hayward ballads "Cold Outside Of Your Heart " and "Running Water " are typically lovely , the more rudimentary pop of "Under My Feet " is thoroughly enjoyable and the Ray Thomas ballad "Sorry " is cheesy MOR but classy cheesy MOR. The military percussion led "Hole In The World " is just odd and "I Am" is the obligatory Thomas track that makes you wonder how it ever got on the album .
The Present like Long Distance Voyager before it is an album that starts very strongly and then tails off towards the end . Like another reviewer points out it's pure MOR but it's no where near as bad that reviewer makes out. Like any genre of music , some is good ,some bad ,some hovering in-between .This is mostly quality MOR. Like a huge comfortable pillow smelling very faintly of some exotic herb. The loss of Mike Pinder certainly robs the band of his contemplative moody mellotron tones but the sound while more contemporary than what has gone before still has that reassuring richness and effulgence of melody without being too trite or toe curling .Well....for the most part anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as some people say..., 9 April 2012
By 
mariopops "Andy Rogers" (SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
I Have just listened to this after not playing it for many years - I can see why some people run it down but to be honest, what we have here is a typical "2nd period" Moodies album. In other words, it isnt on a par with the "classic first 7 albums" but is no worse than many other rock albums being released around that time. I have no grouse with Patrick Moraz - his keyboard work is fine and if it has dated then it is no worse than any other keyboard / syn-drum record of that era. My complaint is simply that the songs are not that strong. There are one or two notable exceptions- Blue world is a great opener and Running water is possibly one of the best songs that Justin Hayward ever sang. Most of the rest are "OK" , the only track I skip completely is Sitting at the wheel which (to my ears) sounds like Jane wiedlin's "Rush hour" with John Lodge on vocals. Not a good thing. So, buy it to somplete the set if you are an ardent fan. If not, download Blue world and Running water is my advice .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Damned by Faint Praise..., 18 July 2014
By 
A. Shelton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Present [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is not what I would call a typical "Moody Blues" album. It has none of the earlier subtleties of melody and harmony, but it still OK.
Moraz is a less than gifted musician when compared to the greats of the time, and the fact that Yes dispensed with him pretty quickly sums up his contribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 15 April 2009
By 
Kit Maybin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
My introduction to the band, outside of Nights... and Tuesday Afternoon, didn't come until Long Distance Voyager. For me the aforementioned title and The Present are Classic Moodies and deserve to be placed along side the Classic Seven. Glad to see it's finally been remastered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SECOND MOODIES OFFERING OF THE EIGHTIES, 26 Jun. 2011
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
Welcome to the second Moodies album of the Eighties, two years after the release of 'Long Distance Voyager'. I do not consider this album to be as strong or accomplished as its predecessor, but it still a highly respectable album.

The Moodies chose at this stage to steer a course nearer the middle of the road, perhaps aiming for a more commercial market. The keyboards, drums and arrangements on this album are most definitely of the era, which means this album has perhaps dated a little less generously than some of their other releases.

The selection of songs is generally very good to excellent, though I found the remixed final track on the 2008 edition superfluous and a little too much to bear.

A very good album by any standard, but not the very best the Moodies have produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Present, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
This Album was quite a "departure" from their old style of music as I've only got it on vinyl I had forgotten what it was like ... even after all these years it is still very "fresh" sounding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those interested in the history of British Pop, buy it and enjoy!, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Present (Audio CD)
Brought back memories instilled by the original vinyl LP. Very enjoyable and will hopefully cause many more pleasurable hours of listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Present
The Present by The Moody Blues (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews